Kelpie 2nd Gear June 16, 2012 Share June 16, 2012 From Yahoo!News Are Singaporeans a happy lot? Not quite, if the latest Happy Planet Index (HPI) is anything to go by. The index measures how governments from around the world provide long, happy and sustainable lives for their people, based on three factors: life expectancy, happiness and environmental sustainability. The results from the 2012 study, which was released on Thursday, ranked Singapore a lowly 90th out of 151 countries. Coming in top for the second year running is Costa Rica, while the highest-ranked Asian country is Vietnam (second). Hong Kong, in 102th position, is the only Asian nation that is ranked lower than Singapore. Singapore scored well in life expectancy and well-being, but did poorly in environmental sustainability. Overall, it scored 39.8. The Lion City performed better in the same study done in 2009, where it was ranked 49 out of 143 countries, with a score of 48.2. But its showing this year is an improvement from 2006, where it came in at 131st position, out of 178 countries, with a score of just 36.1. For more information on how the Happy Planet Index is calculated, go to http://www.happyplanetindex.org/about/ ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
I-LOVE-CARS 1st Gear June 16, 2012 Share June 16, 2012 From Yahoo!News Are Singaporeans a happy lot? Not quite, if the latest Happy Planet Index (HPI) is anything to go by. The index measures how governments from around the world provide long, happy and sustainable lives for their people, based on three factors: life expectancy, happiness and environmental sustainability. The results from the 2012 study, which was released on Thursday, ranked Singapore a lowly 90th out of 151 countries. Coming in top for the second year running is Costa Rica, while the highest-ranked Asian country is Vietnam (second). Hong Kong, in 102th position, is the only Asian nation that is ranked lower than Singapore. Singapore scored well in life expectancy and well-being, but did poorly in environmental sustainability. Overall, it scored 39.8. The Lion City performed better in the same study done in 2009, where it was ranked 49 out of 143 countries, with a score of 48.2. But its showing this year is an improvement from 2006, where it came in at 131st position, out of 178 countries, with a score of just 36.1. For more information on how the Happy Planet Index is calculated, go to http://www.happyplanetindex.org/about/ We are not a happy lot are we? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tayspiderx 3rd Gear June 16, 2012 Share June 16, 2012 We can be happy too just visualize yourself in one of Channel 8's Kampong themed series/Malaysia Taiwan travel guide/Old Celeb revisit to relive Happier times. [laugh] Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jaf78 1st Gear June 16, 2012 Share June 16, 2012 We are not a happy lot are we? Yes the "true" one is not happy The "fake" one is on the happy quota Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Leggt Clutched June 16, 2012 Share June 16, 2012 Don't worry, we can import happiness as well. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jasonjst 3rd Gear June 16, 2012 Share June 16, 2012 Don't worry, we can import happiness as well. More like export happiness . Everytime I am out of SG , I feel happy and relax Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ladykillerz 4th Gear June 16, 2012 Share June 16, 2012 Don't worry, we can import happiness as well. we imported china ping pong players, now we also can import happiness ah? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mockngbrd Supersonic June 17, 2012 Share June 17, 2012 Surprised we even in the list Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
GPunto Neutral Newbie June 17, 2012 Share June 17, 2012 Singapore scored well in life expectancy and well-being, but did poorly in environmental sustainability. Overall, it scored 39.8. The Lion City performed better in the same study done in 2009, where it was ranked 49 out of 143 countries, with a score of 48.2. But its showing this year is an improvement from 2006, where it came in at 131st position, out of 178 countries, with a score of just 36.1. 2006 - rank 131 2009 - rank 49 2012 - rank 90 so we should be happy or sad because we rank better than in 2006?? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
ZaC71S 1st Gear June 17, 2012 Share June 17, 2012 More like export happiness . Everytime I am out of SG , I feel happy and relax I agree with u bro. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vid Hypersonic June 17, 2012 Share June 17, 2012 2006 - rank 131 2009 - rank 49 2012 - rank 90 so we should be happy or sad because we rank better than in 2006?? The 2009 ranking is flawed. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
KARTer 2nd Gear June 17, 2012 Share June 17, 2012 We are not a happy lot are we? This report wrong liao, Zorro says very happy when he looks at his CPF figures! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Evillusion Supersonic June 17, 2012 Share June 17, 2012 (edited) The 2009 ranking is flawed. 2009 the government giving rebates and other bonuses to citizen like no tomorrow mar...who not ..but now they stop liao...so many will be Edited June 17, 2012 by Eviilusion Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tom_kkh 1st Gear June 17, 2012 Share June 17, 2012 from the happy list, those happy countries, 90% are poor countries. i rather not to be happy in such cases Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kiadaw 6th Gear June 17, 2012 Share June 17, 2012 Government should send us CPF statement every month. I heard looking at CPF statement can make one happy. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kiadaw 6th Gear June 17, 2012 Share June 17, 2012 from the happy list, those happy countries, 90% are poor countries. i rather not to be happy in such cases True blue Singaporean. Our world cass education have teaches us : Richer -> More happy. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gee 1st Gear June 17, 2012 Share June 17, 2012 "no countries in the world where population decreased, happiness increase." .. Hence the saying goes, the more the merrier? Pun intended ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...