Micarforum 1st Gear June 10, 2012 Author Share June 10, 2012 eh... so bottomline, if we catch drivers who don't signal when changing lanes and cause a road hazard, can we report? what will they kena? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bluemice 2nd Gear June 10, 2012 Share June 10, 2012 (edited) eh... so bottomline, if we catch drivers who don't signal when changing lanes and cause a road hazard, can we report? what will they kena? like this ? not to mention he didnt check his right side as well... mice Edited June 10, 2012 by Bluemice Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Joseph22 Turbocharged June 10, 2012 Share June 10, 2012 (edited) you are wrong. those who do not signal when it's a empty road may signal in busy road. Afterall, signal in an empty road for who to see?? But in heavy traffic, better signal, who knows, there could be vehicles or motorbikes or cyclists in blind spots and good luck to them! Afterall, hands up, who will check one's blind spots everytime they do a lane change? Hence, signalling one's intention can warn those in the blind spots to react and so, it's a must for safety concerns. But I am afraid driving here in SG is stressful and irritating most of the time with ppl not signalling and cutting in other people's lane as if others are not there! Dun you guys think so? I mean, what's so difficult in flicking the signal indicator? People never think it could save not only their lives but others as well, especially those in the blind spots. Instead of asking TP to punish those who dun signal, why not introduce a rewards system like class 95 decal give away where they spot randomly drivers with class 95 decal and give rewards? Similarly, the authorities can be on the road and if they spot courteous driving such as vehicle signalling, they can take down the vehicle plate number and give him or her some incentives such as petrol vouchers, rebates, shopping vouchers, cash rewards etc..... This, I think might work. What do u guys think? you sure?? i had lots of friend who claimed they only signal on busy road but they never signal. remember safety behavior is about habbit. those who think, they dont signal when no one around are the likely the same batch who dont signal when they are in busy road. Edited June 10, 2012 by Joseph22 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Joseph22 Turbocharged June 10, 2012 Share June 10, 2012 J22 logic. its basic human behaviour. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Joseph22 Turbocharged June 10, 2012 Share June 10, 2012 + not competent enough to do so with the lack of practice maybe they cannot multi-task. i remember when i first start learn driving, i was wondering how to remember to signal and look. until my instructor tell me. drill it into your mind, rather make it a habit and you dont have to worry already. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Good-Carbuyer 1st Gear June 10, 2012 Share June 10, 2012 maybe they cannot multi-task. i remember when i first start learn driving, i was wondering how to remember to signal and look. until my instructor tell me. drill it into your mind, rather make it a habit and you dont have to worry already. +1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Micarforum 1st Gear June 10, 2012 Author Share June 10, 2012 like this ? not to mention he didnt check his right side as well... mice Are you willing to do what's right? http://driving-in-singapore.spf.gov.sg/ser...t_reporting.htm Or should we report to their taxi company? Will the company take any action? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yuan 6th Gear June 10, 2012 Share June 10, 2012 sorry la.. maybe u misunderstood my msg as in a harsh way.. *muack* but then signalling even damn time wif or w/o cars ard makes u look dumb. hee hee sometimes the farking car beside u cuts u off intentionally( though he dun owe u anything) is super irritating. most of them are balls-less too. the last car that rev up to block me off was one big ah kua. i manage to stop beside him and stare but he only dared look str. got guts to chut stunt no guts to make eye contact. having said all, i will still give way to ppl coming into my lane wif or w/o signal. but dun think I'll signal to change lanes. waste effort. lol Just joking with you. Take it easy bro. We meet for kopi to reduce your heat and make your day. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
MBS350L Neutral Newbie June 10, 2012 Share June 10, 2012 Am sure this bad habit is an offence BUT to enforce it will be a huge commitment to the relevent authority. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Micarforum 1st Gear June 10, 2012 Author Share June 10, 2012 Am sure this bad habit is an offence BUT to enforce it will be a huge commitment to the relevent authority. that's why we have to play our part to report such offences with our in-car video recorder's capture. but i am not sure if TP will pick up such reports... anyone tried it b4? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cba6p 1st Gear June 11, 2012 Share June 11, 2012 I can only comment if that's your experience everytime u wanna change lane, your skills CMI... I would like to ask you the same question someone just asked. Are you living in SG? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kenmical Clutched June 11, 2012 Share June 11, 2012 Hmmm...it seems that there is complacency in your driving habit. Regardless of clear or not still a good habit to signal. U never know what is just around the corner. If to follow the traffic law strictly, then many of the day-to-day driving habits of motorists here risked getting summon. From dropping people off along double-zigzag yellow lines to not coming to a full stop at the stop-line, it'll be hands full for LTA and TP. If it doesn't cause any danger or harm in one way or another, I'll just let it go maybe with a short curse of the driver within my cabin. Driving should be relaxing and fun, not stressful and agitating. Just my 2 cents worth..... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kenmical Clutched June 11, 2012 Share June 11, 2012 Personally I don't car what or how others behave when I signal my intention to filter or turn. As signalling don't cost be a dime I will still signal until I finish what I intend to do. The driver can speed up and not give way but I am sure there is one that will. It is other driver's prerogative to give way or not. We are too stressed up driving on this small land hence all sorts of funny behaviour comes into play. I don't have such issue in KL or central BKK where generally ppl are more relaxed and calm when driving. What can they do except to just wait right? I am no saint too. I will give way whenever I can (like in a jam or I m cruising slowly) but if I am doing 100kmh don't expect me to slow to a halt and give way. The right of way comes into play and they are all recorded. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
So_nice 6th Gear June 11, 2012 Share June 11, 2012 This morning juz kanna from one black avante. Lower delta got 3 lanes turning right into jln bukit merah. 2 right turn only, 1 for straight/right turn. I was on the latter and this bugger sudden came to a stop when the lights are green for the straight while red arrow for turning right. And best of all no signal all the while! Who the fark noes where u are going? Wake up ur idea idiot! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
StefanK Supercharged June 11, 2012 Share June 11, 2012 If to follow the traffic law strictly, then many of the day-to-day driving habits of motorists here risked getting summon. From dropping people off along double-zigzag yellow lines to not coming to a full stop at the stop-line, it'll be hands full for LTA and TP. If it doesn't cause any danger or harm in one way or another, I'll just let it go maybe with a short curse of the driver within my cabin. Driving should be relaxing and fun, not stressful and agitating. Just my 2 cents worth..... In fact everyday, I see more people signalling, but they signal only when their front right wheel or front left wheel is in the lane already. Signalling time: 1.5secs. Car distance from the car behind: 1 car distance. I don't mind the driver not signalling, if only they give me ample time to react. Anyway, I realised most drivers don't signal is because they like to drive with one hand and the idle hand is always the one on the signalling side. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
StefanK Supercharged June 11, 2012 Share June 11, 2012 you sure?? i had lots of friend who claimed they only signal on busy road but they never signal. remember safety behavior is about habbit. those who think, they dont signal when no one around are the likely the same batch who dont signal when they are in busy road. No. 1 - "Habit" I consperm prus chop that I signal on busy road, especially with bikers tail behind me and I want to change lane. I signal to tell them that I want to change lane and they either speed up or slow down. Usually they speed up . But on empty roads, usually late nights, I signal once or twice i feel pai seh liao then I stop until got vehicles around. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chrispie 5th Gear June 11, 2012 Share June 11, 2012 took a taxi some time back. I asked him how come many taxi drivers wont signal when changing lane. He said, when we signal, cars behind speed up and dont let them join into the lane.. so signal for what? I dont signal, he has no time to react and speed up, so can successfully change lanes... So really leh.. takes 2 hands to clap. personally, i simply hate it when ppl dont signal and cut in, regardless if traffic is heavy or not. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
SGCMmaomao 6th Gear June 11, 2012 Share June 11, 2012 I will encourage all driver to signal their intention. It will be so much safer and smoother on the road. For example,if car A wants to exit from a carpak and car B want s to turn. If car B show his intention car A will be able to react and move out from the carpark faster. Ppl who do not want to signal while changing lanes always think and scare that the car from the back will Acclerate to denied you from changing lane. I think is totally untrue. Ppl do give way. And iinfact most of them will. Those that are scare are just kissing and narrow heart. once my cousin told me that she was in a cab chatting wit e cab driver.. then he change lane wo signal then my cousin question him y, then he replied "I have been driving for twenty over years, never signal at all" I was like KNNBCCB! if my cousin got take down his no plate, ill complain to the cab company be it he cause danger or not.. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...