13177 Hypersonic May 1, 2017 Share May 1, 2017 (edited) Been lurking inside here for the longest time I hate to say this! I was retrenched since Feb! But to be fair to ex. company They did offered me to be posted to Indonesia But we can't compromise with the oversea posting allowance thus I took up the retrenchment and left 3 mtns compensation for my 6 years of regional services Even through I had a small family with 2 properties loan and 2 cars loan to serve It's not the end of the world for me I'm enjoying my jobless life to the max at the moment A friend of mine in his early 40s (NUS grad) Had been jobless for more then 5 mtns Last heard he had settled down with a salary of no more then $3500 recently after countless resume send If your retrenchment package not bad, at least can last you at least 6 months without a job lo, plus if you have some saving. If your friend could get a salary around $3k plus consider not bad liao, imagine he has been jobless for more than 5 months. Edited May 1, 2017 by 13177 ↡ Advertisement 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Watwheels Supersonic May 1, 2017 Share May 1, 2017 (edited) You believe this reason? I don't have to try. He has a father, we know him, he told us by the time his son reach home it's past midnight. That's all he said. He has no reason to lie. By the way his father is nobody influential or some vip. He's much like us, a commoner. Sacrificing much of what you have for politics. Is it worth it? It's not for everyone. Just look at this thread alone, the critics, the judgement, the unkind words....the million dollar pay isn't the reward if you think about it coz you can't really spend it freely as you are constantly being judged or being watched by your boss and the public. In the private sector, what you earn and what you spend, nobody could care less. You are not constantly being watched and judged. Edited May 1, 2017 by Watwheels 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Throttle2 Supersonic May 1, 2017 Share May 1, 2017 Been lurking inside here for the longest time I hate to say this! I was retrenched since Feb! But to be fair to ex. company They did offered me to be posted to Indonesia But we can't compromise with the oversea posting allowance thus I took up the retrenchment and left 3 mtns compensation for my 6 years of regional services Even through I had a small family with 2 properties loan and 2 cars loan to serve It's not the end of the world for me I'm enjoying my jobless life to the max at the moment A friend of mine in his early 40s (NUS grad) Had been jobless for more then 5 mtns Last heard he had settled down with a salary of no more then $3500 recently after countless resume send Welcome to the Club. Hope your industry is thriving so that you can get a job soon. Not sure of your family background but if you are sole bread winner and have 2 housing loans and 2 cars loans, hopefully you have a fat fat reserve somewhere. $3500 salary, 40s, local grad? Thats pretty sad. Hopefully, things dont get worse for him. Its tough. Like me still jobless after 1.5yrs. Sole bread winner. Luckily 100% debt free Self made, no silver spoon. Now selling my Rolexes to survive, month after month. Enjoy your retrenchment. It can be quite refreshing Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Throttle2 Supersonic May 1, 2017 Share May 1, 2017 If your retrenchment package not bad, at least can last you at least 6 months without a job lo, plus if you have some saving. If your friend could get a salary around $3k plus consider not bad liao, imagine he has been jobless for more than 5 months. Bro, his package only 3mths as he mentioned. Peanut crumbs. But i believe he is not sole bread winner lah... Nowadays 6mths buffer, not good enough. Too much uncertainty. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
RadX Moderator May 1, 2017 Share May 1, 2017 Welcome to the Club. Hope your industry is thriving so that you can get a job soon. Not sure of your family background but if you are sole bread winner and have 2 housing loans and 2 cars loans, hopefully you have a fat fat reserve somewhere. $3500 salary, 40s, local grad? Thats pretty sad. Hopefully, things dont get worse for him. Its tough. Like me still jobless after 1.5yrs. Sole bread winner. Luckily 100% debt free Self made, no silver spoon. Now selling my Rolexes to survive, month after month. Enjoy your retrenchment. It can be quite refreshing tennis ai mai??? 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sosaria Twincharged May 1, 2017 Share May 1, 2017 I don't have to try. He has a father, we know him, he told us by the time his son reach home it's past midnight. That's all he said. He has no reason to lie. By the way his father is nobody influential or some vip. He's much like us, a commoner. Sacrificing much of what you have for politics. Is it worth it? It's not for everyone. Just look at this thread alone, the critics, the judgement, the unkind words....the million dollar pay isn't the reward if you think about it coz you can't really spend it freely as you are constantly being judged or being watched by your boss and the public. In the private sector, what you earn and what you spend, nobody could care less. You are not constantly being watched and judged. It depends what private sector job also. Being in high govt post before, they can jump to a cushy advisory type of private sector job. Companies court them for their network and "official" image. Sure will be more relax job than being MP or ministar, and pay not too bad. But normal pte sector job? Also work like horse and cow with many bosses scrutinizing. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Little_prince Supersonic May 2, 2017 Share May 2, 2017 Unemployment rate for over-30s creeps up This group of job-seekers runs the risk of skills obsolescence, says Manpower Minister 04:45 AM Jun 16, 2012 by Sara Grosse SINGAPORE - As Singapore's labour market shows signs of softening, Minister of State for Manpower Tan Chuan-Jin yesterday flagged an area of concern: The long-term unemployment rate, while still low, has crept up over the year for residents aged 30 and over. For residents aged 30 to 39, the figure rose from 0.3 per cent to 0.4 per cent, while for mature residents aged 40 and over, the figure rose from 0.7 per cent to 0.8 per cent. "This group of job-seekers remains unemployed and is still unable to secure a new job after an extended period of time," wrote Mr Tan on The Manpower Blog. "Thus, skills obsolescence could potentially set in." He gave assurance that the Government will work closely with the Singapore Workforce Development Agency to help these job-seekers with training and finding new jobs. The report released yesterday showed that job creation had slowed in the first three months of the year with 27,200 jobs created, down from 28,300 a year ago. Unemployment rose slightly to 2.1 per cent in March from 2.0 per cent last December, while the number of job vacancies fell by 5.1 per cent over the year to 46,800 in March. Inflation continued to weigh down on wages, with real average monthly earnings falling by 3.9 per cent in the first quarter from last year, following a 1.4-per-cent drop in the fourth quarter of last year. Recruiters told Channel NewsAsia that they were concerned about Singapore's labour productivity, which fell by 2.2 per cent in the first quarter after declining by 0.5 per cent in the previous quarter. Some, like Randstad Regional Director Karin Clarke, said it suggests that firms are not improving their productivity despite challenges in finding the right talent. As for the dip in employment rate, Association of Small and Medium Enterprises President Chan Chong Beng said: "That small increase in the unemployment rate could possibly be offset later on by the cutting-down of the dependency ratio ceiling." Meanwhile, 2,600 workers were made redundant in the first quarter of this year, down from 3,250 in last year's fourth quarter. URL http://www.todayonline.com/Singapore/EDC12...r-30s-creeps-up Copyright 2012 MediaCorp Pte Ltd | All Rights Reserved now the underemployed over 30s all become over 40s liaoz. they're in an even worse predicament. has the G really helped anyone over the last 5 yrs? 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Little_prince Supersonic May 2, 2017 Share May 2, 2017 It depends what private sector job also. Being in high govt post before, they can jump to a cushy advisory type of private sector job. Companies court them for their network and "official" image. Sure will be more relax job than being MP or ministar, and pay not too bad. But normal pte sector job? Also work like horse and cow with many bosses scrutinizing. the high flying ones yes. e.g the ex ministers/PS etc. the private sector will court them given their connections and qualifications. but the rank and file e.g directors and below are still screwed. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
13177 Hypersonic May 2, 2017 Share May 2, 2017 Welcome to the Club. Hope your industry is thriving so that you can get a job soon. Not sure of your family background but if you are sole bread winner and have 2 housing loans and 2 cars loans, hopefully you have a fat fat reserve somewhere. $3500 salary, 40s, local grad? Thats pretty sad. Hopefully, things dont get worse for him. Its tough. Like me still jobless after 1.5yrs. Sole bread winner. Luckily 100% debt free Self made, no silver spoon. Now selling my Rolexes to survive, month after month. Enjoy your retrenchment. It can be quite refreshing So for 40s, local grad, how much the salary should be ah? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Roh96 6th Gear May 2, 2017 Share May 2, 2017 now the underemployed over 30s all become over 40s liaoz. they're in an even worse predicament. has the G really helped anyone over the last 5 yrs? I was retrenched in 2012. After several months, at one of the evening time (I think it was like 8plus PM) I received a phone call from MOM. The lady on the line spoke to me that they noted from their system that I was being laid off. She went on to do a quick survey to ask if I found a job already so she can capture in her system. If you consider this as "help" from the G. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Enye Hypersonic May 2, 2017 Share May 2, 2017 (edited) got gold mountain as buffer so good....can enjoy retrenchment if i kena this year, press panic button liao my family big big small small all go hungry still got debts to pay jin cham Edited May 2, 2017 by Enye Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Roh96 6th Gear May 2, 2017 Share May 2, 2017 Been lurking inside here for the longest time I hate to say this! I was retrenched since Feb! But to be fair to ex. company They did offered me to be posted to Indonesia But we can't compromise with the oversea posting allowance thus I took up the retrenchment and left 3 mtns compensation for my 6 years of regional services Even through I had a small family with 2 properties loan and 2 cars loan to serve It's not the end of the world for me I'm enjoying my jobless life to the max at the moment A friend of mine in his early 40s (NUS grad) Had been jobless for more then 5 mtns Last heard he had settled down with a salary of no more then $3500 recently after countless resume send It must have been a tough decision for you. I hope you will find a suitable job soon. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Little_prince Supersonic May 2, 2017 Share May 2, 2017 So for 40s, local grad, how much the salary should be ah? Fresh grad in CS job already easily 3-4K depending on Hons. Some stat board given even more. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
SuPerBoRed Twincharged May 2, 2017 Share May 2, 2017 I think.. should not talk abt absolute figures.. a clearer indication is percentage... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
13177 Hypersonic May 2, 2017 Share May 2, 2017 Fresh grad in CS job already easily 3-4K depending on Hons. Some stat board given even more. Civic sector you mean? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sosaria Twincharged May 2, 2017 Share May 2, 2017 Fresh grad in CS job already easily 3-4K depending on Hons. Some stat board given even more. Yes, but even though the pay is not too shabby for a retrenched grad, problem is that a lot of these jobs are considered entry-level, thus the organisation will not accept a 40s retrenched grad even if he or she comes with work experience. In fact many hiring organisations consider age and work experience a liability in this case as they are looking for an obedient entry-level candidate that can be trained and molded, and may turn out to have high potential. Of course all this is left unsaid. Govt tries to help by creating all these retraining and placement schemes for retrenched staff, but jobs are mostly blue-collar types in manufacturing industries, e.g. chemical, pharma or aviation. Retrenched grads have this problem of being over-educated when it comes to these schemes. Certainly, this class of people are expected to help themselves and plan for their own futures, that's why there is no MOM protection of working hours, overtime, etc. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kusje Supersonic May 2, 2017 Share May 2, 2017 So for 40s, local grad, how much the salary should be ah? There is no such thing as should be lor. If you can provide 100 mil of value to the company, they will definitely be able to give you a good package. If you provide 10k per month of value then a salary of 3-4k is already decent. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yeobt Supercharged May 2, 2017 Share May 2, 2017 our job security these days are so so unpredictable. everyone sees or hear someone losing job here and there and is also afraid of losing their own job. i used to worry about my job too. but not anymore after i got my TDVL as my backup plan. I'm a simple man with simple lifestyle, driving is good enough for me to bring food home for my family if is needed. hope those who have lost their job can be great again. ↡ Advertisement 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...