Lorry driver jailed-causing pedestrian's death- Who's fault?

Tigershark1976

Came across this news from google and wanted to take this oportunity to educate my kids.... but ended up as a minor flame war in my family [;)][;)]

My daughter asked me that why is the lorry driver penalised when he follow the traffic rules (drive off after green light)? Its very obvious th its the pedestrian fault since she was so far away from the pedestrian crossing...

My wife explained to her that the driver should keep a look out of the pedestrian when driving.... I do not agree with my wife and told her that the pedestrian should not assume that all drivers could see them cause there are many other things that the driver need to pay attention with, afterall, its the pedestrian own safety and if they dont care, who else would?? ... My wife buay song after hearing what i said and the argument started,.....

________________________________________________________________________________

http://news.asiaone.com/News/AsiaOne%2BNew...608-351433.html

A lorry driver has been jailed for one week and banned from driving for three years for causing the death of a pedestrian, reported The Straits Times.

Muhammad Jufri Sukaimi, 38, came to a stop at the junction of Orchard Road and Grange Road when the traffic light signal was red in March 2011.

He made a right turn when the lights turned green and ended up hitting Madam Han Ai Lian, 61, who was crossing about six metres away from the pedestrian crossing line.

The Straits Times reported that she died two days later from bleeding due to blunt force injury to the pelvis and left lower limb.

Madam Han was on her way to work as a cleaner at Cathay Cineleisure Orchard.

Muhammad Jufri pleaded guilty to the accident.

He could have been jailed for up to two years and/or fined for the offence.

So who do you think is wrong??

Edited by Tigershark1976

Drivers should always look out for pedestrians. This was taught during the theory lessons as well. Even if you got the right of way you still need to be alert and watch out for pedestrians.

Both are wrong IMO. Heard someone saying something which I think is quite true. A driver is controlling something that is dangerous in the wrong hands and can kill. Thats why they have a larger responsibility.

Edited by Nzy

As long you operate a machine that potentially can kill, you should do you part with due diligent that no one get hurts. Even if they are not aware of your machine is nearby. That is just my view.

Drivers always wrong cos their vehicles can kill. Pedestrians cannot kill anyone by crossing the road. -_-

Came across this news from google and wanted to take this oportunity to educate my kids.... but ended up as a minor flame war in my family [;)][;)]

yes, drivers should be alert at all times, but most of the time pedestrians are hvng mentality:

dare u come & knock Lim-peh ? [knife]

Drivers always wrong cos their vehicles can kill. Pedestrians cannot kill anyone by crossing the road. -_-

actually, u r wrong.... the news above shows that the pedestrian just killed someone..... herself.

Drivers should always look out for pedestrians. This was taught during the theory lessons as well. Even if you got the right of way you still need to be alert and watch out for pedestrians.

Both are wrong IMO. Heard someone saying something which I think is quite true. A driver is controlling something that is dangerous in the wrong hands and can kill. Thats why they have a larger responsibility.

yup, I still remember that.... but because of that, many pedestrian develop the kind of mentality that the car will give way but the fact is, there could be many factor distracting the drivers at that moment cand caused the tragedy....

I believe many of us had experience where some pedestrian attitude is damn bad... when they jau walk, and saw the car approaching. They can still ignore and some of them even give you the kind of "hit me if you dare" kind of look.

I think the gov should put a heavier penalty for those jaywalker so that they could wake up their mind...

Agree with this.

Pedestrians will always come off worse so it's stupid to think like a lot of pedestrians do.

So many with stereo or phone in their ears just unaware of traffic.

yeah but sad to say, the lorry driver pay a very heavy price for this accident...

Some may think. aiyo, the most 1 to 2 weeks jail plus license kena void, its nothing compare to a person life.... but we are talking about the ricebowl of a middle age man.... he lost his license, means no more work as a driver, plus jail terms means its harder for him to find another job... Hope the driver is not the single source of income of the family and doesnt have any kids to support, otherwise, they will be the one who will suffer the most...

actually, u r wrong.... the news above shows that the pedestrian just killed someone..... herself.

That's call suicide lah -_-

yup, I still remember that.... but because of that, many pedestrian develop the kind of mentality that the car will give way but the fact is, there could be many factor distracting the drivers at that moment cand caused the tragedy....

I believe many of us had experience where some pedestrian attitude is damn bad... when they jau walk, and saw the car approaching. They can still ignore and some of them even give you the kind of "hit me if you dare" kind of look.

I think the gov should put a heavier penalty for those jaywalker so that they could wake up their mind...

This is agree!

Usually meet this kind of pedestrian I'll stop and talk to them if I have the time. Usually these kind of incidents where the pedestrians just walk without checking is in the carparks. They know the speed of the cars are slow so they think that all drivers sure stop for them.

Usually at traffic lights and pedestrian crossings, I would always want to be doubly sure that pedestrians are not crossing even if the red man is lighted up and I have the right of way.. I agree that as drivers we have a larger responsibility even though alot of pedestrians are nonchalant about the fact that their actions might cause them their lifes.. I just think any accident that happens at the traffic lights be it whether if u have the right of way, u are partly liable..

My friend knocked down an old man crossing near the shell station before redhill mrt.. It is a no cross zone as there is an overhead bridge there.. It was early dawn, not so good visibility.. I dunno though how he could have knocked someone down.. The uncle died in hospital abt 1 mth later.. He was fined and banned from driving for 3 years.. But more importantly the guilt of causing the death of someone stays on with u for life..

In a true safety culture, it is everybody's responsibility.

Since an accident occurred, it was determined driver's fault could be paid for by 1 week jail.

In this case, the victim also paid for her share. By death.

Then ask your daughter - is it better to be driver or victim? She will choose driver, then you say 'better to prevent the accident and be the one talking about it at the dinner table.' :D

In a true safety culture, it is everybody's responsibility.

Since an accident occurred, it was determined driver's fault could be paid for by 1 week jail.

In this case, the victim also paid for her share. By death.

Then ask your daughter - is it better to be driver or victim? She will choose driver, then you say 'better to prevent the accident and be the one talking about it at the dinner table.' :D

hahaha... Great conclution!!!!

Agree. The answer is simple - both were in the wrong.

Agree with this.

Pedestrians will always come off worse so it's stupid to think like a lot of pedestrians do.

So many with stereo or phone in their ears just unaware of traffic.

sff.gifmuch appreciated

-bump-

imo, this is a rare case that is fair, both made mistake, one failed to keep a proper look out, one jaywalked; one pay with his license and freedom, one pay with her own life....