Nothing

Jj5599

truly amazing...a folk like you who specialising in cleaning tables can afford robertson edge condo! The tables u cleaned must be encrusted with diamonds. The table cleaner at the nearby kopitiam can only afford to smoke hand rolled "Butterfly" ciggies, special breed like you can afford to smoke big cuban cigars..... Truly amazing. [:p] [:p] [:p]

thats becos i wipe super clean.....

-_-

hang hang chu chuang yuan = every occupation come out one scholar

Edited by Throttle2

Don't forget the daily rolex carousel to match underwear color.[:p]

wah like that you also know????!!!

how does one have any privacy here??

again plse dont OT hor

Edited by Throttle2

The quarters/units the construction workers living in now are much better than last time in the 90s. I rem going into 1 during the 90s and can't believed they can sleep, eat, cook etc in the small space for so many of them...... :blink:

Is it? good to know the living condition have improve. While I understand a lot of people do not care about this people, we have to recognise that they help us build our infrastructure, without them, we would not have the nice city we have now. It's only fair they have a decent place to live.

Edited by Kiadaw

I was in exact same situation as you! Staying in a >1200 sqft HDB with wify only and already run out of space at home. One of the bedrooms was used as a storage area for her shoes, clothing and other things from her shopping spree.

Recently we are looking around for a new 3 bedder condo but found them too small to accommodate what we had accumulated all these years! [laugh]

current 3 bedder condo are mostly smaller than your HDB.

blo0dy stupid, if you ask me.

There is nothing inhuman about shoebox apartments.

It's just that they are not for whole families to live in.

People can sure buy such units, provided that they can secure the captive lease market that they had envisaged to get tenants from.

But if there are really families who had bought shoebox units to live in, then I feel sad for them - re quality of life ... or the lack of it.

In my case, I had bought a 660 sq ft apartment in Melbourne, for my child to stay, while studying there.

A shoebox unit it is alright, but for just one person to live in.

That is perfectly fine, I think!

Edited by Timbuktu

There is nothing inhuman about shoebox apartments.

It's just that they are not for whole families to live in.

People can sure buy such units, provided that they can secure the captive lease market that they had envisaged to get tenants from.

But if there are really families who had bought shoebox units to live in, then I feel sad for them - re quality of life ... or the lack of it.

In my case, I had bought a 660 sq ft apartment in Melbourne, for my child to stay, while studying there.

A shoebox unit it is alright, but for just one person to live in.

That is perfectly fine, I think!

660sft is not considered shoebox.

it's a studio.

I had a loft studio unit too.

685sft at the edge of Leonie hill and that was really livable for one person.

perhaps the location made it doubly livable

The real "shoebox" of about 400sft is awful even for one person.

The statements are quite irrelevant. Most people who buy shoe boxes dont live in them.

90% for rental. So for buyer quality of life in the shoebox doesnt matter.

Thats for tenant to think..but lot of them only too happy to squeeze in.

1st Gear

First of all, Singapore housing is planned with intentional "artificial scarcity" - Singapore may be a small island, but land is released slowly so we feel even more "compacted" and therefore, more willing to pay for space, ensuring property values are kept steady.

Eg. if the government itchy backside decides to clear the entire Jurong Live Firing area for housing development, the streets will be full of dead bodies of property developers, bankers, property speculators and maybe even bank depositors as the banks go bust due to bad loans... and the collapse in tax collection and land sales will make Singapore government's finances look Greek.

But the government has to release sufficient land to ensure the flood of foreigners have somewhere to stay and ensure rents do not go so high that foreigners find Singapore unlivable at current wages, so the government has to release the Goldilocks amount of land to ensure just enough units are supplied.

Shoebox apartments mess up this delicate balance, introducing uncertainty, so the government has to watch closely.

If shoebox apartments become China-style ghost towns, built for speculation only and impossible to rent out, then when the collapse comes, these units will be the millstone around the neck of the property market and lead the market down as they spark off the chain of margin calls.

Edited by Jim

The statements are quite irrelevant. Most people who buy shoe boxes dont live in them.

90% for rental. So for buyer quality of life in the shoebox doesnt matter.

Thats for tenant to think..but lot of them only too happy to squeeze in.

in fairness - are you able to substantiate your claim? if you told me the number was around 60-70%, i might have agreed with you even though its a stretch. however - i'm really hoping you have some facts to back up such a high number ... also, its actually in the buyer's best interest to ensure he buys a suitable place for tenants (and the prospective ones that follow) ... and *not* something that's niche .. but what do i know? :P

First of all, Singapore housing is planned with intentional "artificial scarcity" - Singapore may be a small island, but land is released slowly so we feel even more "compacted" and therefore, more willing to pay for space, ensuring property values are kept steady.

Eg. if the government itchy backside decides to clear the entire Jurong Live Firing area for housing development, the streets will be full of dead bodies of property developers, bankers, property speculators and maybe even bank depositors as the banks go bust due to bad loans... and the collapse in tax collection and land sales will make Singapore government's finances look Greek.

But the government has to release sufficient land to ensure the flood of foreigners have somewhere to stay and ensure rents do not go so high that foreigners find Singapore unlivable at current wages, so the government has to release the Goldilocks amount of land to ensure just enough units are supplied.

Shoebox apartments mess up this delicate balance, introducing uncertainty, so the government has to watch closely.

If shoebox apartments become China-style ghost towns, built for speculation only and impossible to rent out, then when the collapse comes, these units will be the millstone around the neck of the property market and lead the market down as they spark off the chain of margin calls.

Jim, you hit the nail on the head. we actually do have more than enough land to tank prices to 20 years ago. everytime someone tells my boss singapore is land scares .. he wants to kick them out of the meeting immediately ... i completely agree with what you've said because its the truth. we've been told several times that there isnt enough space, but the truth is that land parcels are indeed being let out at a very slow pace to control prices.

interestingly enough, based on my research over the last year ... go look at some of SG's biggest developers ... and see that a lot of them are either not replenishing land banks, or selling a lot more than buying. my disclaimer however, is that big developers dont know everything and can indeed make mistakes. however, before you argue with me on this point, just research the top 5 developers in SG and see if my research makes sense :) i still am unable to give a concrete answer as to why this is happening, but it is. most of them are teaming on projects to mitigate risk at the moment, so that should give you some insight into current market conditions.

To be honest, I caught up with the rest of the thread only after my last post and I learnt so much from you. Thanks for sharing. Your research is indeed interesting.

quite sad.. that one of the few ppl that have abit of heart for the general public.. is stepping down..

Wonder if he is not ask to extend because of this "inhuman" statement. Afterall, roxy boss owns the company while he is just running the company.

quite sad.. that one of the few ppl that have abit of heart for the general public.. is stepping down..

Wonder if he is not ask to extend because of this "inhuman" statement. Afterall, roxy boss owns the company while he is just running the company.

Interesting, I thought same.

Perhaps when one is stepping down, then the truth come out.

Interesting, I thought same.

Perhaps when one is stepping down, then the truth come out.

i guess.. the board wants to build more shoebox units.. but he is a hinder after his statement.

hee hee.. 400sqft units from captial soon... :P

He's no spring chicken lah. Step down, smoke his cigars and still be directors at many companies also not bad what [:)]

This guy's position at Capitaland should be quite secure. He's been there heading pidemco land and now Capita for almost 26 yrs.

He's no spring chicken lah. Step down, smoke his cigars and still be directors at many companies also not bad what [:)]

This guy's position at Capitaland should be quite secure. He's been there heading pidemco land and now Capita for almost 26 yrs.

secured.. but replaceable..

To stay so securely in your "Prime Minister" seat for so many years, the number of pple in your favour/on your side must be staggering.

To depose him as an incumbent quietly? I think its super difficult even if the higher ups want to.

I believe it's his time and his choosing. Anyway i believe he maybe doing this before a period of low growth/stagnant property market here and in China. He knows when to choose his exit. He's really made his pile of gold coins anyway.