2GB data cap lai le

Mllcg

Install Opera mini browser. It claims to be able cut down data usage, gives you a report also. Faster speed generally when surfing.

It is a fact that they are running a business and not a charity. It is a fact that data usage plus apps such as whatsapp, kakao talk as well as VOIP apps are eroding the traditional source of income for telcos. What did you expect them to do? Sit by idly and do nothing?

sad but true.

in the end, consumers lose out.

btw, will M1 follow suit?

or bite the bullet?

Anyway, heres a breakdown between starhub and singtel.

Singtel:

$39.90 2GB cap

$59.90 3GB cap

$99.90 4GB cap

$205.00 12GB cap

Data cap @ $94/mth for unlimited usage

Starhub:

$38 1GB cap

$58 2GB cap

$95 5GB cap

Data cap @$30/mth for unlimited usage

Edited by Mllcg

Not that can't use tethering. But the exorbitant charges will prevent me from using when I recontract next month onwards.

Singtel still dare to charge an extra $94/mth for unlimited usage ahh?? That's really ketok prices.

SH also. Means even on the cheapest plan, it's $38+$30 = $68/mth. WTH.....

Anyway, heres a breakdown between starhub and singtel.

Singtel:

$39.90 2GB cap

$59.90 3GB cap

$99.90 4GB cap

$205.00 12GB cap

Data cap @ $94/mth for unlimited usage

Starhub:

$38 1GB cap

$58 2GB cap

$95 5GB cap

Data cap @$30/mth for unlimited usage

This is really a joke. I was looking at the difference between iOne Plus and 3g Flexi Lite, which has the same free incoming calls and 100 mins outgoing. Also, for iOne Plus, there is the VAS add-on option for 10GB data.

Now, chew on this:

iOne Plus + 10GB VAS: $25.68 + $13.45 (Promo rates) = $39.13

What you get: 100 mins outgoing calls, 500 SMS, 10GB data

3G Flexi Lite: $39.90

What you get: 100 mins outgoing calls, 550 SMS, 2GB data (akan datang)

Now, what's the deal about paying more to get less? What's the big deal about the extra 50 SMS that few people use now? :angry:

i dont reach 2gb/month. But i think 12 -> 2 is quite ridiculous.

Neither do I reach 2GB, I think. But yes they should have done like a 5GB or 6GB. Who in the world slash from 12GB right down to 2GB? 12GB > 6GB > 4GB more reasonable. But right on from 12 > 2 is ridiculous!

I wonder how they came to the conclusion that we are gonna accept it? Maybe they don't expect us to accept the terms, since our market is monopolized by them anyway. They do whatever we deem fit and we LL. Reminds me of our men in WHITE. Heh heh heh, you know who... <_<

This is really a joke. I was looking at the difference between iOne Plus and 3g Flexi Lite, which has the same free incoming calls and 100 mins outgoing. Also, for iOne Plus, there is the VAS add-on option for 10GB data.

Now, chew on this:

What you get: 100 mins outgoing calls, 550 SMS, 2GB data (akan datang)

Now, what's the deal about paying more to get less? What's the big deal about the extra 50 SMS that few people use now? :angry:

actually, i agree on that.

dont forget.

the 50 extra sms will cost them $0.5x50=$25 per customer assuming all overshoot.

i rather they increase the data cap

Now, chew on this:

What you get: 100 mins outgoing calls, 550 SMS (increase to 800 sms), 2GB data (akan datang)

not 50 lah, its 250 sms -_-

i believe the 10GB VAS will also change.

not 50 lah, its 250 sms -_-

i believe the 10GB VAS will also change.

250x0.5=$125.

they can freely "give" $125 worth of smses but cant increase the allwance abit which doesnt even cost that much

250x0.5=$125.

they can freely "give" $125 worth of smses but cant increase the allwance abit which doesnt even cost that much

sms cost $0.50 meh :huh:

I think everyone have to remember that when data plan first started out. its only 1G. its because M1 come out with a 12 G that become a game changer.

anyway lets hope M1 hold on the font. then we can let ST bleed like hell and revert back to old price plan

I'm using starhub now! and i am available to recontract or cancel my plan anytime!

which telco should i go to?

i'm thinking of getting a S3 soon! HOW HOW. M1??

I'm using starhub now! and i am available to recontract or cancel my plan anytime!

which telco should i go to?

i'm thinking of getting a S3 soon! HOW HOW. M1??

seems like m1 is the one not announced if they following suit (personally i think they will eventually).

anyway, be warned if u are going to switch...m1's data speed sucks.. supposed to get 'up to' 7.2mbps but most of the time just 0.5 to less than 2mbps.

best i got so far in amk was only around 3mbps... and only once.

And the biggest WTF exclamation that I'm giving them, is that I have just converted my Mio plan to the fibre exploreHome plan, and installation has not even started yet. Now they give this bombshell that data cap is going to drop so drastically. Looks like I better get my phone upgrade immediately after the fibre installation to retain the old 12GB cap for the next 2 years.

1 GB can be busted easily lah and thats not talking about all out siao video chat or streaming video hor. Just browsing as well as downloading stuff can more than effortlessly reach 1GB. 2GB is more reasonable imo.

Ya agree... for those on multi sim to share the 12GB data, esp between iphone and ipad, the downloading of the serials can makan the 12gb easily...

Now they talk abt 4G, pls la... 3G in Singapore already damn bloody slow, now wan to hao lian abt 4G?? Show me the consistent download speeds in SG then come and say.... Not yet prove 4G speed yet wan to cut the data plan now... if this is not monopoly practice then i dunno wat liao....

If they replace the existing plans with new ones, we also lan lan... bec all 3 telcos in cahoots one... monkey see monkey dooo... so where we turn also face this same problem.... haiz.. [knife]

And the biggest WTF exclamation that I'm giving them, is that I have just converted my Mio plan to the fibre exploreHome plan, and installation has not even started yet. Now they give this bombshell that data cap is going to drop so drastically. Looks like I better get my phone upgrade immediately after the fibre installation to retain the old 12GB cap for the next 2 years.

but upgrade before expiry will incur additional cost. if your home has fiber, why you need to much for mobile unless you are always on the road and download big files?

Yes, I'm on the road often and work from all sorts of places, and use tethering to get connectivity. Usage used to hover around 1GB, recently it's nearing 2GB. And I hate the fact that I'm buying a bundled plan and have to worry about excess charges. :angry:

Yalor.

All the 3 telcos here if trace parent company, still under the same parent company. What competitive prices/ plans are we talking about?? Hais.