Good-Carbuyer 1st Gear June 17, 2012 Share June 17, 2012 The wish guy siao ah wan to play with your Godzilla?? Or u accidentally offended him wif your driving which u did not notice? A taxi tailgated me once n do stunts like the wish driver...I drove straight into Bedok police station... Sumtimes these idiots juz wanna pick a fight but not worth it la to be in such fight... +1 ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nzy Twincharged June 17, 2012 Share June 17, 2012 wah bro ... last year i was driving on ECP, lane 2, doing the speed limit or slightly above. some young chap in his daddy's toyota wish came behind, high beam etc even though lane 1 was empty. i figured he was trying to ask for a race, but thats not really my thing ... since he wants lane 2, i yield and move right to lane 1 and speed up a little. guess what ... my friend decides to follow so closely to my bumper i can see his grin ... so i yield again and move back to lane 2 to let him pass. he refuses and gets behind me again, with his stupid high beam flicking on and off .. so i tap my brakes, drop from about 90 to 60 (which causes him to emergency brake, since he was so close to me) ... i drop 2 gears and move to lane 3 .. and again he tries to follow .... so i have to choice, but to wait till the last minute to cut left to KPE at which point, he doesnt have the acceleration to filter and follow me ... now, what would you do in my shoes? i already yield thrice, and his high beam is giving me anxiety since i cant even look in my mirrors. this was actually the only time this ever happened. most people when they tail gate and i yield, they get the hint and drive off .. even the ah bengs - if you yield to their wrxs or evos, they will just leave u alone .. but what about the nutjobs ?? lol :P Encounter before. Just slow down even more lo. Go to lane 3. If he follow then just release accelerator and go slower and slower. He'll get bored and overtake. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Achee 4th Gear June 17, 2012 Share June 17, 2012 It is difficult to expect considerate driving in Singapore. Hence, TP has to step up patrolling, suggest to increase fines for road hoggers (at Lane 1) as follows: Cat A, B and D vehicles - $5,000 + 6 demerit points Cat C vehicles - $10,000 + 12 demerit points Confirm the road hogging situation will improve Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
ZaC71S 1st Gear June 17, 2012 Share June 17, 2012 wah bro ... last year i was driving on ECP, lane 2, doing the speed limit or slightly above. some young chap in his daddy's toyota wish came behind, high beam etc even though lane 1 was empty. i figured he was trying to ask for a race, but thats not really my thing ... since he wants lane 2, i yield and move right to lane 1 and speed up a little. guess what ... my friend decides to follow so closely to my bumper i can see his grin ... so i yield again and move back to lane 2 to let him pass. he refuses and gets behind me again, with his stupid high beam flicking on and off .. so i tap my brakes, drop from about 90 to 60 (which causes him to emergency brake, since he was so close to me) ... i drop 2 gears and move to lane 3 .. and again he tries to follow .... so i have to choice, but to wait till the last minute to cut left to KPE at which point, he doesnt have the acceleration to filter and follow me ... now, what would you do in my shoes? i already yield thrice, and his high beam is giving me anxiety since i cant even look in my mirrors. this was actually the only time this ever happened. most people when they tail gate and i yield, they get the hint and drive off .. even the ah bengs - if you yield to their wrxs or evos, they will just leave u alone .. but what about the nutjobs ?? lol :P Haha. I understand how you feel bro. I got kanna one such stunt from a "souped -up" picanto. At bke towards jb. I was on lane 1. He high beamed me n i just move to lane 2 n give him way even though road is empty. Bugger also followed me to lane 2.same pattern. When I sped up, he also try to chase me. Luckily I'm heading towards wdls checkpoint. He exited the exit before wdls checkpoint. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Renegade777 5th Gear June 17, 2012 Share June 17, 2012 Raising speed limit is not the point here, based on article. Raised to 110kmh, there will be people going above that and hoggers will still be considered hogging, this time at 110kmh... There is a difference. At least the flow of traffic is still much faster at 110km/h. Personally, I prefer people hogging me at 110km/h than a crawl of 90km/h. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
StefanK Supercharged June 17, 2012 Share June 17, 2012 It is difficult to expect considerate driving in Singapore. Hence, TP has to step up patrolling, suggest to increase fines for road hoggers (at Lane 1) as follows: Cat A, B and D vehicles - $5,000 + 6 demerit points Cat C vehicles - $10,000 + 12 demerit points Confirm the road hogging situation will improve I know I am just providing ammo for road hoggers here, but on Friday, while travelling on PIE towards Changi along Toa Payoh to Eunos. This Teana was holding up all the traffic on overtaking lane, moving along at 80km/h or lesser, when going up slope. Reason being, there was a TP beside him going at the same speed, so he don't dare to overtake, and the TP also never ask him to move along. So the 2 of them were holding up the traffic on these 2 lanes all the way until Eunos when TP exit to Eunos. You want them to fine roadhoggers? Difficult. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
StefanK Supercharged June 17, 2012 Share June 17, 2012 There is a difference. At least the flow of traffic is still much faster at 110km/h. Personally, I prefer people hogging me at 110km/h than a crawl of 90km/h. My experience is that if the driver is going at 100km/h or 110km/h, I find it better and I don't see any reason to tailgate him at all. But if 90km/h on first lane, you are just keeping pace with traffic on your left. You want to plan your exit smoothly also difficult. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sp4wn Turbocharged June 17, 2012 Share June 17, 2012 thanks for all the replies. i guess judging from the feedback i became a little more reckless (but im 100% sure i didnt do anything wrong since he could have overtaken on lane1, but for all i know, i may have cut him off earlier. but then he wouldnt be grinning then right ...?) gf was in the car though, so im quite sure i didnt try anything risky ... otherwise i'll surely "kena" from her .. haha. anyway i guess the best thing to do in this scenario is to slow down to the point they will overtake (or just take an upcoming exit to lose them) .. makes sense. and yes, there are crazy people who like to play with godzilla ... im perfectly ok with letting everyone win .. esp when my gf is in the car ... she hates the sudden acceleration ... so i normally keep my antics to a minimum. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nzy Twincharged June 17, 2012 Share June 17, 2012 I know I am just providing ammo for road hoggers here, but on Friday, while travelling on PIE towards Changi along Toa Payoh to Eunos. This Teana was holding up all the traffic on overtaking lane, moving along at 80km/h or lesser, when going up slope. Reason being, there was a TP beside him going at the same speed, so he don't dare to overtake, and the TP also never ask him to move along. So the 2 of them were holding up the traffic on these 2 lanes all the way until Eunos when TP exit to Eunos. You want them to fine roadhoggers? Difficult. I think you just encountered a lazy TP. Most TP I encountered will at least ask you to get off lane 1 if you are not overtaking. They'll signal to you and ask you go to road shoulder. Seen many times already. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Xanavi 4th Gear June 17, 2012 Share June 17, 2012 There is a difference. At least the flow of traffic is still much faster at 110km/h. Personally, I prefer people hogging me at 110km/h than a crawl of 90km/h. Of course.. But only for a while. When we are used to that speed on the road, it is going to feel normal or slow for some if not all. And those who stick to that speed will be deem slow to those running at 120 and above. I'm just feel, don't cruise on lane one unless overtaking, regardless what speed you are traveling. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gee 1st Gear June 17, 2012 Share June 17, 2012 I would honk the bugger hogging in lane1 even if TP is next at lane2. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
TameDriver Twincharged June 17, 2012 Share June 17, 2012 I think you just encountered a lazy TP. Most TP I encountered will at least ask you to get off lane 1 if you are not overtaking. They'll signal to you and ask you go to road shoulder. Seen many times already. Not lazy TP, most probably he has met his 'quota' for the week or month! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
TameDriver Twincharged June 17, 2012 Share June 17, 2012 Your account reminds me of those small yappy irritating dogs. To make up for their lack in size, they make hell lot of noise without provocation, Always on the defensive, attacking first! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Achee 4th Gear June 17, 2012 Share June 17, 2012 I would honk the bugger hogging in lane1 even if TP is next at lane2. It would certainly be more effective if it is the TP that honks Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Headshok 1st Gear June 17, 2012 Share June 17, 2012 drive a diesel and you'll have the best weapon against tail gaters:) those who drive one will know :) heheh Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
TameDriver Twincharged June 17, 2012 Share June 17, 2012 Which also bring to mind my encounters on the NSHW. Quite often I have these fully loaded tiny little cute cars that chiong towards me from behind on the extreme right lane, Though I was doing a safe 120-130 km/h, I always try to give way when possible. When there's delay in giving way due to heavy traffic, these cars would still bear down from behind until I could see the faces of the occupants and heads of children bobbing (not in chid seat for sure!) . I guess drivers of these MY cars feel good if they can force a SG car to give way to them! I give way to these irritants as I feared that should I am forced to tap on brakes, Due to the speed we were running and the make of the MY car, the boot of my conti car would go into the small car all the way to it's back instead! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ghostrider 3rd Gear June 17, 2012 Share June 17, 2012 Well I got a biker who wanted to play chicken with me....playing the braking game....so I went so close to him that when I brake...I show him sound and smoke.....stupid fark. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lurpsexx 6th Gear June 17, 2012 Share June 17, 2012 wah bro ... last year i was driving on ECP, lane 2, doing the speed limit or slightly above. some young chap in his daddy's toyota wish came behind, high beam etc even though lane 1 was empty. i figured he was trying to ask for a race, but thats not really my thing ... since he wants lane 2, i yield and move right to lane 1 and speed up a little. guess what ... my friend decides to follow so closely to my bumper i can see his grin ... so i yield again and move back to lane 2 to let him pass. he refuses and gets behind me again, with his stupid high beam flicking on and off .. so i tap my brakes, drop from about 90 to 60 (which causes him to emergency brake, since he was so close to me) ... i drop 2 gears and move to lane 3 .. and again he tries to follow .... so i have to choice, but to wait till the last minute to cut left to KPE at which point, he doesnt have the acceleration to filter and follow me ... now, what would you do in my shoes? i already yield thrice, and his high beam is giving me anxiety since i cant even look in my mirrors. this was actually the only time this ever happened. most people when they tail gate and i yield, they get the hint and drive off .. even the ah bengs - if you yield to their wrxs or evos, they will just leave u alone .. but what about the nutjobs ?? lol :P I wound down my window and point my right hand to the road shoulder to settle with him.. But the boh chee one just zoomed past me .. So much for these balless kids who try to chiet with others.. on the contrary, the drivers who drive the EVOs and GTRs were more mature and cool.. I ever saw them on lane 2 kena over taken by souped up Vios and challenged to a road race, but these cool drivers just drove on.. I guess they know that their turbo cars can eat the Vios anytime.... is whether they wan or not... I guess its those wannabes who dun have, who would wan to prove to the world that they have it la.... ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...