Minimum legal age for marriage in SG

Wyfitms

i mean if she get married like NOW...

then "expose" her pregnancy...

so it will look like she got married first then go pregnant..

In this case being married does not entitled one to defence of penetration with Minor. Marriage is NOT a licence to do it all [laugh]

mai kay kay lah... you are not that old loh... still getting driver's licence confirm gen z...

40 years ago then take driving test cannot meh? :huh:

already 6-7 mths pregnant. Can;t hide it

since both the parents of the couple are so supportive, i guess they have to sit down with lawyer, mcys, etc to work out something. starting a family at THIS AGE is very very hard and road will even be tougher when they are in 20s or 30s. i guess to some extend they might even advice the young couple to giveaway the baby (of course the grandparents sure object to this).

even if the grandparents are rich, like very rich, there are still emotion aspect of the issue to deal with.

lucky you that time 17 years old liao [laugh][laugh]

!7 years old is only legal if money or gifts doesn't change hands. So giving Ang Pow for 1st time is a NO NO [laugh][:p]

In this case being married does not entitled one to defence of penetration with Minor. Marriage is NOT a licence to do it all [laugh]

Then get married at 14 but not allowed to have sex until 18?? Then why the State even allow them to get married in the first place??

since both the parents of the couple are so supportive, i guess they have to sit down with lawyer, mcys, etc to work out something. starting a family at THIS AGE is very very hard and road will even be tougher when they are in 20s or 30s. i guess to some extend they might even advice the young couple to giveaway the baby (of course the grandparents sure object to this).

even if the grandparents are rich, like very rich, there are still emotion aspect of the issue to deal with.

agree. Very tough now. But good thing is their kid will be working and financially independent when they are just 33. I'm turning 33 next yr and daughter not even in pri sch yet

Then get married at 14 but not allowed to have sex until 18?? Then why the State even allow them to get married in the first place??

I dunno why the misconception that marriage is a license to have sex. It is not. There was an instance that a a man's wife after a quarrel threaten to report him to the police cos they had oral sex, which is deemed as unnatural sex in the Penal Code. Anal sex also falls into this category. In fact it is possible in certain jurisdictions that a wife can report an offence of rape against her husband.

maybe i got it wrong, but isn't it illogical then to allow underaged to be married?

Sex is part of marriage, which brings about physical intimacy and also leading to having children.

So what does the State have in mind when they allow 14 yo to marry but illegal to have sex... they just hold hands everyday and are like BFF? And everyday like puppy love for 4 yrs?

Then i would think it is in everyone's best interest to just make marriage legal for only those 18 and above?

40 years ago then take driving test cannot meh? :huh:

go read the thread of her asking for advice on driving test... wear low cut and short skirt for the test... u think a 40 yrs old do all that got use?? [:p][laugh]

maybe i got it wrong, but isn't it illogical then to allow underaged to be married?

Sex is part of marriage, which brings about physical intimacy and also leading to having children.

So what does the State have in mind when they allow 14 yo to marry but illegal to have sex... they just hold hands everyday and are like BFF? And everyday like puppy love for 4 yrs?

Then i would think it is in everyone's best interest to just make marriage legal for only those 18 and above?

maybe got exceptions leh... after marriage do ok but b4 that cannot.... so they should register their marriage b4 her tummy go big...

Aiya, that's what happen when you don't use rubber.

Anyway, be it marriage or not, the boy will confirm kenna one. Cos having sex with a minor below the age of 16 is an offence under Section 376A of the Penal Code. To make it worst, Section 375 states that having sex with a girl under 14 yo, even with her consent is considered statutory rape. So that's 2 offences here.