WTF 4th Gear June 5, 2012 Share June 5, 2012 On 6/5/2012 at 3:00 PM, Si4dr said: Scoot become shoot Fighting with Tiger to see who is the lousiest budget airline?? [laugh] No surprise when both are own by the same parent company...... ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
I-LOVE-CARS 1st Gear June 5, 2012 Share June 5, 2012 I am seriously thinking of flying scoot biz for my Year End Trip to Bangkok then another trip to Taipei... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kb27 Supersonic June 5, 2012 Share June 5, 2012 Start with a stupid name like Scoot... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sosaria Twincharged June 5, 2012 Share June 5, 2012 On 6/5/2012 at 2:14 AM, Picnic06 said: Piew... Thats mean abort take-off. What if it overshot the runway and into the Changi Coaster beach... Was it so dramatic? I think it's just a ramp turn back (RTB), i.e. when an airplane taxis out from the gate, but before reaching takeoff point, faults occur (usually fault messages) which cannot be deferred and must be fixed before flight. So have to return to the gate and clear the faults. Aborted takeoff, i.e. airplane already started its takeoff run, but before reaching critical speed, and the pilot elects to abort the takeoff and brings the airplane to a halt. This is a rejected takeoff (RTO). If already in the air, then forced by faults to return for landing - this is an air turn back (ATB). Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Maxus-MIFA9 Supersonic June 6, 2012 Author Share June 6, 2012 On 6/5/2012 at 3:40 PM, I-LOVE-CARS said: I am seriously thinking of flying scoot biz for my Year End Trip to Bangkok then another trip to Taipei... Today ST stated that Scoot is flying to Taipei & Tokyo from Oct 2012. I am also going to Taipei in Dec. If their service improve from now till Nov, I might consider taking it to Taipei... Current normal flight is about $800/- (2 ways).. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Maxus-MIFA9 Supersonic June 6, 2012 Author Share June 6, 2012 My consideration is because Scoot is flying the Boeing 727-200 whereas TigerAir is flying the Airbus A320.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Icedbs Turbocharged June 6, 2012 Share June 6, 2012 actually how did SIA differentiate between Tiger and Scoot? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Camrysfa Turbocharged May 31, 2015 Share May 31, 2015 wonder what is the issue. why the passengers could not be allowed to disembark while the airplane is being serviced. http://www.channelnewsasia.com/news/singapore/scoot-flight-from-gold/1883568.html SINGAPORE: A Scoot flight from Gold Coast, Australia to Singapore was delayed for almost six hours on Sunday morning (May 31) due to a technical issue. The flight originally slated to depart at 7.05am, Singapore time, eventually took off at 1.03pm. In a statement to Channel NewsAsia, a Scoot spokesperson said: "Scoot Flight TZ 5 is scheduled to arrive into Singapore at 8.45pm (Singapore time). The flight was delayed this morning due to a technical issue." A MediaCorp hotline caller, who wished to remain anonymous, said that her family who was on the flight had been stuck on the plane for the six hours while repairs were ongoing. According to her brother who was on the flight, no one was allowed to disembark. The caller expressed concern for the safety of her family, adding that she had been unable to reach the airlines’ customer service to ask about the status of the flight. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kangadrool Supersonic June 1, 2015 Share June 1, 2015 Save time? Budget airlines need to turnaround fast. So, discharging and loading passengers will waste a lot of time. But, luckily no one open emergency door to get fresh air. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Camrysfa Turbocharged June 1, 2015 Share June 1, 2015 On 6/1/2015 at 11:41 AM, Kangadrool said: Save time? Budget airlines need to turnaround fast. So, discharging and loading passengers will waste a lot of time. But, luckily no one open emergency door to get fresh air. 6 hrs inside a stationary airplane is maddening. The plane was departing from aus, so I don't understand why cannot disembark. had a similar experience. memory of it is rusty. was flying to china, but due to bad weather the plane diverted to korea. also had to sit inside the airplane until fly again. this I understand because the SIA flight entered another country and no immigration was cleared. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kangadrool Supersonic June 1, 2015 Share June 1, 2015 (edited) 1 hour sitting inside I already buah tahan liao. It is always difficult to estimate "fix time" for technical fault rectification. Estimated 1 hour may turn out to be 6 hours. Rather be safe that the fault is properly fixed than being rushed through it. To disembark the passengers mean need to security clear them again, headcount again. Then, you will bound to have one or two kukus who disappeared after that... On 6/1/2015 at 11:49 AM, Camrysfa said: 6 hrs inside a stationary airplane is maddening. The plane was departing from aus, so I don't understand why cannot disembark. had a similar experience. memory of it is rusty. was flying to china, but due to bad weather the plane diverted to korea. also had to sit inside the airplane until fly again. this I understand because the SIA flight entered another country and no immigration was cleared. Edited June 1, 2015 by Kangadrool Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Unltd 5th Gear June 1, 2015 Share June 1, 2015 On 6/1/2015 at 11:49 AM, Camrysfa said: 6 hrs inside a stationary airplane is maddening. The plane was departing from aus, so I don't understand why cannot disembark. had a similar experience. memory of it is rusty. was flying to china, but due to bad weather the plane diverted to korea. also had to sit inside the airplane until fly again. this I understand because the SIA flight entered another country and no immigration was cleared. This is I think tactic for flight delay insurance, cause it is 6 hours. So technically when you are on plane it is not "late". Also notice even the time is 7:05am to 1:03pm.... Well travel insurance does not take effect! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tohto Hypersonic June 1, 2015 Share June 1, 2015 On 6/1/2015 at 11:49 AM, Camrysfa said: 6 hrs inside a stationary airplane is maddening. The plane was departing from aus, so I don't understand why cannot disembark. had a similar experience. memory of it is rusty. was flying to china, but due to bad weather the plane diverted to korea. also had to sit inside the airplane until fly again. this I understand because the SIA flight entered another country and no immigration was cleared. Last year I was waiting in a Air China flight from HK to Ordos for more than 5hrs due to air traffic control in China air space. Food and drinks was serves while waiting onboard. More surprise for me is the whole A320 plane had less than 10 passenger. Was actually surprise they did not cancel the flight. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Camrysfa Turbocharged June 21, 2015 Share June 21, 2015 No choice - the airline does not have backup planes. http://www.straitstimes.com/news/singapore/more-singapore-stories/story/angry-passengers-changi-airport-after-scoot-flight-delay SINGAPORE - Dozens of Scoot passengers were up in arms after a flight from Singapore to Perth was delayed for more than 22 hours over the weekend. “Scoot flight TZ 8 to Perth was originally scheduled to depart from Singapore at 1210 pm (Singapore time) on 20th June. It was delayed at Changi Airport due to a technical issue and we regret the delay has inconvenienced our guests," a Scoot spokesman said. The flight was re-scheduled to 9.50am on Sunday morning, according to Scoot's Facebook page. It eventually took off at 10.42am on Sunday. In an email sent to Scoot seen by The Straits Times, one passenger claimed that the flight was "delayed six times with different reasons". One of the reasons given, he added, was that the plane's tyre was 'worn out'. The passengers were asked to board the plane then disembark twice, and finally asked to return home without any reimbusement for taxi fares, the passenger known as Cole wrote. Cole expressed his disappointment with Scoots offer of travel vouchers in compensation, and said that the hotel and car that he rented in Australia "are all going down the drain". He asked for Scoot to arrange for a refund in cash. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Boringchap Turbocharged June 21, 2015 Share June 21, 2015 Scoot is a low cost carrier. All their Terms and Conditions are upfront. There is no free lunch. If you want cheap fares, you have to be prepared to put up with such inconveniences. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vid Hypersonic June 21, 2015 Share June 21, 2015 Don't fly budget planes. SQ not really much more expensive. 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic June 21, 2015 Share June 21, 2015 I took scoot to Perth last year. This flight. Had a OK experience but flight back was delayed by 3 hours. Have to say next time I will avoid low cost carrier if possible. One day lost from your holiday is quite sian Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kusje Supersonic June 21, 2015 Share June 21, 2015 On 6/21/2015 at 6:49 AM, Vid said: Don't fly budget planes. SQ not really much more expensive. I won't fly SQ just to avoid scoot's poor service. Not going to give them the satisfaction. There are many other good airlines in this competitive industry and if SQ is going create a lousy product like scoot, then they shouldn't be rewarded by me in other ways as well. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...