Lala81 Hypersonic April 2, 2014 Share April 2, 2014 Did u all buy at the recent NTUC/CS Stage 3 Promo of 2 x 900gm tins at $69-69.50? Lol i bought 11 packs of that. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dleodleo Twincharged April 2, 2014 Share April 2, 2014 anyway, abbott very confusing leh... Stage 4(bear) is ages 3 and up. then they have another range (GROW), giraffe pic. this one is 3-6yrs old... duno wats the diff lah.. anyway my gal 4yrs old, abbott sent a sample for GROW, so I though must be time to switch again.... hmmm... diff between bear and giraffe is latter powder very very fine... like my mum's anlene powdery type... duno lah... just whack lah... for 4 years old, you have 2 choices. one is to let her drink Gain IQ (bear) - age 3 to 6 or let her drink grow (gifarre). Gain IQ more nutrition value i think. You read on the tin illustrations. My son i let him drink Gain IQ when he turns 3 and switch to GROW when he turns 5 cos is cheaper. Just found out Similac Stage 3 "Intelli-Pro" sold in Johor Bahru contained 0.18g of Trans Fatty Acid for every 100g. Similac Stage 3 sold in Singapore did not indicate any Trans Fatty acid on it's label. Not sure if they (Abbott Singapore) leave out the information intentionally since there is no local law to say you must indicate any Trans Fatty Acid or there is really zero Trans fatty acid in the Singapore version of Similac stage 3. FYI. Both countries imported the milk powder from Ireland Abbott. Am puzzled why the nutrition content is different since both countries imported the milk powder from the same source. I think I ever heard from Abbot customer service that our Singapore milk is from New Zealnd or where I forget liao but is procccess in woodlands? If i remember correctly. Cos tat time i emailed them asking about their milk sold in hong kong during the china milk tinted scandal. I was going Hong Kong tat time thus I asked them. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic April 2, 2014 Share April 2, 2014 (edited) for 4 years old, you have 2 choices. one is to let her drink Gain IQ (bear) - age 3 to 6 or let her drink grow (gifarre). Gain IQ more nutrition value i think. You read on the tin illustrations. My son i let him drink Gain IQ when he turns 3 and switch to GROW when he turns 5 cos is cheaper. I think I ever heard from Abbot customer service that our Singapore milk is from New Zealnd or where I forget liao but is procccess in woodlands? If i remember correctly. Cos tat time i emailed them asking about their milk sold in hong kong during the china milk tinted scandal. I was going Hong Kong tat time thus I asked them. Similac - the source of milk is either from Holland/Ireland. (cos i remembered not being worried during the fonterra scare) Can't remember which. Yes processed in SG. Edited April 2, 2014 by Lala81 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Simonsoh 2nd Gear April 2, 2014 Author Share April 2, 2014 Did u all buy at the recent NTUC/CS Stage 3 Promo of 2 x 900gm tins at $69-69.50? Lol i bought 11 packs of that. shit... lemme guess... promo over liao? i love the 900gms tins... size is just right.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic April 2, 2014 Share April 2, 2014 shit... lemme guess... promo over liao? i love the 900gms tins... size is just right.... ya even if have 1.8kg tin, my MIL will scoop out into the old 900gm tin. lol. Yeah no more liao, a lot of places OOS quite fast. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Aquanark Clutched April 2, 2014 Share April 2, 2014 Similac - the source of milk is either from Holland/Ireland. (cos i remembered not being worried during the fonterra scare) Can't remember which. Yes processed in SG. Hi, If it was processed in SG, Im sure the tin will reflect words like "packed in Singapore" or similar. I have checked, currently both version are imported from Ireland. Does anyone has new info on this? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Unltd 5th Gear April 2, 2014 Share April 2, 2014 ya even if have 1.8kg tin, my MIL will scoop out into the old 900gm tin. lol. Yeah no more liao, a lot of places OOS quite fast. Unless the old 900ml tin is washed clean and dried properly, better not to. If there is residue milk powder and expired, could cause health issues. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic April 3, 2014 Share April 3, 2014 (edited) Hi, If it was processed in SG, Im sure the tin will reflect words like "packed in Singapore" or similar. I have checked, currently both version are imported from Ireland. Does anyone has new info on this? I'm very sure it used to be packed in Singapore when i was researching them 1 yr+ back. But i haven't read the labels since. I will take a look at my tins if i remember. Edited April 3, 2014 by Lala81 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic April 3, 2014 Share April 3, 2014 Unless the old 900ml tin is washed clean and dried properly, better not to. If there is residue milk powder and expired, could cause health issues. yeah i understand. Everyone says different things. Their generation don't believe in washing the tins. From what i read it's fine to wash the tins. Most important is not to damage the lining of the tins. Of course don't reuse the same can for too long. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dleodleo Twincharged April 4, 2014 Share April 4, 2014 (edited) I'm very sure it used to be packed in Singapore when i was researching them 1 yr+ back. But i haven't read the labels since. I will take a look at my tins if i remember. Ya, I remember the customer service who called me told me the factory is in Woodlands (Singapore) when i emailed them few years ago about the tinted milk incident in China. Aquanark,, perhaps you can call them to clarify. https://abbott.com.sg/contactus To contact us, please call: Abbott Nutrition Careline – 6278 6220 (9am – 5pm, Mondays – Fridays except Public Holidays) Diabetes Care Customer Service Hotline – 1800-272-2881 or write to: Abbott Laboratories (Singapore) Pte Ltd 1 Maritime Square, #12-01 HarbourFront Centre Singapore 099253 Edited April 4, 2014 by Dleodleo Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Simonsoh 2nd Gear April 4, 2014 Author Share April 4, 2014 yeah i understand. Everyone says different things. Their generation don't believe in washing the tins. From what i read it's fine to wash the tins. Most important is not to damage the lining of the tins. Of course don't reuse the same can for too long. we transfer into tall rectangular tupperware type containers. One full container last a week. every other week wash and bone-dry it. Hope no one here raise the possibility of the milk powder reacting with the plastic making it a health hazard... cuz doing for many years liao... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic April 4, 2014 Share April 4, 2014 we transfer into tall rectangular tupperware type containers. One full container last a week. every other week wash and bone-dry it. Hope no one here raise the possibility of the milk powder reacting with the plastic making it a health hazard... cuz doing for many years liao... plasticisers are everywhere. unavoidable. literally. can't avoid PM2.5 also mah lol Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic March 19, 2015 Share March 19, 2015 Lobang to share. 35 dollars off for every 3 tins of Similac/Gain IQ Stage 2-4. Need to register at the website and scan a barcode at the NTUC to get the coupon http://www.sbtmasia.com/similacgain?utm_source=FairPrice&utm_medium=Board&utm_campaign=O2O Bought mine liao. Mai tu liao. lasts until 25/26 march! 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Leinad8919 Turbocharged March 19, 2015 Share March 19, 2015 After drinking SIMILAC powder from JB, the kid will say "几好喝一下." After drinking SIMILAC powder from SG, the kid will say "good to 喝 leh." 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nzy Twincharged March 19, 2015 Share March 19, 2015 When do you change from formula to the regular milk? I was asking my son's pediatrician and he told us actually above 1 yr old can take the regular milk already. So thinking of letting my 5 year old son take the normal milk since he prefers it. He say formula too sweet. He don't like. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic March 19, 2015 Share March 19, 2015 Above 1 year can drink regular milk. My girl likes formula. So i give her formula lor. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Volvobrick Supersonic March 19, 2015 Share March 19, 2015 Milk powder here really over priced. Parents really kena chopped carrot. Fortunately I already over period of suffering and can use the savings to pay the over priced petrol.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Aaronlkl Supersonic March 19, 2015 Share March 19, 2015 Milk powder here really over priced. Parents really kena chopped carrot. Fortunately I already over period of suffering and can use the savings to pay the over priced petrol.... What is not over priced in SG? ↡ Advertisement 7 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...