Yuan 6th Gear June 9, 2012 Share June 9, 2012 On 6/9/2012 at 11:17 AM, Kelvingoh45 said: I will encourage all driver to signal their intention. It will be so much safer and smoother on the road. For example,if car A wants to exit from a carpak and car B want s to turn. If car B show his intention car A will be able to react and move out from the carpark faster. Ppl who do not want to signal while changing lanes always think and scare that the car from the back will Acclerate to denied you from changing lane. I think is totally untrue. Ppl do give way. And iinfact most of them will. Those that are scare are just kissing and narrow heart. Not too long ago, I read some postings in this forum that there are drivers who do not signal because they are skillful drivers and they do not see the need to signal to switch lanes or make the turning. I disagree. We do not need skilful drivers (to a certain extent) but we need safe and sane drivers these days. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Trafficwatch Clutched June 9, 2012 Share June 9, 2012 Yes, it's an offence as per Traffic rules and if accident involvement & justified, the charges is even heavier !! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
I-LOVE-CARS 1st Gear June 9, 2012 Share June 9, 2012 On 6/9/2012 at 10:49 AM, Micarforum said: Is it a traffic offence if the cars fail to signal before changing lane and cause a hazard to other road users? I noticed it's getting more rampant and it's a vicious cycle. If we have videos of such acts, who can we report to? I don know about Singapore (Although i usually signal, there are times where i lazy and do not>, but according to the Texas Department of Public Safety pursuant to statutory authority. The violations listed aresubject to assessment of points under the Driver Responsibility Program contained inSubchapter B, Chapter 708, Texas Transportation Code. Fail to signal for stop Fail to signal required distance before turning Fail to signal turn Fail to signal with turn indicator All fours are considered Moving Violations Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Joseph22 Turbocharged June 9, 2012 Share June 9, 2012 On 6/9/2012 at 11:04 AM, Micarforum said: Yup, if the road is empty, i dun give a damn if the driver signal. But I am referring to drivers who did not signal in a moderately heavy traffic road, where they are zipping in and out of lanes with no regards to the safety of other cars, especially when the cars behind are very close to them. those who dont signal in empty road likely wont signal in road that is heavy traffic too be cause its not their habbit. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Redboy 1st Gear June 9, 2012 Share June 9, 2012 On 6/9/2012 at 3:39 PM, Joseph22 said: those who dont signal in empty road likely wont signal in road that is heavy traffic too be cause its not their habbit. you are wrong. those who do not signal when it's a empty road may signal in busy road. Afterall, signal in an empty road for who to see?? But in heavy traffic, better signal, who knows, there could be vehicles or motorbikes or cyclists in blind spots and good luck to them! Afterall, hands up, who will check one's blind spots everytime they do a lane change? Hence, signalling one's intention can warn those in the blind spots to react and so, it's a must for safety concerns. But I am afraid driving here in SG is stressful and irritating most of the time with ppl not signalling and cutting in other people's lane as if others are not there! Dun you guys think so? I mean, what's so difficult in flicking the signal indicator? People never think it could save not only their lives but others as well, especially those in the blind spots. Instead of asking TP to punish those who dun signal, why not introduce a rewards system like class 95 decal give away where they spot randomly drivers with class 95 decal and give rewards? Similarly, the authorities can be on the road and if they spot courteous driving such as vehicle signalling, they can take down the vehicle plate number and give him or her some incentives such as petrol vouchers, rebates, shopping vouchers, cash rewards etc..... This, I think might work. What do u guys think? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Arixlim Clutched June 9, 2012 Share June 9, 2012 (edited) good luck, its not easy to get caught, but i have been caught so many times, until....haha my DIPS is NOW cleaned already for 1 year...last time wah..until traffic junction also have to think so long, so its really up my neck...... another 6 pts means ka put....no need thinking...i follow law...unless i have to bend..cos instructers say some road conditions have F -U- C- K- E-R =S..so u need to be flexible...and also i see front and back plus sky cams.....before i do something... Edited June 9, 2012 by Arixlim Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
20G 1st Gear June 9, 2012 Share June 9, 2012 some say signal in a busy road. stupid move, i say. a few days ago tried to be a polite road user by signalling intention to move into center lane from right. moment my signal comes on, car on the center closed the gap. nvm, tot after that 1st car than cut in. sec car behind the 1st tailgated the 1st one and blocked me off. no prob, wait for 2nd car to pass lo. knn 3rd car WOT (can hear the engine at least 6k rpm type)when he saw me trying to cut in (there's still enough space for me to cut it) tailgated almost ramming into the sec car dat passed. i promised myself next time I'll juz cut in w/o signalling. makes me look like an idiot getting cut off not once but thrice in a row. wtf. those who preach to hv road courtesy can carry on. fark dat. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sabian Turbocharged June 9, 2012 Share June 9, 2012 On 6/9/2012 at 3:39 PM, Joseph22 said: those who dont signal in empty road likely wont signal in road that is heavy traffic too be cause its not their habbit. J22 logic. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Micarforum 1st Gear June 9, 2012 Author Share June 9, 2012 On 6/9/2012 at 4:23 PM, 20G said: some say signal in a busy road. stupid move, i say. a few days ago tried to be a polite road user by signalling intention to move into center lane from right. moment my signal comes on, car on the center closed the gap. nvm, tot after that 1st car than cut in. sec car behind the 1st tailgated the 1st one and blocked me off. no prob, wait for 2nd car to pass lo. knn 3rd car WOT (can hear the engine at least 6k rpm type)when he saw me trying to cut in (there's still enough space for me to cut it) tailgated almost ramming into the sec car dat passed. i promised myself next time I'll juz cut in w/o signalling. makes me look like an idiot getting cut off not once but thrice in a row. wtf. those who preach to hv road courtesy can carry on. fark dat. a vicious cycle has begun... haiz... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
20G 1st Gear June 9, 2012 Share June 9, 2012 On 6/9/2012 at 4:41 PM, Micarforum said: a vicious cycle has begun... haiz... well, it juz doesnt pay to be nice sometimes. u get step all over. esp driving in sg. lol Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Micarforum 1st Gear June 9, 2012 Author Share June 9, 2012 we still have a long way to go in terms of graciousness on the roads. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Good-Carbuyer 1st Gear June 9, 2012 Share June 9, 2012 On 6/9/2012 at 3:15 PM, Yuan said: When on the roads, I am mentally prepared for drivers who do not signal their intentions and I will anticipate their movements and avoid them beforehand. But I will always signal mine even when entering my MSCP during the wee hours of the night. It is an issue of attitude and lifestyle or driving style. Can share with us how you mentally prepared for such drivers? I do avoid being caught in such situation with pre-emp actions Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cba6p 1st Gear June 10, 2012 Share June 10, 2012 by signalling, u r inviting the car at ur back to fill up the gap beside u quickly especially the sonata taxi drivers... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
20G 1st Gear June 10, 2012 Share June 10, 2012 On 6/10/2012 at 12:32 AM, Cba6p said: by signalling, u r inviting the car at ur back to fill up the gap beside u quickly especially the sonata taxi drivers... actually, taxi drivers are more gracious than than other road users i've encountered. but i've to agree that many cars tend to fill up the gap once u started signalling. why har? got prize take for the cars infront har? lol Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
20G 1st Gear June 10, 2012 Share June 10, 2012 On 6/9/2012 at 3:15 PM, Yuan said: When on the roads, I am mentally prepared for drivers who do not signal their intentions and I will anticipate their movements and avoid them beforehand. But I will always signal mine even when entering my MSCP during the wee hours of the night. It is an issue of attitude and lifestyle or driving style. wat kind of attitude and lifestyle? got signal means good attitude and lifestyle, or no signal means bad attitude and lifestyle? tiew... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lanevomax 1st Gear June 10, 2012 Share June 10, 2012 On 6/10/2012 at 12:51 AM, 20G said: actually, taxi drivers are more gracious than than other road users i've encountered. but i've to agree that many cars tend to fill up the gap once u started signalling. why har? got prize take for the cars infront har? lol are you living in singapore? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yuan 6th Gear June 10, 2012 Share June 10, 2012 On 6/10/2012 at 12:56 AM, 20G said: wat kind of attitude and lifestyle? got signal means good attitude and lifestyle, or no signal means bad attitude and lifestyle? tiew... Hello....sim cheng bo ho don't come tekan me leh...... Be patient when driving...... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yuan 6th Gear June 10, 2012 Share June 10, 2012 On 6/9/2012 at 10:20 PM, Good-Carbuyer said: Can share with us how you mentally prepared for such drivers? I do avoid being caught in such situation with pre-emp actions Be prepared that they are not going to signal or they speed up and close the gap. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...