2GB data cap lai le

Mllcg

actually i think most people not affected because i think 2gb gao liao :mellow:

we dont know man...if jus based on all the uncles here, then yes 2GB seem enuff. but look at it, if really majority are under 2GB, then wtf they talking high users hogging the network? there wont b "many" in the first place.

who are you calling uncle, uncle cannot clock more than 5GB huh, prawn easily take up 500mb per show ok [laugh] [laugh]

haha now i also uncle status liao so calling fellow uncles quite safe, wont kena humtum one [smash]

use wifi when prawn la....cum i mean, download faster :wub:

haha now i also uncle status liao so calling fellow uncles quite safe, wont kena humtum one [smash]

use wifi when prawn la....cum i mean, download faster :wub:

yalor big file use wifi, normal use wont be more than 2GB, if one trying to download movie from 3G network will not have the patience to wait and let the phone idle for so long :D

ya man...the 3G is hopeless to the pits. tats y i only 500MB a month.

really pay $1 for a $0.20 worth product. [rifle]

that is the problem. so little ppl hogging their network causing it to be very slow then they start KPKB to them. so they take action mah. [laugh]

ya man...the 3G is hopeless to the pits. tats y i only 500MB a month.

really pay $1 for a $0.20 worth product. [rifle]

If 3G is hopeful you think their landed wire will work meh??

all they do is in the sense of money.

If 3G is hopeful you think their landed wire will work meh??

all they do is in the sense of money.

def $$$. act last 2 months they alr in business times hinted falling sms revenue 2 -3 times.

but their 4G not even tested and yet tie pple to 2 yr contracts...consumer rights really low here man..

that is the problem. so little ppl hogging their network causing it to be very slow then they start KPKB to them. so they take action mah. [laugh]

1 question please......

how does one hog the network?? By going on line but dont surf and let it idle??

actually i think most people not affected because i think 2gb gao liao :mellow:

In that case, they should not conveniently push it to consumers saying that consumers are hoggers.

10% of heavy users and their network cannot tahan, it's clearly the telco's fault.

If there are 90% of the people unaffected, then why not cap it at 5gb instead of such drastic cuts?

1 question please......

Unless you are downloading, but seriously, who would use a mobile plan with such slow speeds to download large files?

Other than streaming video like Youtube, you stop "hogging" the bandwidth the moment your page completes loading.

1 question please......

not very sure. have to ask those expert who say they hog the line.

but i dont think its log in and dont surf.

def $$$. act last 2 months they alr in business times hinted falling sms revenue 2 -3 times.

but their 4G not even tested and yet tie pple to 2 yr contracts...consumer rights really low here man..

this is the same reason why consumer in USA are complaining about.

its not just here. practically most US tech forum, when they talk about telcom, their comment are mostly the same.

they are evil.

when talk about fight against piracy and game company using DRM, they say, Freedom of speech and they should have rights to get free games.

End of the day consumers get blamed again when it is clearly their infrastructure cannot support so many users and they are overselling the bandwidth.

If they offer 12gb and their network gets congested, shouldn't they upgrade their backend equipment to support more capacity?

It's almost like a tower building with only 1 lift and everyone crowding on the lobby waiting to get in. If they build more lifts, there's less overcrowding at the lobby.

not very sure. have to ask those expert who say they hog the line.

but i dont think its log in and dont surf.

Those who download free Apps.... will hog the sky.

Reason being, the free apps server will constantly send updates Ads down to your phone.

But 2G is still a lot unless we download songs and video.

of course. they are organisation aiming to make a profit. what do you expect??

The problem is instead of saying that they want to make a profit, they BLAMED consumers conveniently, without considering that all congestions are caused by their infrastructure reaching max and that they are not willing to spend more $$$ upgrading it with the impending rollover to 4G. I think if they increased the subscription by a little, it's still more acceptable. At this age with Whatsapp and other messaging apps, who still uses that much SMS.

If you study their plans carefully, our monthly subscription has formed a baseline which they are not willing to lower even with a reduction of data plan. There is a great difference with what you can do with the extra 10gb of data than additional sms. Anyway, how long does 1 take to consume all 10gb of data compared to the sms?

Think Malaysian Telco method is more fair.... they cap the 3G at certain usage limit.... once the limit reached. The user will experience lower bandwidth. By doing this way, users will enjoy unlimited usage but at the same time, the higher usage group will not be occupying all the bandwidth all the time...

Having to say that, I dont think our telco will do the same thing... they are implementing the new cap for $$$ rather than solving the problem...

actually, i am not sure whether by lowering quantity, revenue will go up. my impression is that these comms company will buy and install various comms equipment all accross the island. whether people use 10% or 150% of these equipment, cost is still the same to comms company (150% means more users than equipment can cope with)

i guess they would save money if they dont need to buy new comms equipnment to continue to meet rising demand :huh:

2GB may seem a lot now, but this may not be true in a few year's time with more contents growing larger. If the lowest cap is at 5GB, it'll be more acceptable.

The telcos will definitely have to install more comms equipment, but question is are they moving in tandum with the growth of subscribers?

Maybe the current infrastructure is able to support the current load if the FTs are taken out of the equation.

But this seems to be a very lame excuse to me, when they announced the cut, obviously they are planning for financial gains in advance. If these telcos do really have the interests of consumers at heart, why not just offer a cut in subscription rate in proportion with this reduction instead of offering free sms in return? Giving too many SMS also can cause the servers to slow down, as seen during X'mas and New Year when people are sending mass sms.