Unemployment rate for over-30s creeps up

Hephaestus

That's why live chat can be very dangerous as they may get question that caught them off guard.

However what I feel a better way to manage this is that if offhand really no answer, should at least ask for the person email address or contact number and he/she will go find out and get back to them personally. That would be more sincere.

Really it is just too difficult to 100% know everything at fingertip especially for very technical questions..

pls leh... one of the prerequisites of going into a presentation or discussion is to anticipate questions and have back up data or slides in reserve

or you prefer the person on stage doing a little stomp dance in tennis skirt and say " i dunno what to say"

Edited by Enye

pls leh... one of the prerequisites of going into a presentation or discussion is to anticipate questions and have back up data or slides in reserve

or you prefer the person on stage doing a little stomp dance in tennis skirt and say " i dunno what to say"

ð

Hehe. I'd love to see that from hsien Loong actually.

Anyway, it isn't even about anticipating questions. You invite people to discuss about rising costs and you don't even know the very basic reason on why the cost is increasing?

Then what else is there to discuss? Btw, this isn't a technical question or surprise question about the pricing methodology of a specific drug.

Edited by Kusje

​Quote

Budget is for allocation of resources- if u dont spend come this yr ,next yr it will be reduced- so might as well spend it away-regardless of its utility purpose. 

Unquote

​Yes I like your this quote.. this is the mentality of most people working for government, and I feel this mindset should change. If after spending got leftover, they will think of ways to spend finish so that the budget allocation will remain the same and will not reduced. But hey that's very wasteful in terms on the amount spent is/are more then what is needed. In fact, even the seniors commoners encourage people below to spend Finish all and don't give leftover, so we already know there is still a long way to go.

​I know this mindset is very difficult to change. What I could come out with is that, if lets say a given budget and they managed to spend less then what is in the budget, reward them. It could be some form of regonication and or voucher or whatever to promote this good mindset and not mindset of government set budget MUST SPEND FINISH no matter what. Oh ya, must also set tone to Senior commoners not to encourage people to spend finish all no matter what. If there is leftover good, if not it's okay. Should start from top too..

thats why the bank while trying to save cost, the workers who dont have a stake in the bank and only using this place as a "hotel" and tour of duty are lazy and used up the quota. Vendors in the industry loves some of the banks for this reason and wine and dine the key stakeholders. 

In fact, there are way too many complaints of unfair advantage , so obvious till when the bank "retrenched" them, they become the vendor lead negotiator for the bank that they left.

Some of the better software company sells stuff in the millions of dollars but are never deployed so that the order number in the book for the software company stays strong while the bank dept budget stays firm.

Hehe. I'd love to see that from hsien Loong actually.

Anyway, it isn't even about anticipating questions. You invite people to discuss about rising costs and you don't even know the very basic reason on why the cost is increasing?

Then what else is there to discuss? Btw, this isn't a technical question or surprise question about the pricing methodology of a specific drug.

you think they dunno the answer?

or is it as i have said their hands are tied?

you think they dunno the answer?

or is it as i have said their hands are tied?

Then why hold a dialogue?

wayang, pretend to show concern ...NATO

you never see your company chiefs do this sort of things meh?

pretend very welfare and say nice things...

but when ask for budget to improve staff welfare and morale....sure kena reject

:mellow:

Haha. My side they don't even bother with such things.

In my old place...When times were good, the bugger made us charter him a swee swee yacht when he had to come to Singapore and travel to one of the neighboring islands then when times were bad, he had us charter him an entire penguin ferry for his tiny 8-10 man contingent when the ferry capacity is 70+? Cost of ferry just slightly lower than the yacht only.

Like this consider wayang?

we have 2 education ministers so numbers is the same but expenses rises.

They really have no choice lah. Too many ministers without portfolio already. So they need to give some titles. 2nd, 3rd and maybe 4th. One day, they may need to create new lah. How about Minister for MCF? Too many comments they need someone to monitor :a-bang:

​Taking about raising unemployment, I think LHL was preparing us because he expect this one to happen.

http://www.businessinsider.sg/fed-official-qe-is-inevitable-when-the-next-recession-hits-2017-5/?r=US&IR=T#ACrKtQAqgxEGzi3C.97

Haha...always wayang to the max

Haha...always wayang to the max ð

yah .... chief everyday wear smiling face mask to work hor?

Alamak i was already preparing you all since early 2016.

Watch out, those in their 40s.

Likelihood is high to kena chop.

I wonder why till now, there is no list of jobs that non Singaporean are holding and the salary range as well as what these top jobs are with the required skill set.

During the early years when retrenchment was high, I saw a push to have locals retrain in job area where there were plenty but was not filling up.

These were the F&B and nurses and Health care workers like social workers.

My question was, if I were to want to be a waiter or a nurse, why in the world would I want to study so hard, push myself, get a degree in NTU or NUS and after being retrench, becomes a waiter or a nurse ?

Some of us even pursue a MBA.

So there is a great disconnect between what is out there and what the next state of evolution is for the job market.

So the later skill funds seems to provide more traction. such as IT as well as MFG. hmm..

IT outsource to india. Manufacturing is a sunset industry. 

I still feel that there is a quantum of company that are deliberately hiring non local because their home country is also not doing well, due to the political unrest of economic situation, like the Brexit or the Euro / US influence. 

Edited by Sdf4786k

I wonder why till now, there is no list of jobs that non Singaporean are holding and the salary range as well as what these top jobs are with the required skill set.

During the early years when retrenchment was high, I saw a push to have locals retrain in job area where there were plenty but was not filling up.

My question was, if I were to want to be a waiter or a nurse, why in the world would I want to study so hard, push myself, get a degree in NTU or NUS and after being retrench, becomes a waiter or a nurse ?

So there is a great disconnect between what is out there and what the next state of evolution is for the job market.

So the later skill funds seems to provide more traction. such as IT as well as MFG. hmm..

I still feel that there is a quantum of company that are deliberately hiring non local because their home country is also not doing well, due to the political unrest of economic situation, like the Brexit or the Euro / US influence.

Its all one big conspiracy Bro.

Singapore job has always been employer friendly.  It depends one's ability to adapt to the changing environment.

Having MBA or EMBA does not guarantee getting your next job easily.

Despite all the bad news floating around, my friends have no problem getting next job.

Alamak i was already preparing you all since early 2016.

Watch out, those in their 40s.

Likelihood is high to kena chop.

boss....

high pay high likelihood

low pay low likelihood

not many with senior table wiper manager pay leh

At this point of time, JobStreet or Jobdb is useless

Personal contacts can be more useful

All my ex. colleagues got their job through personal contact aka referral

If you are being well known within your industry for being struck up, lazy or chao keng

Good luck