Elfenstar 3rd Gear June 11, 2012 Share June 11, 2012 dear all, we know that beating red lights seems to be the hot topic of late.Here's a different form of red light beating.... from a three cyclist. pls ignore the wrong date. mice I do apologise on behalf of my fellow cyclists. There are a few with an inflated sense of infallibility. My group has encountered such a situation where a large group has done the same while we're already stopped at the lights, and we've discussed what we would do should an accident occur. First help them, then pilfer all the nice parts they have ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
20G 1st Gear June 11, 2012 Share June 11, 2012 If I were you, let me put things into my perspective. I seriously hated all did god damn mother fxxxxx drivers of puny cars on the rd.. They can driver damn slow and can't accelerate fast enough n expect we big cc cars to give way.. Give my ass man.. Eva once I went to Sungei kadut for wk on a sun morning, it was a single lane n Lotsa heavy vehicles traveling.. Imagine if an accident occurred? Jam the whole damn rd!! It's ok that they die as their cars are puny grocery getters that pay little road tax but it be serious when they affect the ppl that are going to dat industrial area to earn ther living.. Worst part, garment supports them.. Some ppl even paste the dads for life or baby on board sticker on their car n encouraging dis lame driving.. When dis video was posted, was hoping to see perhaps a trailer or Wat heavy vehicle fr our driven by our neighboring brothers give them a close near miss n sending them pissing their pants... Dat be fun!! Anyway just FYI, I've cycled in MY. No stress at all. Drivers there have better road manners towards others than my fellow Singaporeans. nbz, now ur looking down on small puny cars ah? small puny cars oso pay road tax ok.. hiak hiak hiak.. btw, im buying a bike soon. let's do some cycling tgt some time soon man.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Elfenstar 3rd Gear June 11, 2012 Share June 11, 2012 nbz, now ur looking down on small puny cars ah? small puny cars oso pay road tax ok.. hiak hiak hiak.. btw, im buying a bike soon. let's do some cycling tgt some time soon man.. No choice. Gotta demonstrate the slippery slope these buggers statements are on Been a little busy to cycle much in the last few months. Done it a few times only. More often than not recently, I end up being a safety car for my buddies halfway through their rides (and take up far more space going as slowly than they do) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Watwheels Supersonic June 11, 2012 Share June 11, 2012 (edited) The comments by cyclists here are definitely biased. They call themselves "fellow road user" but want to have preferential treament with that 1.5m thingy. Got cyclist say dun like to cycle in lanes dedicated for bikes cos they have to slow down and siam children. SO car drivers enjoy slowing down and siam cyclist lah? If you want to travel at a constant speed, so do other vehicles what. So can any cyclist tell me why the preferential treatment when you are also a road user? Why put yourself at risk and lian lei other road users? When you hold up a bus load of ppl on the bus lane, what will you be saying dan? You deserve the preferential treatment coz you are a cyclist? The passengers in the bus deserve the contant jerking from the braking just becoz you? Dun make sense to me. Edited June 11, 2012 by Watwheels Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
20G 1st Gear June 11, 2012 Share June 11, 2012 No choice. Gotta demonstrate the slippery slope these buggers statements are on Been a little busy to cycle much in the last few months. Done it a few times only. More often than not recently, I end up being a safety car for my buddies halfway through their rides (and take up far more space going as slowly than they do) u shd be cycling often man. u hv lost alot of fats the last i saw u at east coast. hee hee. dun waste the effort Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
X3mblack Clutched June 11, 2012 Share June 11, 2012 The comments by cyclists here are definitely biased. They call themselves "fellow road user" but want to have preferential treament with that 1.5m thingy. Got cyclist say dun like to cycle in lanes dedicated for bikes cos they have to slow down and siam children. SO car drivers enjoy slowing down and siam cyclist lah? If you want to travel at a constant speed, so do other vehicles what. So can any cyclist tell me why the preferential treatment when you are also a road user? Why put yourself at risk and lian lei other road users? When you hold up a bus load of ppl on the bus lane, what will you be saying dan? You deserve the preferential treatment coz you are a cyclist? The passengers in the bus deserve the contant jerking from the braking just becoz you? Dun make sense to me. No cyclist are not asking for preferential treatment. They are asking drivers to overtake them like they exist and not just push them over the Kerb. The 1.5 m is just a guide line. As long as the driver make a conscious effort to move a little out and not have their side mirror narrowly brushing the cyclist is good enough. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mcf777 Turbocharged June 11, 2012 Share June 11, 2012 where is the FERRARI when we need them the most to send these IDIOTS to La La land? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
X3mblack Clutched June 11, 2012 Share June 11, 2012 For general knowledge sake...... It was cyclist back in the 18th century that started lobbying for high-quality sealed surfaces that we today called road. With the development of roads that led to more advanced form of vehicles.... So road was built for bicycle and cars came along because road exist. So please share the road and don't say cyclist got no right to use the road. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gz0707 4th Gear June 11, 2012 Share June 11, 2012 (edited) My view is that no single form or motorist own the road. Anyone who pays taxes in any form has the right to use the common road, pavement or traffic junction. Car owners seem to have this idea that roads are built and maintained from the car taxes, road tax and COE they pay. I disagree. If this is the case, people should not be walking across junctions and taking buses or MRT, as these take up road space too. Feel feel to clarify if you understand this better than my layman knowledge. Edited June 11, 2012 by Gz0707 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jeroming Neutral Newbie June 11, 2012 Share June 11, 2012 beating the red light is just wrong, whether cyclist, motorist or pedestrian. and i agree much more can be done to promote understanding amongst these 3 groups of road users. a lot of time i dunno what i should do to signal/warn a cyclist in front of me that I am behind and he is veering too much. most bicycles don't come with rear/side mirrors, so i think this cuts their situational awareness a lot. so i will just end up slowing down and just LL follow until i get to filter to the 2nd lane. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Joseph22 Turbocharged June 11, 2012 Share June 11, 2012 No cyclist are not asking for preferential treatment. They are asking drivers to overtake them like they exist and not just push them over the Kerb. The 1.5 m is just a guide line. As long as the driver make a conscious effort to move a little out and not have their side mirror narrowly brushing the cyclist is good enough. in short, you just want right most lane for yourself. even lower CC small car not as demanding as cyclist. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Joseph22 Turbocharged June 11, 2012 Share June 11, 2012 My view is that no single form or motorist own the road. Anyone who pays taxes in any form has the right to use the common road, pavement or traffic junction. Car owners seem to have this idea that roads are built and maintained from the car taxes, road tax and COE they pay. I disagree. If this is the case, people should not be walking across junctions and taking buses or MRT, as these take up road space too. Feel feel to clarify if you understand this better than my layman knowledge. this two you sala liao. Buses company already pay for road tax liao. MRT are not travelling on Car Road. as for walking across junctions, its cater for. so everyone please follow basic instruction to cross only when green. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Seaweed 1st Gear June 11, 2012 Share June 11, 2012 bus load of pple....ha ha ha....this just pop into my mind...bicycle in bus lane will karna orh-gong bo ??? if yes...no number plate nothing...how to send them orh-gong ??? [confused] Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
JackRabbit 3rd Gear June 11, 2012 Share June 11, 2012 beating the red light is just wrong, whether cyclist, motorist or pedestrian. and i agree much more can be done to promote understanding amongst these 3 groups of road users. a lot of time i dunno what i should do to signal/warn a cyclist in front of me that I am behind and he is veering too much. most bicycles don't come with rear/side mirrors, so i think this cuts their situational awareness a lot. so i will just end up slowing down and just LL follow until i get to filter to the 2nd lane. I am not sure if Singapore have this - but I recommend that cyclists wear helmets with rear view mirror so that they can see and anticipate what's behind without having to keep twisting their neck to see the back and risk falling or veering to the side. Of course it's not a 100% solution, but will complement the safety of the rider. http://www.camcycle.org.uk/newsletters/10/article3.html Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Maka Neutral Newbie June 11, 2012 Share June 11, 2012 One more item to the curse list. Cyclist. Total count 2 (TAXI and Cyclist). Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
X3mblack Clutched June 11, 2012 Share June 11, 2012 in short, you just want right most lane for yourself. even lower CC small car not as demanding as cyclist. No, I didn't say motorist should stay off right most lane. I said cyclist want to be treated like they exist. Overtake them not over run them. Read carefully. I said 1.5 m is a guide. As long as you overtake safely, you don't really have to give the 1.5 m. If you are passing them at a safe speed, you don't need to open a 1.5 m gap. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gz0707 4th Gear June 11, 2012 Share June 11, 2012 this two you sala liao. Buses company already pay for road tax liao. MRT are not travelling on Car Road. as for walking across junctions, its cater for. so everyone please follow basic instruction to cross only when green. need to spell clearly for you? the new batch of 800 buses means that you have lesser road space as driver. who pay for buses? taxes and bus fare lah. so bus commuter have as much right to road space as drivers. MRT stations, track pulled don't take up space that could have been converted to roads for your powerful car? sounds like you don't understand what is called public property. like I said, everyone who pay taxes have a right to use the road or pavement, that's why the Stickers lady call it My Grandfather Road. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ender Hypersonic June 11, 2012 Share June 11, 2012 The video shows that all vehicles who use the road should at least passed the highway code. And they should have some form of proficency test and safety test. Balancing and riding fast don't equates to safe riding. It's getting common to see those bicycles, especially the electric bike, riding like a motorcycles, e.g. riding on extreme right lane, and all they have for head protection is just the bicycle helmet, and with no highway code cert. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...