Simonsoh 2nd Gear June 11, 2012 Share June 11, 2012 Hi friends, 3rd time I am hearing this sound when braking. the sound come directly from below my brake pedal when i depress on the pedal. All three times different circumstances. I remember 1st time down slope i brake hard the sound come out... few seconds. 2nd time same slope, but brake gently but the sound come out. today 3rd time level road at tuas.. smooth braking... sound come out.... The best I can describe the sound is ..."KKKrkrkrrkkk" haha... really like metal heavy friction with metal.... Anyone know what happen to cause the sound??? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Happily1986 5th Gear June 11, 2012 Share June 11, 2012 Hi friends, 3rd time I am hearing this sound when braking. the sound come directly from below my brake pedal when i depress on the pedal. All three times different circumstances. I remember 1st time down slope i brake hard the sound come out... few seconds. 2nd time same slope, but brake gently but the sound come out. today 3rd time level road at tuas.. smooth braking... sound come out.... The best I can describe the sound is ..."KKKrkrkrrkkk" haha... really like metal heavy friction with metal.... Anyone know what happen to cause the sound??? when was the last time you changed your brake pad? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chrispie 5th Gear June 11, 2012 Share June 11, 2012 shld be brake pad up lorry liao. Time to replace. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ericongy 3rd Gear June 11, 2012 Share June 11, 2012 Hi friends, 3rd time I am hearing this sound when braking. the sound come directly from below my brake pedal when i depress on the pedal. All three times different circumstances. I remember 1st time down slope i brake hard the sound come out... few seconds. 2nd time same slope, but brake gently but the sound come out. today 3rd time level road at tuas.. smooth braking... sound come out.... The best I can describe the sound is ..."KKKrkrkrrkkk" haha... really like metal heavy friction with metal.... Anyone know what happen to cause the sound??? better go ws check when your car still can stop. i always feel that i am not scare how fast one can go, i am more worry that how fast one can come to a stop Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Simonsoh 2nd Gear June 11, 2012 Author Share June 11, 2012 when was the last time you changed your brake pad? almost 40k never change before... last servicing i specifically asked workshop to check brake pad they say brakepad is [thumbsup] but i never see with my own eyes they got check anot lah.... u all know what i am talking abt rite? not always step brake got this sound.... 1st and 2nd time this sound is half year ago... now this is third time after many months.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Opel17 6th Gear June 11, 2012 Share June 11, 2012 You can check the brake pads by shining a torchlight through the gaps in the rims/wheels. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Happily1986 5th Gear June 11, 2012 Share June 11, 2012 almost 40k never change before... last servicing i specifically asked workshop to check brake pad they say brakepad is [thumbsup] but i never see with my own eyes they got check anot lah.... u all know what i am talking abt rite? not always step brake got this sound.... 1st and 2nd time this sound is half year ago... now this is third time after many months.... you can check the thickness of your brake pad yourself. Just got to remove tire. Anyway, front brake pads usually wear faster than rear pairs. Assuming yours are disc brakes all round. Not that we are dismissing all other possibilities for this metallic grind but brake pad seems a very high probability. Anyway 40k on the odo for front pair seems normal. Mine uplorried after 40,000 km too. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ericongy 3rd Gear June 11, 2012 Share June 11, 2012 you can check the thickness of your brake pad yourself. Just got to remove tire. Anyway, front brake pads usually wear faster than rear pairs. Assuming yours are disc brakes all round. Not that we are dismissing all other possibilities for this metallic grind but brake pad seems a very high probability. Anyway 40k on the odo for front pair seems normal. Mine uplorried after 40,000 km too. mine still >30% left after 65k km.... ws tao chiew tot i change at 40k km major servicing.... now a days a lot of drivers (especially young ones ) duno know how to anticipate traffic... only know how to floor accelerator den use brake, of coz brake pad cannot last lar.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Happily1986 5th Gear June 11, 2012 Share June 11, 2012 mine still >30% left after 65k km.... ws tao chiew tot i change at 40k km major servicing.... now a days a lot of drivers (especially young ones ) duno know how to anticipate traffic... only know how to floor accelerator den use brake, of coz brake pad cannot last lar.... automatic transmission no means to use engine braking. Furthermore driving in 85% city 15% highway which in any case nowadays highway driving is not exactly that smooth anymore. Personally i feel that the brake pad of the current generation Altis is abit too small by design. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
ER-3682 Supersonic June 11, 2012 Share June 11, 2012 (edited) Altis don't need big brake pads....not very powerful. Edited June 11, 2012 by ER-3682 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
ER-3682 Supersonic June 11, 2012 Share June 11, 2012 Altis don't need big brake pads....not very powerful...standard is more than enough. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Simonsoh 2nd Gear June 12, 2012 Author Share June 12, 2012 you can check the thickness of your brake pad yourself. Just got to remove tire. Anyway, front brake pads usually wear faster than rear pairs. Assuming yours are disc brakes all round. Not that we are dismissing all other possibilities for this metallic grind but brake pad seems a very high probability. Anyway 40k on the odo for front pair seems normal. Mine uplorried after 40,000 km too. Thanks. What are the other possibilities besides worn brakepads? Cuz if this is really the cause of the sound, I should be hearing this quite often recently rite? I only heard 6 moths ago then few days ago.. until now no such sounds liao... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
QQDreamer 4th Gear June 12, 2012 Share June 12, 2012 could be jammed brake cylinder also. If ur rear is a drum probably the brake wheel cylinder is leaking liao. if yours is brake disc all around perhaps is a jammed caliper valve. need to replace that. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Turbonetics 2nd Gear June 12, 2012 Share June 12, 2012 Hi friends, 3rd time I am hearing this sound when braking. the sound come directly from below my brake pedal when i depress on the pedal. All three times different circumstances. I remember 1st time down slope i brake hard the sound come out... few seconds. 2nd time same slope, but brake gently but the sound come out. today 3rd time level road at tuas.. smooth braking... sound come out.... The best I can describe the sound is ..."KKKrkrkrrkkk" haha... really like metal heavy friction with metal.... Anyone know what happen to cause the sound??? change your brake pad. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Simonsoh 2nd Gear June 12, 2012 Author Share June 12, 2012 could be jammed brake cylinder also. If ur rear is a drum probably the brake wheel cylinder is leaking liao. if yours is brake disc all around perhaps is a jammed caliper valve. need to replace that. wah.. sibei cheem... my car is forte 1.6A stock until cannot stock type... i ask around my friends... since hear only 3 times in abt 7 months they very hard to conclude what is prob... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ericongy 3rd Gear June 12, 2012 Share June 12, 2012 wah.. sibei cheem... my car is forte 1.6A stock until cannot stock type... i ask around my friends... since hear only 3 times in abt 7 months they very hard to conclude what is prob... since it is something to do with the brake, get it to the ws and chk better lar.... really no point guessing... wad is ur car no. plate? if you still dun get it chk soon, i will siam far far when i see u in my rear mirror Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ericongy 3rd Gear June 12, 2012 Share June 12, 2012 wah.. sibei cheem... my car is forte 1.6A stock until cannot stock type... i ask around my friends... since hear only 3 times in abt 7 months they very hard to conclude what is prob... 7mths? should be due for another 10k servicing already rite? unless u rarely use that car.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Simonsoh 2nd Gear June 12, 2012 Author Share June 12, 2012 7mths? should be due for another 10k servicing already rite? unless u rarely use that car.... no lah bro.. what i meant is i heard this KKKrrkrrr sound total 3 times over a period of 7 months. Jan I heard twice then I never hear again until few days ago... 2 months ago servicing that time ws told me brake pad no prob.... think i will go for a early servicing next week let them thorough check... ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...