Thaiyotakamli Supersonic September 15, 2016 Share September 15, 2016 ah gong don't have to make money like private business does. They just take money when not enough, increase gst, increase cpf min sum, increase COE, ERP, etc. They have their own brand of meritocracy. Thats how govt worldwide earn money, increase tax for more revenue for country and reward for those who comes up with new idea So thats why we have innovative cpf, coe, erp etc ↡ Advertisement 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wt_know Supersonic September 15, 2016 Share September 15, 2016 (edited) Cos gahmen don't want reduce cost dont say like that laif salary drop below $1M lifestyle is affected i feel sorry for them hor i wonder how many rolexes that keep at home ... lol if they go jobless ... can sell rolex to go by for decades? Edited September 15, 2016 by Wt_know Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Thaiyotakamli Supersonic September 15, 2016 Share September 15, 2016 dont say like that la if salary drop below $1M lifestyle is affected i feel sorry for them hor i wonder how many rolexes that keep at home ... lol if they go jobless ... can sell rolex to go by for decades? Yah lah sell rolex lor like T2, can last 2 generations haha 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wt_know Supersonic September 15, 2016 Share September 15, 2016 ah gong don't have to make money like private business does. They just take money when not enough, increase gst, increase cpf min sum, increase COE, ERP, etc. They have their own brand of meritocracy. seems like ah gong no have kpi for poor performanceonly hear good things damn ... i regret not study hard to become si-ko-la can parachute to ah gong dept Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Camrysfa Turbocharged September 15, 2016 Share September 15, 2016 Gloomy economy. O & G asking for reprieve . . http://sbr.com.sg/shipping-marine/news/marco-polo-marine-mulls-over-delaying-payment-bonds-in-singapore Marco Polo Marine mulls over delaying payment on bonds in Singapore Noteholders are ready to back the group’s decision. Marco Polo Marine plans to delay payment of S$50 million (US$37 million) securities due next month after appointing KPMG Services to review its business. In its SGX announcement, Marco Polo Marine revealed it convened an informal meeting of noteholders on Tuesday to present its KPMG’s independent business review as well as explore the various options relating to the impending maturity of the notes. “The Board wishes to inform shareholders and noteholders that the company has indicated to noteholders present that the company intends to seek the indulgence of noteholders for an extension of the maturity date of the notes by way of a consent solicitation exercise. The Board notes that the noteholders present appeared generally supportive of the company’s initiative,” Marco Polo Marine said. The group will hold another informal meeting on 16 September 2016 to give noteholders ample time to digest the information presented by the company as well as to receive feedback from them. Data compiled by Bloomberg revealed that Marco Polo Marine’s 5.75% bonds are due 18 October. The marine logistic group is the latest company in the region to ask indulgence from creditors following a slump in oil prices. Bloomberg’s report included Otto Marine Limited, Perisai Petroleum Teknologi Bhd. and AusGroup Limited among seeking relief from the waning O&G sector. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Albeniz Turbocharged September 15, 2016 Share September 15, 2016 seems like ah gong no have kpi for poor performance only hear good things damn ... i regret not study hard to become si-ko-la can parachute to ah gong dept No need to become scholar to be parachuted into Ah gong's dept. I am beginning to see retired farmer Lt Colonels being parachuted in as well. Or are my eyes playing tricks on me? 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jamesc Hypersonic September 15, 2016 Share September 15, 2016 Unemployment rate for over-30s creeps up I have never liked creeps. Hopefully it doesn't rocket. 5 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Victor68 Turbocharged September 15, 2016 Share September 15, 2016 As reported, those between 40 to 50 are in the most dangerous position to be 're structured'. I don't use the word retrenched because it cost $ to retrench staff. Re-structured, you just serves notice, very convenient and cheap. How many of these mid and lower management staff know where to turn to? This is also the age where you have lots of commitments. For single, it is fine to go without a job for a year but to those with family, how? It is timely the government relook into the labour polices to protect citizens that build this nation. While we want investments, we also need to protect the people that support these investments. Afterall, this nation is for its people. Being a rich country with poor citizens mean nothing. 12 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mkl22 Twincharged September 16, 2016 Share September 16, 2016 No need to become scholar to be parachuted into Ah gong's dept. I am beginning to see retired farmer Lt Colonels being parachuted in as well. Or are my eyes playing tricks on me? Yep. Quite some go into schools as admin vp or operations manager. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Watwheels Supersonic September 16, 2016 Share September 16, 2016 As reported, those between 40 to 50 are in the most dangerous position to be 're structured'. I don't use the word retrenched because it cost $ to retrench staff. Re-structured, you just serves notice, very convenient and cheap. How many of these mid and lower management staff know where to turn to? This is also the age where you have lots of commitments. For single, it is fine to go without a job for a year but to those with family, how? It is timely the government relook into the labour polices to protect citizens that build this nation. While we want investments, we also need to protect the people that support these investments. Afterall, this nation is for its people. Being a rich country with poor citizens mean nothing. Our govt would rather protect businesses than protect goups of individuals. Protecting businesses will keep ppl employed. When businesses fall unemployment will increase. Govt have this thing calls Tripartism, which refers to the collaboration among Singapore unions, employers and the government. I do not know how it works but it obviously has flaws. I won't expect it to be perfect but what you have mentioned the group of individuals aged 40 to 50 are most vunerable. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
13177 Hypersonic September 16, 2016 Share September 16, 2016 That's very true. By the way which companies did they leave and what positions? If got good opportunities I don't mind applying. Usually is engineering position. I believe still depends on how the person's managed to performance during the inteview. If you are good, even economic crisis, you still able to find another job. Lol. It's simple. Business wants to lower cost. If FT can accept lower pay than you, he's hired. So you have to lower your expectation or you don't get hired. If business is looking to let people go, and you'll the highest paid, off you go first. How low FT can accept the pay than s'porean? Even they accept low pay, but company still have to pay levy for them, overall isnt it the same? 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jamesc Hypersonic September 16, 2016 Share September 16, 2016 Usually is engineering position. I believe still depends on how the person's managed to performance during the inteview. If you are good, even economic crisis, you still able to find another job. Lol. Thanks bro. I am always good in the interview its only when I get the job that I cannot perform. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Voodooman Supersonic September 16, 2016 Share September 16, 2016 As reported, those between 40 to 50 are in the most dangerous position to be 're structured'. I don't use the word retrenched because it cost $ to retrench staff. Re-structured, you just serves notice, very convenient and cheap. How many of these mid and lower management staff know where to turn to? This is also the age where you have lots of commitments. For single, it is fine to go without a job for a year but to those with family, how? It is timely the government relook into the labour polices to protect citizens that build this nation. While we want investments, we also need to protect the people that support these investments. Afterall, this nation is for its people. Being a rich country with poor citizens mean nothing. Cannot kill business too but tripartite thingy is also a hogwash. Singapore cannot afford to piss off the MNC and big businesses. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
13177 Hypersonic September 16, 2016 Share September 16, 2016 Thanks bro. I am always good in the interview its only when I get the job that I cannot perform. This is why many people hop job every 1-2 years, cause they good in securing a job but cant sustain in the job, so they need to move on before people find out they are empty inside the shell. Lol. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Doppel Turbocharged September 16, 2016 Share September 16, 2016 As reported, those between 40 to 50 are in the most dangerous position to be 're structured'. I don't use the word retrenched because it cost $ to retrench staff. Re-structured, you just serves notice, very convenient and cheap. How many of these mid and lower management staff know where to turn to? This is also the age where you have lots of commitments. For single, it is fine to go without a job for a year but to those with family, how? It is timely the government relook into the labour polices to protect citizens that build this nation. While we want investments, we also need to protect the people that support these investments. Afterall, this nation is for its people. Being a rich country with poor citizens mean nothing. This was exactly what happened to me. The company doesn't retrench you, but gives you an impossible business target to achieve. And year in year out, I couldn't achieve the target anymore. I figured, it's better to die standing on your feet than to live kneeling on your knees. I found another job and left. 6 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jamesc Hypersonic September 16, 2016 Share September 16, 2016 This is why many people hop job every 1-2 years, cause they good in securing a job but cant sustain in the job, so they need to move on before people find out they are empty inside the shell. Lol. Aiyah I thought I was the only one. Now I know I have to compete with so many people like that also. Its really bad news everyday here. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mercury1 Turbocharged September 16, 2016 Share September 16, 2016 All my colleagues hoping to get chop get paid holiday and find new jobs, unfortunately their wishes are denied 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
13177 Hypersonic September 16, 2016 Share September 16, 2016 Aiyah I thought I was the only one. Now I know I have to compete with so many people like that also. Its really bad news everyday here. Aiyo, you though you are the only one who is good in the interview ah?! Lol. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...