SIMILAC milk powder. JB vs SG

Simonsoh

kim sang is thriving instead.

that's why near us, got one.

But their milk is all SG stock. So it's just cheaper than supermarket.

Kim sang for the win!!!!!!!!!

my mistake.. i bought $62 from Jin Tai.. not Kim Sang.. mine is 1.8kg malaysia stock..  

i can tell you there is cheaper source.  Venus Beauty shop.  Venus shop is chain of retail shops selling cheaper toiletries, perfume, diapers etc.  They also sell Similac milk, malaysia stock, for only $57 or $58+, 1.8kg

Venus Beauty shop is almost everywhere, in shopping malls or HDB shops.

But don't ask me how's the quality.  i never buy the milk from them, i only buy diapers and toiletries.

I only go in during the weekdays

I like it because it has a lot less people

I park near Sheng Siong and incur about $10 parking charge

Take train in and out, that's another $10

But it is alot less crowded

People are less likely to rush and push

I like it to feel slow and easy

When I see the number of people taking the bus, I don't like it Liao

Taking a bus from home is a lot cheaper

Is parking near Sheng siong the cheapest rate liao?  

This is a HDB car park? 

i can tell you there is cheaper source. Venus Beauty shop. Venus shop is chain of retail shops selling cheaper toiletries, perfume, diapers etc. They also sell Similac milk, malaysia stock, for only $57 or $58+, 1.8kg

But don't ask me how's the quality. i never buy the milk from them, i only buy diapers and toiletries.

This is a HDB car park?

No, same price, it is erp parking

Parking near Sheng siong is the nearest to the train station

No, same price, it is erp parking

Parking near Sheng siong is the nearest to the train station

thanks.  is it the very big open air car park?  

i can tell you there is cheaper source.  Venus Beauty shop.  Venus shop is chain of retail shops selling cheaper toiletries, perfume, diapers etc.  They also sell Similac milk, malaysia stock, for only $57 or $58+, 1.8kg

But don't ask me how's the quality.  i never buy the milk from them, i only buy diapers and toiletries.

This is a HDB car park? 

here you go.

Venus Beauty.

Only $56.50 for Stage 4

post-1637-0-54912200-1490776905.jpg

here you go.

Venus Beauty.

Only $56.50 for Stage 4

The $62 one i bought from Jin Tai is for stage 3 lah..

Pricing is usually determined by gdp of the country.

Brand owners would price it using these data.

It's all about profits.

The best milk for babies would still be mummy own

U sound very experienced with raising babies. How many u had ah?

If the G steps in, I am quite sure this will happen:

1. G impose some dunno SMLJ tax or regulation

2. Milk powder companies will pass on the increased costs of compliance to consumers

3. G wins, milk powder companies win, parents lose

Ya, do you know what's the problem?

The problem is that, whenever people complain, government step in and add in regulation. So the regulation will only increase but never decrease.

So what happen when regulation keep increasing? It makes people who want to set up business in Singapore more difficult. There will be a point of time where some will say that's it, I am not going to set up or expend in Singapore. It is just too difficult to comply with too many regulations.

Exactly bro. Price of things made in the same factory but sold to different countries at different prices according to how much purchasing power you have. Literally we are being milked dry by milk powder suppliers.

My daughter has been on Similac Stage 3 for the past year, and I have bought Singapore stock (buy 4 get 2 free 850g tin), Indonesian stock (60% of SG price for 850g tin), and Malaysian stock (55% of SG price for 1.8kg tin after Qoo10 discounts). She happily drinks all of them.

Someone please tell me Singapore consumers are not carrot heads. (And I'll tell you the next story of contact lens and spectacle prices  [laugh] )

http://www.theborneopost.com/2013/03/12/offer-subsidies-for-baby-milk-powder/

Just a better understanding of why MY milk is cheaper.  

MY govt has price control sanctioned on basic goods and food items.  Milk is one of them.  And obviously, based on average income of malaysian families, they fix the milk price that families can afford and Malaysian babies don't get malnourished, which resulting in cheaper than SG milk prices.  

I'm sure SG govt also has price control on basic goods and food. and they too, based on our SG average income. 

http://www.theborneopost.com/2013/03/12/offer-subsidies-for-baby-milk-powder/

Just a better understanding of why MY milk is cheaper.  

MY govt has price control sanctioned on basic goods and food items.  Milk is one of them.  And obviously, based on average income of malaysian families, they fix the milk price that families can afford and Malaysian babies don't get malnourished, which resulting in cheaper than SG milk prices.  

I'm sure SG govt also has price control on basic goods and food. and they too, based on our SG average income. 

This article is about brunei.

In fact, even though milk is a controlled good in malaysia, it doesn't seem to be subsidized. And there doesn't seem to be any export restrictions also.

http://www.kpdnkk.gov.my/index.php/en/consumer/controlled-goods/list-of-controlled-goods

Edited by Kusje

This article is about brunei.

In fact, even though milk is a controlled good in malaysia, it doesn't seem to be subsidized. And there doesn't seem to be any export restrictions also.

http://www.kpdnkk.gov.my/index.php/en/consumer/controlled-goods/list-of-controlled-goods

Yeah, no subsidy. It's not like petrol.

Only price controlled. But I hope we don't end up like China ppl buying so much of Hong Kong milk powder, until customs take action.

Well, as far as I observe, the G only welcomes big big MNCs to set up shop here.

For those local SMEs who find it hard to cope, the G always tell them to bugger off somewhere else to set up shop in China or Vietnam or other less developed countries.

Ya, do you know what's the problem?

The problem is that, whenever people complain, government step in and add in regulation. So the regulation will only increase but never decrease.

So what happen when regulation keep increasing? It makes people who want to set up business in Singapore more difficult. There will be a point of time where some will say that's it, I am not going to set up or expend in Singapore. It is just too difficult to comply with too many regulations.

Well, as far as I observe, the G only welcomes big big MNCs to set up shop here.

For those local SMEs who find it hard to cope, the G always tell them to bugger off somewhere else to set up shop in China or Vietnam or other less developed countries.

This is very dangerous, it is actually those small business owner also form the backbone of the economy. Edited by Yewheng

Well, this is purely my observation la.

And big corporations from other continents are so happy to set up shop here because of the tax breaks that the G are giving to them.

Just think of the number of big corporations that have set up regional HQ here in the past decade and you will know my observation is at least partially correct.

This is very dangerous, it is actually those small business owner also form the backbone of the economy.

Competition Commission looks into rising cost of infant milk powder; MPs express concern

SINGAPORE - The Competition Commission of Singapore (CCS) has looked into the rising cost of infant milk formula - an issue that several Members of Parliament have voiced concern about - and will share more in due course, it told The Straits Times on Friday (May 5).

http://www.straitstimes.com/singapore/competition-commission-looks-into-rising-cost-of-infant-milk-powder-mps-express-concern