Nothing

Jj5599

actually .. you're quite spot on. i just checked a condo in woodlands .. "casablanca". median rent was exactly $3psf. lowest $2.70, highest $3.10.

precisely, although i not agent, i am quite well researched in property.

at $3.10, a 431 sq ft unit can only fetch $1200, even stretch it high also $1400 only. how to achieve $1800 and that % of yield?

sorry not sure where we are , becos i didnt read the earlier conversation

The smallest unit i ever owned was 680sft in D9.

Could be rented for $6++psf at its peak.

Now I think maybe $5psf?

not sure, sold already, didnt follow

just commenting

sorry not sure where we are , becos i didnt read the earlier conversation

The smallest unit i ever owned was 680sft in D9.

Could be rented for $6++psf at its peak.

Now I think maybe $5psf?

not sure, sold already, didnt follow

just commenting

should be higher. my company already getting $5psf for emerald garden (unfurnished) ... 1200 sqft unit.

This project not yet TOP, when TOP + inflation i don't see an issue hitting that. Plus there's some new major infrastructure to be built, can't recall what exactly now.

aiyoh, you are even factoring in increase in rent into your assumption.

i have seen periods of rent falling as well. rent was flat from 2001 onwards till about 2005. so don't bet your horses that rent is going up not especially with deluge of housing projects in singapore TOP in 2014 - 2016. if rent don't go down, already tau cheo (coutn your blessings) liao, still want to factor in rent increase?

for your information, inflation type of price increase does nto happen to all goods/services universally for rent, many other factors at play. unless you are sitting at the hq of ura and hdb and ica, if not you would not dare to assume an increase.

should be higher. my company already getting $5psf for emerald garden (unfurnished) ... 1200 sqft unit.

yeah, should be higher. $5++psf

emerald garden, i also wanted to buy a unit there but cant find a good one.

a middle of the road kind of development but nice location.

easy to rent

Edited by Throttle2

actually, with the govt singling out shoebox units ... its likely the rentals will be suppressed. higher rents will lead to higher valuations ... which is what nobody wants at the moment (or in the foreseeable future). katong rentals across the board (meaning small or big units - they give the lower and upper range and yes - i actually checked actual figures) are $3.50 - $4.00 (and this is stretching it) psf .. your assumption is that woodlands can get $4.20 psf ... i cant really comment. you really got to find a tenant who loves woodlands i guess.

i'm not trying to single you out or anything, so i hope it doesnt come across that way, but dont make a lot of assumptions ... infrastructure these days dont mean a lot to tenants ..

actually, with the govt singling out shoebox units ... its likely the rentals will be suppressed. higher rents will lead to higher valuations ... which is what nobody wants at the moment (or in the foreseeable future). katong rentals across the board (meaning small or big units - they give the lower and upper range and yes - i actually checked actual figures) are $3.50 - $4.00 (and this is stretching it) psf .. your assumption is that woodlands can get $4.20 psf ... i cant really comment. you really got to find a tenant who loves woodlands i guess.

i'm not trying to single you out or anything, so i hope it doesnt come across that way, but dont make a lot of assumptions ... infrastructure these days dont mean a lot to tenants ..

i agree with you, coming from my personal experience of renting out my unit.

i pull out all stops to get a higher rental and almost didn't succeed if not for some twist of fate. eventually i got $2900 for the rent when most of my neighbours were getting 2700-2800. hard work and luck can get us someone else but it is still only about $100-$200 more. to bridge a $600 gap is impossible. tenants know the market and they are also served by agents. the infrastructure game is overplayed. it is just government's musical chair of developing different areas. over some time, all areas get developed. so while short term one area's project may benefit from infrasture development, over a long period of time, projects in other areas would have caught up.

just wondering if rentals get halved, can you guys take it?

If the yield is ok, then ok. Get a shorter term lease..

ever heard the property agent talk down properties?

ever heard the stockbroker talk down stocks?

ever heard the vegetable seller talk down his greens?

ever heard the programmer talk down his programs?

so there

ever heard developers talk down properties? Yes - competitor's development

agent will sing agent song one lah.

if so good, he and his family would have snapped it up. wait for you meh?

yeah, good deal will be snapped up fast by he and his family. Like nassim jade

I become claustrophobic when i imagine living in one of these.....

not joking.... [:(]

thats why i didnt buy robertson Edge 3 yrs ago

truly amazing...a folk like you who specialising in cleaning tables can afford robertson edge condo! The tables u cleaned must be encrusted with diamonds. The table cleaner at the nearby kopitiam can only afford to smoke hand rolled "Butterfly" ciggies, special breed like you can afford to smoke big cuban cigars..... Truly amazing. [:p] [:p] [:p]

Don't forget the daily rolex carousel to match underwear color.[:p]

Thanks for explaining bro.

These shoebox units definitely not for me thou I have only 2 persons in my household.

My wife is already running out of space for her clothings and shoes with our current >1200 sq ft HDB. [laugh]

I was in exact same situation as you! Staying in a >1200 sqft HDB with wify only and already run out of space at home. One of the bedrooms was used as a storage area for her shoes, clothing and other things from her shopping spree.

Recently we are looking around for a new 3 bedder condo but found them too small to accommodate what we had accumulated all these years! [laugh]

Compare to the accommodations we house FWs for construction workers, shoe box apartment are hardly inhuman, just for some perspective.

4th Gear

Compare to the accommodations we house FWs for construction workers, shoe box apartment are hardly inhuman, just for some perspective.

The quarters/units the construction workers living in now are much better than last time in the 90s. I rem going into 1 during the 90s and can't believed they can sleep, eat, cook etc in the small space for so many of them...... :blink: