Yuan 6th Gear June 10, 2012 Share June 10, 2012 some say signal in a busy road. stupid move, i say. a few days ago tried to be a polite road user by signalling intention to move into center lane from right. moment my signal comes on, car on the center closed the gap. nvm, tot after that 1st car than cut in. sec car behind the 1st tailgated the 1st one and blocked me off. no prob, wait for 2nd car to pass lo. knn 3rd car WOT (can hear the engine at least 6k rpm type)when he saw me trying to cut in (there's still enough space for me to cut it) tailgated almost ramming into the sec car dat passed. i promised myself next time I'll juz cut in w/o signalling. makes me look like an idiot getting cut off not once but thrice in a row. wtf. those who preach to hv road courtesy can carry on. fark dat. Be patient and wait la. Not an idiot (cos you are my friend) but at least you won't stoop so low like these drivers. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
20G 1st Gear June 10, 2012 Share June 10, 2012 are you living in singapore? of coz i toking abt sg. juz ur luck to bump into lousy taxi drivers. but that doesnt mean other road users will bump into them as well. btw, only taxi drivers can qualify as lousy road users? ive seen more cb ones in bmw, merc, vw, honda blah blah blah. give the cabbies a break la. they hv family to feed too. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
20G 1st Gear June 10, 2012 Share June 10, 2012 Be patient and wait la. Not an idiot (cos you are my friend) but at least you won't stoop so low like these drivers. sorry la.. maybe u misunderstood my msg as in a harsh way.. *muack* but then signalling even damn time wif or w/o cars ard makes u look dumb. hee hee sometimes the farking car beside u cuts u off intentionally( though he dun owe u anything) is super irritating. most of them are balls-less too. the last car that rev up to block me off was one big ah kua. i manage to stop beside him and stare but he only dared look str. got guts to chut stunt no guts to make eye contact. having said all, i will still give way to ppl coming into my lane wif or w/o signal. but dun think I'll signal to change lanes. waste effort. lol Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mockngbrd Supersonic June 10, 2012 Share June 10, 2012 If they want to the TP can stop you and book you for inconsiderate driving Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tom_kkh 1st Gear June 10, 2012 Share June 10, 2012 Yes, it's an offence as per Traffic rules and if accident involvement & justified, the charges is even heavier !! i hope they enforce it harder. hate those cars who want to turn into car parks but never signal. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Good-Carbuyer 1st Gear June 10, 2012 Share June 10, 2012 Be prepared that they are not going to signal or they speed up and close the gap. +1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Good-Carbuyer 1st Gear June 10, 2012 Share June 10, 2012 Not too long ago, I read some postings in this forum that there are drivers who do not signal because they are skillful drivers and they do not see the need to signal to switch lanes or make the turning. I disagree. We do not need skilful drivers (to a certain extent) but we need safe and sane drivers these days. I believe that to be alibi for not knowing where were the trafficator switches instead Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Good-Carbuyer 1st Gear June 10, 2012 Share June 10, 2012 Yes, it's an offence as per Traffic rules and if accident involvement & justified, the charges is even heavier !! I believe all decent drivers should practise proper signalling for road safety. Not that no one caught us yet. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Good-Carbuyer 1st Gear June 10, 2012 Share June 10, 2012 those who dont signal in empty road likely wont signal in road that is heavy traffic too be cause its not their habbit. + not competent enough to do so with the lack of practice Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Good-Carbuyer 1st Gear June 10, 2012 Share June 10, 2012 you are wrong. those who do not signal when it's a empty road may signal in busy road. Afterall, signal in an empty road for who to see?? But in heavy traffic, better signal, who knows, there could be vehicles or motorbikes or cyclists in blind spots and good luck to them! Afterall, hands up, who will check one's blind spots everytime they do a lane change? Hence, signalling one's intention can warn those in the blind spots to react and so, it's a must for safety concerns. But I am afraid driving here in SG is stressful and irritating most of the time with ppl not signalling and cutting in other people's lane as if others are not there! Dun you guys think so? I mean, what's so difficult in flicking the signal indicator? People never think it could save not only their lives but others as well, especially those in the blind spots. Instead of asking TP to punish those who dun signal, why not introduce a rewards system like class 95 decal give away where they spot randomly drivers with class 95 decal and give rewards? Similarly, the authorities can be on the road and if they spot courteous driving such as vehicle signalling, they can take down the vehicle plate number and give him or her some incentives such as petrol vouchers, rebates, shopping vouchers, cash rewards etc..... This, I think might work. What do u guys think? You may have heard of practice makes perfect. Practice signalling regularly for road safety. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Good-Carbuyer 1st Gear June 10, 2012 Share June 10, 2012 I get great satisfaction by driving according to the Highway Code. Everyone should try it. +1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Good-Carbuyer 1st Gear June 10, 2012 Share June 10, 2012 i hope they enforce it harder. hate those cars who want to turn into car parks but never signal. + some displayed mis-leading signals Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jim 1st Gear June 10, 2012 Share June 10, 2012 For those who signal, please do so only meaningfully and decisively, ie check the lane is clear FIRST, then signal just before you move, and switch off the signal if you decide to let the car pass or completed lane changing. And please accelerate, especially if you are moving rightwards. If you want to save petrol, dont switch lanes. Dont switch to lane 2 if you think 70km/h is fast and furious. If you keep doing so, you are conditioning drivers to accelerate instead of waiting when they see signal lights. That said, please do signal even if you think the road is clear. I lost count the number of times motorcyclists managed to spring a "SURPRISE!!!! BETCHA DIDNT SEE ME!" on me, like speeding, no headlight at night, hiding in blind spots or springing out from stationary or pedestrian footpaths... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ericongy 3rd Gear June 10, 2012 Share June 10, 2012 izit an offence to speed to prevent the car from changing into ur lane after the car signal his intention to change into ur lane? Coz this is pretty common in sg. Alot of ppl do tat... coz signal doesn't give u the right of way....ermm it make sense to me.... think i will speed up next time... haha Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Speedsun Clutched June 10, 2012 Share June 10, 2012 For those who signal, please do so only meaningfully and decisively, ie check the lane is clear FIRST, then signal just before you move, and switch off the signal if you decide to let the car pass or completed lane changing. And please accelerate, especially if you are moving rightwards. If you want to save petrol, dont switch lanes. Dont switch to lane 2 if you think 70km/h is fast and furious. If you keep doing so, you are conditioning drivers to accelerate instead of waiting when they see signal lights. That said, please do signal even if you think the road is clear. I lost count the number of times motorcyclists managed to spring a "SURPRISE!!!! BETCHA DIDNT SEE ME!" on me, like speeding, no headlight at night, hiding in blind spots or springing out from stationary or pedestrian footpaths... +1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Soya Supersonic June 10, 2012 Share June 10, 2012 izit an offence to speed to prevent the car from changing into ur lane after the car signal his intention to change into ur lane? Coz this is pretty common in sg. Alot of ppl do tat... coz signal doesn't give u the right of way....ermm it make sense to me.... think i will speed up next time... haha Alot of ppl these drivers are morons. Assuming these morons would oso need to change at some point in their driving life, juz remember this phrase: DO ONTO OTHERS AS YOU WOULD HAVE THEM DO TO YOU. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Speedsun Clutched June 10, 2012 Share June 10, 2012 izit an offence to speed to prevent the car from changing into ur lane after the car signal his intention to change into ur lane? Coz this is pretty common in sg. Alot of ppl do tat... coz signal doesn't give u the right of way....ermm it make sense to me.... think i will speed up next time... haha Quite a number of sg drivers like to go to other lanes once they are stuck at their lane just for a few seconds (not change lane because of accident) thus causing the other lane vehicles to slow down. Obviously, the other lane drivers would not want to give way unnecessarily to those impatient drivers even they put on signal. Who to blame? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Patronic Neutral Newbie June 10, 2012 Share June 10, 2012 (edited) by signalling, u r inviting the car at ur back to fill up the gap beside u quickly especially the sonata taxi drivers... I can only comment if that's your experience everytime u wanna change lane, your skills CMI... Edited June 10, 2012 by Patronic ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...