2BDriver Hypersonic January 12, 2014 Share January 12, 2014 Perhaps it's a mid-life crisis thing going on. Maybe you may bring him to a psychologist or psychiatrist since medication is not working for him. Or better still take a break from work, family and whatever is bothering him. At age of 50's above, he should refrain from reading his CPF statements to avoid excitement and anxiety reaching 55, he'll sleeps well Now is only January. If really have to wait til Aug to hear the ND message, I dun think he can wait that long. Maybe by then he will turn into a zombie. LoL... I meant the previous years Ah Loong National Day Messages, it really works well for local born Singaporeans except "New Citizen's" ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ladykillerz 4th Gear January 12, 2014 Share January 12, 2014 one method might work for minor insomnia cases, is to keep a distance between you and your mobile phone/tablet while in bed. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Celicar Turbocharged January 12, 2014 Share January 12, 2014 Take the MRT and go for one of those reserved seats, wait for someone who needs the seat to board and stand in front of him. Seems very effective to make those who occupy such seats suddenly go to sleep. Hi, My husband (in his 50s) has serious insomnia for the past 2 months. Seen few GPs and 2 specialists currently. Doc prescribed sleeping pills, benzo and Lexapro (SSRI) which still doesn't work after 4th week. Now, his insomnia is worsened, he can't focus, felt gizzy and get chills easily. Would TCM help as this will take a long time to see results. We are now very desperate and confused as to what treatment to take, as it's affecting his work too and he has been absent from the office frequently. Appreciate all your kind advice pls. Thanks. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Raymondism Twincharged January 12, 2014 Share January 12, 2014 Actually asking on behalf of my auntie. For the past few years, she has not been sleeping properly. Very difficult to fall asleep and will wake up at the slightest noise. Frequent headache. I guess it is due to her lack of sleep. Look for passionflower and chamomile herbal supplements Or drink chamomile teacouple of hours before sleep Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Porker Turbocharged January 12, 2014 Share January 12, 2014 Look for passionflower and chamomile herbal supplements Or drink chamomile teacouple of hours before sleep I know someone who can fall asleep while chanting (hokkien: liam geng) LOL. This guy is the best and should be a sleep consultant. He will fall asleep halfway through a consulting session with his insomniac clients and the clients will be so inspired they will fall asleep too :p Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jtb 6th Gear January 13, 2014 Share January 13, 2014 Hi, My husband (in his 50s) has serious insomnia for the past 2 months. Seen few GPs and 2 specialists currently. Doc prescribed sleeping pills, benzo and Lexapro (SSRI) which still doesn't work after 4th week. Now, his insomnia is worsened, he can't focus, felt gizzy and get chills easily. Would TCM help as this will take a long time to see results. We are now very desperate and confused as to what treatment to take, as it's affecting his work too and he has been absent from the office frequently. Appreciate all your kind advice pls. Thanks. I usually advice people with this problem to start off with brisk walk early in the morning before work, sweat it out for 2 weeks non stop, gradually slow jog all the way. It will helps in a way as most of them said it worked. Try it. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chucky2007 Turbocharged January 13, 2014 Share January 13, 2014 According to TV, just find the 睡晕穴,and use thumb and point down with force.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Celicar Turbocharged January 13, 2014 Share January 13, 2014 I must say that chanting "LOL LOL LOL LOL...." doesn't roll off the tongue naturally. I know someone who can fall asleep while chanting (hokkien: liam geng) LOL. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
jnsm Neutral Newbie January 13, 2014 Share January 13, 2014 this is the worst sickness (insomia) to cure. even after cure, somehow someday it will just appear again. seen many many doctors. TCM and Western. All specialist or highly recommended. You name it, i should have been there before. Even hospitialise to have full body check-up (paid by insurance but didnt mention insomia in the doctor report) it not easy. it is whether the medicine can click with your brain. after 1.5yrs of searching high and low, finally settle down and can have a good sleep. Hi Mcf777, I'm pmed you, anxious to hear about your personal experience, as you have experienced this before. My husband has tried all the remedies eg jogging, chamomile tea, yoga meditation/music etc... but to no avail. The medication from the psychiatrists only confuse him further. Appreciate your sharing pls. Thanks. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gitanic 6th Gear January 13, 2014 Share January 13, 2014 (edited) i take Atarax 20mg. as sleeping pills are addictive. going to try 全能睡轻松....a TCM line...... Edited January 13, 2014 by Gitanic Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vhtfhwlego Supercharged January 13, 2014 Share January 13, 2014 (edited) Try wearing Army no4 uniform. It works for people of all levels. Can sleep anywhere which includes toilets, drains, under tonner. Edited January 13, 2014 by Vhtfhwlego 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Super7 Turbocharged January 13, 2014 Share January 13, 2014 (edited) Take the MRT and go for one of those reserved seats, wait for someone who needs the seat to board and stand in front of him. Seems very effective to make those who occupy such seats suddenly go to sleep. LOL like that if i have sleep problem, does it mean i make my bedroom look like mrt train, my bed like the reserved seat, i sit on it, get my wife to be the "elderly" passenger to stand in front of me?? heheheheee... Try wearing Army no4 uniform. It works for people of all levels. Can sleep anywhere which includes toilets, drains, under tonner. LOL.... spot on!! so can combine two methods into one: use the above MRT reserved seat method plus wear no4 instead of pajamas!! just to make sure it work ----- turn on the tv to watch some boring programmes!! (any suggestion for such programmes?) When I went to school, I always opened my textbook in bed and within 2 mins I was always knocked out. Does your auntie want to borrow my old text books? but my frens all said my old 'text books' as porn...... Take the MRT and go for one of those reserved seats, wait for someone who needs the seat to board and stand in front of him. Seems very effective to make those who occupy such seats suddenly go to sleep. Mr Lui may start sideline business for MRT to beef up revenue for better mainteance work:- special train car filled with reserve seats with standing passengers in front, those with sleeping problem just pay extra train fare to take these seats for a good sleep!! Edited January 13, 2014 by Super7 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mcf777 Turbocharged January 13, 2014 Share January 13, 2014 jnsm, for insomia, there is no fast remedy. The more medicine you take, the more jialat.....i slowly cut down on my medicine Take super long ride bus (east to west) to/fro to fall asleep. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kangadrool Supersonic January 13, 2014 Share January 13, 2014 (edited) one method might work for minor insomnia cases, is to keep a distance between you and your mobile phone/tablet while in bed. Agree on cutting down electronics stuff in the bedroom. If possible, move to a bedroom without toilet. If possible further, remove wardrobes and cabinets in your bedroom (though this is modern day luxury in our congested city). Possible living for those who are not living with parents and no kids / 1 kid in HDB flats. I on the other hand, will fall into sleep very fast when lying down and reading from mobile phones and books. But, the quality of sleep sucks. Will wake up shortly and thereafter facing sleeping problem (insomia). So, in conclusion, insomia is caused by improper resting methods rather than cannot sleep. Edited January 13, 2014 by Kangadrool Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jman888 Moderator January 13, 2014 Share January 13, 2014 i dun really have serious sleeping problem, but i notice stress (keep worrying during day time), habit (playing game, using phone or tablet) or diet (food/beverage) taken before sleep would affect how fast you go to sleep. just have to cut down on all this bad thing and create a relax environment in the bed room (no electronic in the bedroom). Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kb27 Supersonic January 13, 2014 Share January 13, 2014 Try magnesium supplement. It's natural and relaxes the body. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Myxilplix Turbocharged January 13, 2014 Share January 13, 2014 1. Regular exercise 2. Paint bedroom walls a dark colour and use blackout blinds/curtains on the windows 3. Aircon cold cold and nice, thick comforter to burrow under 4. Electronic devices (tablets, laptops, mobile phones) to be kept outside the bedroom, preferably shut down at least 30 minutes before bedtime 5. Any light sources in room should be muted or covered (air-con display panel, bedside clock, etc) 6. 2 fingers of fine single-malt scotch I sleep like a pig and don't even have to resort to all of the above, just No.2 and 3 and sometimes 6 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kklim Supercharged January 13, 2014 Share January 13, 2014 Actually asking on behalf of my auntie. For the past few years, she has not been sleeping properly. Very difficult to fall asleep and will wake up at the slightest noise. Frequent headache. I guess it is due to her lack of sleep. Ask her to have her thyroid checked. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...