Deividz 5th Gear February 21, 2013 Share February 21, 2013 Similac 1 & 2 all made in SG factory. Similac 3 from Ireland. My take is that there is NO DIFFERENCE. Difference is marketing and pricing strategies. I.E change label for same products. Again to each his own. Anyway, my colleague from Holland, the home of many milk suppliers switched his daughter to fresh milk from 1.5 years onwards. He says it's the norm in their home country. Anyway cannot save much too. Buy 3 cans of 1.8kg similac 3 save 66 dollars + pump 40+ litres of petrol save 30 over dollars. Maybe for a mere $100, better to rest at home. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Windchoco 1st Gear February 21, 2013 Share February 21, 2013 all the way stage 1 is similac but stage 2 he drink liao always lao sai... now changing milk see which suitable But it could be also bcos of teething. Mine now at that stage also. milk haven change yet but diarrhoea.. Not serious type though. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kangadrool Supersonic February 21, 2013 Share February 21, 2013 (edited) Unless there's some regulatory bodies that test and verify the contents frequently, there could be instances whereby manufacturers just change the wordings on the label to suit different markets even though the contents may be exactly the same. Example is body shampoo - in Taiwan, Triclosan is banned. Those destined there will not have Triclosan declared even though the ingredients used in the manufacturing are the same. Whereas, those sold in other markets will have Triclosan declared. Edited February 21, 2013 by Kangadrool Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Galantspeedz Turbocharged February 21, 2013 Share February 21, 2013 But it could be also bcos of teething. Mine now at that stage also. milk haven change yet but diarrhoea.. Not serious type though. thought so.. stop awhile.. try again... same thing happen... even for 1 feed... once change back to stage 1... no such problem Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Asure7 1st Gear February 22, 2013 Share February 22, 2013 (edited) thought so.. stop awhile.. try again... same thing happen... even for 1 feed... once change back to stage 1... no such problem It is recommended not to switch immediately actually, as the child's body may not be able to adapt. At the same time can observe whether the new formula is causing problems like allergy etc (Usually if same brand it will be ok). Many parents practise the following: E.g. Last time if Stage 1 need 3 scoops. Now Put 2 scoops + 1 scoop (stage 2) for 1 week. Then 1 scoop (Stage 1) + 2 scoop (stage 2) for another week. Before switching totally to stage 2. Edited February 22, 2013 by Asure7 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tjkbeluga 5th Gear February 22, 2013 Share February 22, 2013 why nobody seems to be interested in pediasure quite yummy for the kids Both my kids take pediasure also and they are all bought from MY. In those days, I could get it at RM 110 per 1.8kg and SG was selling at SGD67. So, the saving was about SGD20 each.... We buy it in crates and put it in my in-law's place and slowly bring some back from time to time to avoid GST.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tireburner 3rd Gear May 14, 2013 Share May 14, 2013 Was in Malaysia last week and bought a1.8kg Similac stage 4 (green in My but orange in SG). Price was RM99 usual RM110. Quite ex for the local in absolute term. My 5 year old girl commented it was better than the Grow which she had been drinking all this while after turning 3 years old. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mysportwish 1st Gear May 14, 2013 Share May 14, 2013 nutrients lesser if you compare apple-to-apple.. but it is still drinkable.. a lot of msia kids grew up healthy as well.. no harm buying Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Acemundo Supercharged May 14, 2013 Share May 14, 2013 one thing I noticed and guess is that similac powder seems to be more "heaty" in the eyes of TCM. when I switched to similac for both boys, both experienced some swelling on the eyelids Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dleodleo Twincharged May 16, 2013 Share May 16, 2013 one thing I noticed and guess is that similac powder seems to be more "heaty" in the eyes of TCM. when I switched to similac for both boys, both experienced some swelling on the eyelids Similac is for infant right? I dare not buy milk powder for my kids in Malaysia. As far as I know Abbott milk are from New Zealand and manufactured in Singapore. My kids since birth have been drinking Abbott milk product. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Enye Hypersonic May 16, 2013 Share May 16, 2013 one thing I noticed and guess is that similac powder seems to be more "heaty" in the eyes of TCM. when I switched to similac for both boys, both experienced some swelling on the eyelids swelling might indicate allergic reaction to that brand of milk powder my 1st born had a serious allergic reaction when i switched milk powder once rashes, swelling etc but immediately subsided when we switched back Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
SGCMshawnlim Neutral Newbie May 16, 2013 Share May 16, 2013 (edited) I'm pretty sure it would not post any health threat. But the taste will be different. Just to share my experience, when my daughter was 5 years old and she's on GROW 3-5 at that time. One incident was that i went JB and bought 3 refill pack home. When i made her the milk without telling her it's from JB, the first reaction from her was: Daddy, did you change my milk? So i can conclude that for the same brand of powder, it does taste different. But like what i've said, it will not post any health threat. Edited May 16, 2013 by SGCMshawnlim Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Acemundo Supercharged May 17, 2013 Share May 17, 2013 swelling might indicate allergic reaction to that brand of milk powder my 1st born had a serious allergic reaction when i switched milk powder once rashes, swelling etc but immediately subsided when we switched back but both sons eyes swell a bit upon taking. in fact the second son experiencd swelling twice. that's why I think their powder a bit heaty Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Acemundo Supercharged May 17, 2013 Share May 17, 2013 Similac is for infant right? I dare not buy milk powder for my kids in Malaysia. As far as I know Abbott milk are from New Zealand and manufactured in Singapore. My kids since birth have been drinking Abbott milk product. similac is packed as similac for stage 1 & 2 (commonly known as for infants). abbott is the same as similac but packaged for stage 3&4. anyway, I didn't buy from Malaysia. what I am saying is these milk powder bought from Singapore gives me a guess they are "heat" in nature. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
GemLeo 1st Gear May 19, 2013 Share May 19, 2013 nutrients lesser if you compare apple-to-apple.. but it is still drinkable.. a lot of msia kids grew up healthy as well.. no harm buying hi bro, i compared enfra grow. msia one has more nutrients. may i know which apples were u comparing? thanks Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Aquanark Clutched March 29, 2014 Share March 29, 2014 Just found out Similac Stage 3 "Intelli-Pro" sold in Johor Bahru contained 0.18g of Trans Fatty Acid for every 100g.Similac Stage 3 sold in Singapore did not indicate any Trans Fatty acid on it's label.Not sure if they (Abbott Singapore) leave out the information intentionally since there is no local law to say you must indicate any Trans Fatty Acid or there is really zero Trans fatty acid in the Singapore version of Similac stage 3. FYI. Both countries imported the milk powder from Ireland Abbott. Am puzzled why the nutrition content is different since both countries imported the milk powder from the same source. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Zakkwylde 5th Gear March 30, 2014 Share March 30, 2014 Just found out Similac Stage 3 "Intelli-Pro" sold in Johor Bahru contained 0.18g of Trans Fatty Acid for every 100g. Similac Stage 3 sold in Singapore did not indicate any Trans Fatty acid on it's label. Not sure if they (Abbott Singapore) leave out the information intentionally since there is no local law to say you must indicate any Trans Fatty Acid or there is really zero Trans fatty acid in the Singapore version of Similac stage 3. FYI. Both countries imported the milk powder from Ireland Abbott. Am puzzled why the nutrition content is different since both countries imported the milk powder from the same source. In Singapore, we are raised to hear only the good things... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Simonsoh 2nd Gear April 2, 2014 Author Share April 2, 2014 anyway, abbott very confusing leh... Stage 4(bear) is ages 3 and up. then they have another range (GROW), giraffe pic. this one is 3-6yrs old... duno wats the diff lah.. anyway my gal 4yrs old, abbott sent a sample for GROW, so I though must be time to switch again.... hmmm... diff between bear and giraffe is latter powder very very fine... like my mum's anlene powdery type... duno lah... just whack lah... ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...