Ditiang Neutral Newbie June 11, 2012 Share June 11, 2012 I like your driving style :) It's always good to signal to let other's know about your intention. Respect other driver and they will respect you. Signal is a good practice, better then not signaling. I have in many case I signal but nobody wants to give way. After signaling, 1st car don't give way. After it passes me, I about to change lane, 2nd car speed up don't give way also. Never mind, after 2nd car passes me, a taxi came very near not allowing me to change lane. Slow down let the taxi passes me then finally can change lane. (all the way signal light is on) No choice, cannot get angry. Angry also no use, at most use up 10-20sec. Better then kana accident and get hold up the whole day and get moody. But I still believe in signaling our intention when turning or change lane. Traffic will be much smoother when we give way to others. Slow down a bit, let him pass. He happy say thank you, you also happy as he respected you by waving at you. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
questionedfish Clutched June 11, 2012 Share June 11, 2012 If failure to signal and causes hazard to other people, then yes, it should be an offence under reckless driving. But, in sg context, signalling is to signal other people your intention. Whether people decide to let you in, is another matter. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Joseph22 Turbocharged June 11, 2012 Share June 11, 2012 On 6/11/2012 at 3:55 AM, StefanK said: No. 1 - "Habit" I consperm prus chop that I signal on busy road, especially with bikers tail behind me and I want to change lane. I signal to tell them that I want to change lane and they either speed up or slow down. Usually they speed up . But on empty roads, usually late nights, I signal once or twice i feel pai seh liao then I stop until got vehicles around. no car or rather ppl around who is there for you to feel paiseh? you mean got huantu?? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Micarforum 1st Gear June 11, 2012 Author Share June 11, 2012 On 6/11/2012 at 3:46 AM, So_nice said: This morning juz kanna from one black avante. Lower delta got 3 lanes turning right into jln bukit merah. 2 right turn only, 1 for straight/right turn. I was on the latter and this bugger sudden came to a stop when the lights are green for the straight while red arrow for turning right. And best of all no signal all the while! Who the fark noes where u are going? Wake up ur idea idiot! horn him/her all the way man... shame him/her if nothing at all, or just piss them off. else, can report traffic violation? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Micarforum 1st Gear June 11, 2012 Author Share June 11, 2012 On 6/11/2012 at 7:50 AM, Joseph22 said: no car or rather ppl around who is there for you to feel paiseh? you mean got huantu?? sometimes signalling becomes a habit, until driving around in carpark, i also signal, then realised abit redundant and switch it off. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sk65 1st Gear June 11, 2012 Share June 11, 2012 one thing i hate most is people chaging lane during a turn. as if it is not confusing enuf for people stick in their own turning lane. some best, turn right, give left signal because they wanna eat leftwards from lane 2 to lane 3 during the green arror turn at a usual cross junction. always siam these car far far Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sk65 1st Gear June 11, 2012 Share June 11, 2012 On 6/11/2012 at 3:46 AM, So_nice said: This morning juz kanna from one black avante. Lower delta got 3 lanes turning right into jln bukit merah. 2 right turn only, 1 for straight/right turn. I was on the latter and this bugger sudden came to a stop when the lights are green for the straight while red arrow for turning right. And best of all no signal all the while! Who the fark noes where u are going? Wake up ur idea idiot! imagine the reverse, the whole line waiting for the green arror to appear lane 2 = go straight + turn right lane 1 = turn right only you are 4th car on lane 2. red lights --> green arrow 1st 2 cars starts turning..... 3rd car stop at stop line.. this is stupid. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Singhao 1st Gear June 11, 2012 Share June 11, 2012 It's not important whether failure to signal is an offence of not. As long as it makes the road safer for everyone, we should still do it. Many accidents happen because someone does the unexpected on the road. On checking blindspots, how many of you install a curtain at the driver side? Some don't even have the blindspot mirror attached. How to check blindspot like that?!?!?! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Micarforum 1st Gear June 11, 2012 Author Share June 11, 2012 On 6/11/2012 at 8:49 AM, Singhao said: It's not important whether failure to signal is an offence of not. As long as it makes the road safer for everyone, we should still do it. Many accidents happen because someone does the unexpected on the road. On checking blindspots, how many of you install a curtain at the driver side? Some don't even have the blindspot mirror attached. How to check blindspot like that?!?!?! yes, we should all do it, but for those who don't do it and cause safety hazard on roads, what can we do about them? Else there will be a vicious cycle where more and more people don't signal, and cause more hazards on roads. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sk65 1st Gear June 11, 2012 Share June 11, 2012 On 6/10/2012 at 9:52 AM, Micarforum said: Are you willing to do what's right? http://driving-in-singapore.spf.gov.sg/ser...t_reporting.htm Or should we report to their taxi company? Will the company take any action? mod should sticky this URL Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ericongy 3rd Gear June 11, 2012 Share June 11, 2012 On 6/11/2012 at 8:49 AM, Singhao said: It's not important whether failure to signal is an offence of not. As long as it makes the road safer for everyone, we should still do it. Many accidents happen because someone does the unexpected on the road. On checking blindspots, how many of you install a curtain at the driver side? Some don't even have the blindspot mirror attached. How to check blindspot like that?!?!?! i remember my instructor teach me to turn my head to check blind spot... make it a habit to turn your head to check blindspot, otherwise one day u lost/damage your blindspot mirror, u become a road hazard... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Beng2 5th Gear June 11, 2012 Share June 11, 2012 I always try to signal at all the time to make it a habit. I am always worried that another vehicle will appear suddenly - at least when I have signalled my intention, hopefully it reduces the possibility of collision. Do some people find it less macho to use the indicators? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yuan 6th Gear June 11, 2012 Share June 11, 2012 On 6/11/2012 at 9:15 AM, Ericongy said: i remember my instructor teach me to turn my head to check blind spot... make it a habit to turn your head to check blindspot, otherwise one day u lost/damage your blindspot mirror, u become a road hazard... I had used blindspot mirrors before and I think it is otherwise better to turn my head than trusting in these mirrors to check the blind spot. More effective or accurate provided no chio bu driver at the blindspot. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Joseph22 Turbocharged June 11, 2012 Share June 11, 2012 On 6/11/2012 at 8:31 AM, Micarforum said: sometimes signalling becomes a habit, until driving around in carpark, i also signal, then realised abit redundant and switch it off. yeah switch off when you realise dont need is better than dont switch on when its needed. habit is a good thing. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
WTF 4th Gear June 11, 2012 Share June 11, 2012 On 6/11/2012 at 3:36 AM, Kenmical said: Hmmm...it seems that there is complacency in your driving habit. Regardless of clear or not still a good habit to signal. U never know what is just around the corner. Where the hell did you see me saying that I do not signal??? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ericongy 3rd Gear June 11, 2012 Share June 11, 2012 On 6/11/2012 at 8:28 AM, Micarforum said: horn him/her all the way man... shame him/her if nothing at all, or just piss them off. else, can report traffic violation? last Saturday around 930pm, on my way to friend's house watch soccer.... along wdls ave 2, one honda stream juz stop in the middle of 2 lanes, i saw it abt 100m away, i slow down and gave it a horn but it move further INTO my lane and den stop AGAIN... so give it a long horn and almost come to a complete stop... NVM... it moves (still abt 30-40% in my lane) and i follow behind slowly, den it suddenly jam brake in a clear traffic, i buay tahan, wind down my window, overtake it and give HER a middle finger but she still so oblivious to her surrounding.....knn She is also endangering me life and committing traffic offenses, so should i write in to TP also? i dun think so.... i am of the view that we will, in our daily driving, commit some kind of traffic offense (some intentional, some unintentional), but tats part and parcel of driving wad... i would rather practice defensive driving while i am behind the wheel rather den look out for other traffic offenders... i believe in karma, if i everyday write in to TP to report traffic offender and let them kana summon, i am sure one day i will kana too... and the worst part, we probably dun even know (or recall) the mistake/offense we had committed and thus, we cannot "learn the lesson" at the end of the day, we profit from such actions? you? or me? or..... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fcw75 Hypersonic June 11, 2012 Share June 11, 2012 You made a good point. Everyone makes mistake. Those who want to report every single offence they have on their car cam, better make sure you NEVER ever make a single traffic offence in your lifetime. Else you will kenna the same thing from someone who has the same thinking as you. What goes around come around. Live and let live sometimes. I have a few traffic offence by other vehicles in my car cam I also never bother to send to TP. In the end, where does the money goes to? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nzy Twincharged June 11, 2012 Share June 11, 2012 On 6/11/2012 at 10:25 AM, Fcw75 said: You made a good point. Everyone makes mistake. Those who want to report every single offence they have on their car cam, better make sure you NEVER ever make a single traffic offence in your lifetime. Else you will kenna the same thing from someone who has the same thinking as you. What goes around come around. Live and let live sometimes. I have a few traffic offence by other vehicles in my car cam I also never bother to send to TP. In the end, where does the money goes to? The money goes to sending more TP out to issue summons or more speed cameras. lol. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...