Which TCM best in treating Insomnia

Caldina

I used to have insomnia also, but I have found a solution recently which worked very well for me.

The is one point on the elbow, called the "funny bone" where one feels a tingling pain or numbness when accidentally hit. I think it is called "ulnar nerve".

When I massage on the "funny bone" part of the elbow, I would feel relaxed, start to yawn and tears start to fall after each yawn.

I would also extend my arms and then pivot the "funny bone" (on the elbow) on a bolster, that would make my arms tired which would in turn cause me to sleep

It works very well for me, but I don't know if there are any side effects to this approach. Is there an acu point at the mentioned location?

try see if u can stil pcc aft tat. if stil can, shd b A-ok! [laugh]

I am also having the same problem, had not been sleeping well, i will wake up after 1.5-2 hrs+ and then will just stare at the ceiling

I had the same prob too. And always wake up arnd 2 to 4 am.

Qigong solved my prob

Go for a jog or long walk (at least 30mins) at the park, will sleep deeper and wake up feeling fresh. And this method is free. [rolleyes]

Methods I tried when encountering this problem..

1) Drink milk or camomile tea or 'snake powder'..it helps..to me, milk more effective..

2) Have an early and small portion dinner if possible..cos takes time for food to digest..I noticed having an heavy dinner makes it hard for me to sleep...

3) Try to stick to same sleeping time every night...

These work for me...though not all the time... [;)]

Anyone know which TCM is best in treating insomnia?

do u have iphone or android? download "deep sleep with andrew johnson" app. it works.. ^_^

bro, need to pay leh. there are many apps that are free...

btw, i tried this - quite good.

"8 minute meditation music" by royaltyfreemeditationmusic.com or christopher lloyd clarke

quite useful. fell asleep b4 8 min is up last night.

woke up at 430am, put on the music again, fell asleep very soon after tat

When I went to school,

I always opened my textbook

in bed and within 2 mins

I was always knocked out.

Does your auntie want

to borrow my old text books?

My husband (in his 50s) has serious insomnia for the past 2 months.

Seen few GPs and 2 specialists currently. Doc prescribed sleeping pills, benzo and Lexapro (SSRI) which still doesn't work after 4th week.

Now, his insomnia is worsened, he can't focus, felt gizzy and get chills easily.

Would TCM help as this will take a long time to see results.

We are now very desperate and confused as to what treatment to take, as it's affecting his work too and he has been absent from the office frequently.

Appreciate all your kind advice pls. Thanks.

haha next day sure headache...at least for me. laugh.gif

now pple live longer (according to gahmen stats) but all falling sickly early...high bp, heart prob, falling hair starts at 30s...

Ya loh. Now people live longer; SUFFERING [furious]

I reckon it's modern day stress.

Work stress, love stress, school stress (on behalf of kids also), COE stress......

TCM? Not necessary lah.

Maybe this TCM - Television, Computer, Mobile Phone : reduce the usage. Do you have one of these in your bedroom. Try removing them all.

If cannot, drink wine and go to sleep. (Chinese saying: Drink Alcohol Solve Worries).

Edited by Kangadrool

Seen few GPs and 2 specialists currently. Doc prescribed sleeping pills, benzo and Lexapro (SSRI) which still doesn't work after 4th week.

Now, his insomnia is worsened, he can't focus, felt gizzy and get chills easily.

We are now very desperate and confused as to what treatment to take, as it's affecting his work too and he has been absent from the office frequently.

Perhaps it's a mid-life crisis thing going on. Maybe you may bring him to a psychologist or psychiatrist since medication is not working for him.

Or better still take a break from work, family and whatever is bothering him.

Ask him :wacko: to watch and listen to our PM Annual National Day Message, he will [:/] doze off within 10 seconds like me [sleeping]

Now is only January. If really have to wait til Aug to hear the ND message, I dun think he can wait that long. Maybe by then he will turn into a zombie. LoL...