News: Death in swimming pool

SimonTan

if you drink, dont swim.

Feel sad, as condo pools are seldom deeper than waist level.

Is condo rental so cheap nowadays?

Or is the HDB rentals too high?

Free water for bathing, and recreational welfare.

Could be the trend for employers to house workers in condo.

I guess the properties will always have support from more import of Foreign workers.

AsiaOne

Tuesday, Jun 12, 2012

A CHINESE national died Monday night after reportedly jumping into a swimming pool following a drinking session with friends.

The construction worker had been drinking with about five or six others at a Kovan coffeeshop before heading back to Goodrich Park, an old condominium where they were staying.

The Straits Times said the group decided to go for a swim and then shower at the pool facilities as they shared three toilets between 10 people.

The worker, aged about 40 and who apparently could not swim, then jumped into the pool.

He began struggling and was pulled from the water. A friend said a neighbour quickly jumped in to help pull him out.

He was apparently still breathing when he emerged from the water.

The Singapore Civil Defence Force (SCDF) said they received a call at about 10.35pm and sent an ambulance to the scene.

The worker was sent to Tan Tock Seng Hospital.

The friend told the English daily that the worker had been in Singapore for more than a year and had just moved into Goodrich Park condominium on the afternoon before he died.

Most of the people living in the condominium are foreign workers; companies are known to rent flats as dormitories for their employees.

The condominium is understood to be quite run-down and could be demolished by the end of the month, evening daily Lianhe Wanbao said.

[email protected]

I am staying in a HDB flat. 6 people in my family sharing 2 toilets. *Not joking*

Looks like my life here is worse than a foreign worker.

construction worker life so good live condo.

a poor sinkie like me have to no place but sleep in void decks and sometimes get chased away by matyoyo playing guitars and cards.

construction worker life so good live condo.

a poor sinkie like me have to no place but sleep in void decks and sometimes get chased away by matyoyo playing guitars and cards.

You can join them in sing-a-long mah. Just like good old kampung days [laugh] .

Anyway, if you really want you can be construction worker too if you think its that good, then can stay in condo foc [:p]

Before I shifted into my new flat just last March, I was sharing ONE toilet with SEVEN people.. <_<

that's nothing

when i was in bmt, i was sharing one toilet with 40 people! [laugh]:D[laugh]

that's nothing

when i was in bmt, i was sharing one toilet with 40 people! [laugh]:D[laugh]

cb..that time i watched soccer at National stadium, had to share the toillet with 55 000 fans! [laugh][laugh]

noaways better dont go watch live soccer wait fighting [:p]

i watch live on tv nia! cannot tahan at the end of the games. MRT or own transportation all the same jampacked like sardines! :wacko:

Some wife has to share a banana with four other women.

and some husbands have to share 1 mouth with others.

Yeah...me too.....wanted to buy Ferrari...also got news.

Wanted to buy IT products from pretty salesgirl...also got news.

So Sian. Cannot do anything nowadays anymore.

and some husbands have to share 1 mouth with others.

'Others' meaning SCDF commissioner and CNB Chief? [sly]

wah, amazing, a thread like this can end up becoming

a. Outdoing each other on how many people share one toilet

b. FT bashing. They are having a better life than sinkie in sinkie land

c. R(A) discussion on bananas and sharing of mouth

And somemore the flow is so smooth....

Who says singaporean got no creativity. Given the right conditions, no one can beat us for being crativity.