Joseph22 Turbocharged June 6, 2012 Share June 6, 2012 Light users are not denied of the chance to use data on the 3G network. They are considered light based on their usage, not because overcrowded bandwidth forced their usage to be low. Amd how does light user subsidise heavy user when all are paying the same rate no matter how much they use? I would be better put as paying for a service that one never consume fully. Just like you order a plate of mee siam mai hum and eat 2 mouthful. Another guy orders another same thing at same price but finishes all. Does your plate of mee siam mai hum subsidise his? But now the hawker says 2 mouthfuls are enough and decides to restrict that amount because most people can't finish 1 whole plate. So those who can eat 3 mouthfuls will have to pay more, when in the past what he can't finish can be used to feed the dogs. not a good analogy. if majority of my customer didnt finish my food, i will reduce the quantity hence price. then those who need more, order more from me. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kb27 Supersonic June 6, 2012 Share June 6, 2012 Every rf frequency, every time slot of a digital mobile phone system when filled cannot be reused until that signal/call/data is gone. When you have a small % of subscribers hogging that time slot bcoz of "free" 12GB data, other subscribers suffer. They may not get a line or experienced dropped calls or generally unsatisfactory service. Of coz, we can always blame the service provider for inadequate infra, but if you close a blind eye to some of those hogging the network, then you're not helping. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Happily1986 5th Gear June 6, 2012 Share June 6, 2012 This move is actually not isolated to Singapore alone. If you look to the Great US of A, the big 4 have already phased out unlimited data caps and also reduced such limits. Not all of them allow data tethering too if i remember correctly. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ben5266 Supercharged June 6, 2012 Share June 6, 2012 not a good analogy. if majority of my customer didnt finish my food, i will reduce the quantity hence price. then those who need more, order more from me. Saves your saliva lah... no ... no ... no... save your kBytes lah... the more he argues, the weaker his argument.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lattesurf Neutral Newbie June 6, 2012 Share June 6, 2012 Light users are not denied of the chance to use data on the 3G network. They are considered light based on their usage, not because overcrowded bandwidth forced their usage to be low. Amd how does light user subsidise heavy user when all are paying the same rate no matter how much they use? I would be better put as paying for a service that one never consume fully. Just like you order a plate of mee siam mai hum and eat 2 mouthful. Another guy orders another same thing at same price but finishes all. Does your plate of mee siam mai hum subsidise his? But now the hawker says 2 mouthfuls are enough and decides to restrict that amount because most people can't finish 1 whole plate. So those who can eat 3 mouthfuls will have to pay more, when in the past what he can't finish can be used to feed the dogs. Better analogy will be a buffet line instead. Limited servings of food within the tray. All pay the same price. U just need a few jokers to stack their plates mountain high, and there won't be enough to go around for the others. Limit each serving to a set quantity per pax, and everyone will have an opportunity to eat the food. Everyone goes back happy, except for that few jokers. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Babyt 4th Gear June 6, 2012 Share June 6, 2012 all these game apps so boring...i dl and can delete off within a day. the playing method is similar..there is so much interaction you can have for a game app. for me, smartphone is more for messaging n reading fb. if reducing the data plan can make 3G traffic smoother, why not. i dun understand why ppl enjoy watching movies on smartphone...slow dl and small screen compare to monitor/tv. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jman888 Moderator June 6, 2012 Share June 6, 2012 all these game apps so boring...i dl and can delete off within a day. the playing method is similar..there is so much interaction you can have for a game app. for me, smartphone is more for messaging n reading fb. if reducing the data plan can make 3G traffic smoother, why not. i dun understand why ppl enjoy watching movies on smartphone...slow dl and small screen compare to monitor/tv. they watch on ipad, you never take mrt before right? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Swataction Neutral Newbie June 6, 2012 Share June 6, 2012 well affordability for a property is depending on income.. I dun deny hk ppty is more ex but so far i m getting better than wat i used to get in sg and need not afraid salary getting squeezed by cheap FT. so overall still better off. As for mobile plan BTW, my plan is the highest plan, $398/mth ~ S$65 data is unlimited not capped at 12gb and somemore got free wifi as fast as 50mbps with more than 2000 hotspots islandwide. wat best is i get a free samsung glaxay note just signing 24mth.tell me which sg teleco offers that? http://galaxy.three.com.hk/website/en/tari...ster_ms_3g.html and their internet is so much cheaper than sg. 100mbps plan plus cable only hk168/mth. http://www.hkbn.com.hk/2012/en/broadband.html Please select service plan Hot Pick Other Broadband Plan Service Plan Monthly fee bb100 Premium Plan(Broadband+free bbWI-FI) -Free Samsung GALAXY Tab 2 7.0 (Wifi version) $198 bb100 Premium Plan(Broadband+free bbWI-FI) -Free Samsung GALAXY S III $288 bb100 Combo Plan (Broadband+free Home Telephone Service +free bbWI-FI) -Free 2-mth service fee, cash voucher/ movie tickets $168 bb100 Combo Plan (Broadband+free bbTV Entertainment Plus+free bbWI-FI) -Free 2-mth service fee, cash voucher/ movie tickets $168 bb100 Combo Plan (Broadband+free bbTV Mega Full Deluxe Pack) -2 free movies viewing in Anyplex VOD Movie channel per month for 12-mths $178 and i can drive a Merc C200 2007 at HK250K ~ S$41K. 牌子: 平治 型號: C200K AV 價錢: $268,000 載客: 5 人 氣缸: 1800 c.c. (電油) 顏色: 炭灰色 更新: 2012年06月05日 波箱: 自動波 牌費: 2012年08月 瀏覽: 80 人 製造: 2007 年 里數: - 編號: 192833 登記: 2007 年 貨源: 行貨 車種: 房車 新舊: 0 手 補充: 行貨 0首 自讓 直版 真皮坐椅 記憶電椅 恒溫冷氣 安全氣袋 真皮內籠 電子錶板 電動皮椅 泊車感應 則鏡指揮燈 賣家: Antia 看車地點時間: 灣仔 下午 HK may not be the best country to stay but i can say its much better compared to sg. anyway i m not picking a fight and just wan to share my views. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bystander50 5th Gear June 6, 2012 Share June 6, 2012 not a good analogy. if majority of my customer didnt finish my food, i will reduce the quantity hence price. then those who need more, order more from me. So at the end, Singtel is trying to reap revenue by reducing quantity. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mustank Hypersonic June 6, 2012 Share June 6, 2012 So at the end, Singtel is trying to reap revenue by reducing quantity. actually, i am not sure whether by lowering quantity, revenue will go up. my impression is that these comms company will buy and install various comms equipment all accross the island. whether people use 10% or 150% of these equipment, cost is still the same to comms company (150% means more users than equipment can cope with) i guess they would save money if they dont need to buy new comms equipnment to continue to meet rising demand Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Joseph22 Turbocharged June 6, 2012 Share June 6, 2012 Saves your saliva lah... no ... no ... no... save your kBytes lah... the more he argues, the weaker his argument.... that is why i reply mah. make him argue more Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Joseph22 Turbocharged June 6, 2012 Share June 6, 2012 (edited) So at the end, Singtel is trying to reap revenue by reducing quantity. of course. they are organisation aiming to make a profit. what do you expect?? Edited June 6, 2012 by Joseph22 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Joseph22 Turbocharged June 6, 2012 Share June 6, 2012 actually, i am not sure whether by lowering quantity, revenue will go up. my impression is that these comms company will buy and install various comms equipment all accross the island. whether people use 10% or 150% of these equipment, cost is still the same to comms company (150% means more users than equipment can cope with) i guess they would save money if they dont need to buy new comms equipnment to continue to meet rising demand not just saving money. if you have higher demand, you will go for their mobile broadband for Ipad instead of now, everyone going for duo sim system. which mean their mobile broadband is lossing money, meaning they are not earning for their Ipad either. eliminate the duo Sim everyone is doing, they have a change that their mobile broadband might survice. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tigerwoods Turbocharged June 6, 2012 Share June 6, 2012 Never heard of anyone reaching 12GB/mth usage. Have you ? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Maroon5 5th Gear June 6, 2012 Share June 6, 2012 Never heard of anyone reaching 12GB/mth usage. Have you ? tat time tat siao kia go taiwan and clock 100 gb case???? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Maroon5 5th Gear June 6, 2012 Share June 6, 2012 actually, i am not sure whether by lowering quantity, revenue will go up. my impression is that these comms company will buy and install various comms equipment all accross the island. whether people use 10% or 150% of these equipment, cost is still the same to comms company (150% means more users than equipment can cope with) i guess they would save money if they dont need to buy new comms equipnment to continue to meet rising demand sure revenue go up. u know singaporeans la, at first wil boycott (thk taxi fare, coffee increase 20c) and control usage but after awhile, realise the fight is futile, wil jus LL accept our poor fate and telcos revenue goes up again. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mustank Hypersonic June 6, 2012 Share June 6, 2012 not just saving money. if you have higher demand, you will go for their mobile broadband for Ipad instead of now, everyone going for duo sim system. which mean their mobile broadband is lossing money, meaning they are not earning for their Ipad either. eliminate the duo Sim everyone is doing, they have a change that their mobile broadband might survice. i see Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mustank Hypersonic June 6, 2012 Share June 6, 2012 sure revenue go up. u know singaporeans la, at first wil boycott (thk taxi fare, coffee increase 20c) and control usage but after awhile, realise the fight is futile, wil jus LL accept our poor fate and telcos revenue goes up again. actually i think most people not affected because i think 2gb gao liao ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...