Donutnews Neutral Newbie June 17, 2012 Share June 17, 2012 SINGAPORE: Donations are pouring in from all over the world to help alleviate the national phenomenon of MRT commuters falling into the platform gap. Donut News understands that one of the donor, Ronald of Des Plaines, Illinois has kindly agreed to donate 100,000 pairs of customized shoes to help prevent a nation-wide catastrophe. The special shoes has so far helped the world-famous clown planted his footprint all over the world, without falling into any platform gap. A simple solution to a complex problem. Post taken from Donut News ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kiadaw 6th Gear June 17, 2012 Share June 17, 2012 (edited) Thread of the day! Actually, you can still fall if your sole is in the gap. This better. Edited June 17, 2012 by Kiadaw Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
I-LOVE-CARS 1st Gear June 17, 2012 Share June 17, 2012 (edited) On 6/17/2012 at 8:09 AM, Donutnews said: SINGAPORE: Donations are pouring in from all over the world to help alleviate the national phenomenon of MRT commuters falling into the platform gap. Donut News understands that one of the donor, Ronald of Des Plaines, Illinois has kindly agreed to donate 100,000 pairs of customized shoes to help prevent a nation-wide catastrophe. The special shoes has so far helped the world-famous clown planted his footprint all over the world, without falling into any platform gap. A simple solution to a complex problem. Post taken from Donut News I am starting to wonder if this TS is really bo liao, 2nd topic from the same TS with the same 'crap news' thus wasting bandwidth :angry: Edited June 17, 2012 by I-LOVE-CARS Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fcw75 Hypersonic June 17, 2012 Share June 17, 2012 He wants us to visit his website Donutnews ma. Anyway, the gap between the platform and train is 10cm as reported. It's indeed a bit wide. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
KARTer 2nd Gear June 17, 2012 Share June 17, 2012 On 6/17/2012 at 8:13 AM, Kiadaw said: Thread of the day! Actually, you can still fall if your sole is in the gap. This better. SMRT can use FWs to roll out a small carpet every time the train picks up passengers ... the carpet will cover the gap Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Donut Supercharged June 17, 2012 Share June 17, 2012 Hey, why u use "Donut"? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Timbuktu Clutched June 17, 2012 Share June 17, 2012 Not say the MRT is a new thing or what. After operating for 26 years with almost zero incidences like this, we suddenly get two in a week. I seriously think that there is a conspiracy behind all this. Maybe the injured 'victims' are all paid? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Seaweed 1st Gear June 17, 2012 Share June 17, 2012 so we start thinking about leg gettting trap and not breakdowns anymore!!! [laugh] Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Donutnews Neutral Newbie June 17, 2012 Author Share June 17, 2012 On 6/17/2012 at 11:28 AM, Donut said: Hey, why u use "Donut"? Our blog tell the The "Hole" Truth, Nothing But The Truth. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Robin 4th Gear June 17, 2012 Share June 17, 2012 agree. Doc martins will work too Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
WTF 4th Gear June 17, 2012 Share June 17, 2012 The gap was once wider in the past till they added something like a rubber to close the gap.......but that was in the old NS & EW lines.....not sure abt the newer lines though.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Thaiyotakamli Supersonic June 17, 2012 Share June 17, 2012 y dont they install LED light in the gap? then people will be more careful about that Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Relagsingh 4th Gear June 17, 2012 Share June 17, 2012 That's actually quite funny. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pocus Turbocharged June 17, 2012 Share June 17, 2012 Must follow london liao?? As you can see from the pic, London's tube "GAP" is even wider, esp those stations with a curved platform. No incidents heard! (mind you london tube also as crowded as our MRT durng peak hours) Wonder how those ppl in SG MRT will kena? Text cellphone while walking?? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rosschang 1st Gear June 19, 2012 Share June 19, 2012 a result of overly pampered, overly concern *abeit used wrongly* and mostly, ignorant. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kangadrool Supersonic June 19, 2012 Share June 19, 2012 (edited) Most overseas train platform gap are wider due to temperature variation is much wider. Singapore's gap is peanut lah. Just need to be careful even though it's smaller. I am amazed how efficient and effective the Japanese trains run even though theirs are much older and much much more overloaded than ours. Their train stations are so old and dusty, but everything works. Compare to our gleaming ones which keep on breaking down again and again. IMO, we should start focussing on how to run trains better rather than just cosmetic appearance. Edited June 19, 2012 by Kangadrool Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rayleigh 6th Gear June 19, 2012 Share June 19, 2012 On 6/19/2012 at 2:38 AM, Kangadrool said: Most overseas train platform gap are wider due to temperature variation is much wider. Singapore's gap is peanut lah. Just need to be careful even though it's smaller. I am amazed how efficient and effective the Japanese trains run even though theirs are much older and much much more overloaded than ours. Their train stations are so old and dusty, but everything works. Compare to our gleaming ones which keep on breaking down again and again. IMO, we should start focussing on how to run trains better rather than just cosmetic appearance. wider for temperature variation? sure or not? No wonder i feel my house getting bigger these few weeks! [smash] [smash] just teasing Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mockngbrd Supersonic June 19, 2012 Share June 19, 2012 On 6/19/2012 at 2:27 AM, Rosschang said: a result of overly pampered, overly concern *abeit used wrongly* and mostly, ignorant. becos those drop in are FT ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...