kiakcoup Neutral Newbie December 1, 2014 Share December 1, 2014 any complain for the 1.4 turbo version cruze? ↡ Advertisement 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bravo 2nd Gear December 9, 2014 Share December 9, 2014 any complain for the 1.4 turbo version cruze? I am driving the Estate. Love the shape and stance of the car. Alot of my friends who saw my car are impressed with the Estate's looks. lol Big space and most value for money in this range. The 1.4 turbo and 6speed autobox is so far so good. Pickup is no problem at all unlike the previous generation 1.6 NA class. Any other qns pls feel free to ask me. Or PM me so I can reply later. ;) 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
EagleStar Neutral Newbie December 13, 2014 Share December 13, 2014 Hi Bravo, Thanks for sharing info on Cruze Estate. I went to test drive it this afternoon. Also was impressed by the white display car. It's indeed a head turner. Can you share how's the maintenance /servicing fee of this car ? High as compared with other jap or Korean car ? Was told it's only 1st servicing is free. Anyone can comment on the new Renault Fluence diesel car ? Performance etc. Thanks! . 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yapcc 2nd Gear December 14, 2014 Share December 14, 2014 Hi Eaglestar, I own a 2013 facelifted Cruz 1.6. First servicing is just a simple battery test, a waste of time I think. The real servicing starts at 10000km for the first oil change. Each service will cost you between $200-400. I find it reasonable as its comparable to my previous Honda City, also serviced by agent. Quality of car is good and after a year and half of ownership, it still runs very well and no signs of insulation wearing out. Sound proofing is still excellent and engine feels more rev happy. I'm curious how the Fluence is like also. But I'm not confident with the build quality and durability of Renault cars though. So far, I think Chevy should be good as many of the older Optra are still running on the roads. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Baal Supersonic December 14, 2014 Share December 14, 2014 whats the worst FC for the Cruze 1.4 TC experienced. Said mostly city driving with heavy foot? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bravo 2nd Gear December 15, 2014 Share December 15, 2014 Hi Bravo, Thanks for sharing info on Cruze Estate. I went to test drive it this afternoon. Also was impressed by the white display car. It's indeed a head turner. Can you share how's the maintenance /servicing fee of this car ? High as compared with other jap or Korean car ? Was told it's only 1st servicing is free. Anyone can comment on the new Renault Fluence diesel car ? Performance etc. Thanks! . Aiyo.. u test drive liao ar? i tot i recommend u my SE.. hehe.. Got strategy to buy if u wana know. lol When I bought during my time, no free servicing leh. But i really like this car shape and design. Very nice. PM me for details. whats the worst FC for the Cruze 1.4 TC experienced. Said mostly city driving with heavy foot? Best is to ask me! lol.. cos i never hit highway.. i usually snake around on short roads. average 10km/litre. Best 12km/litre. Moderate foot. lol (day time usage only) But if u hit highway and drive long distance and night drives confirm better. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yapcc 2nd Gear December 15, 2014 Share December 15, 2014 You can do some estimation here. My Cruz 1.6 on paper has 13.5km/l FC. Based on my usage of 90% city driving and 10% highway, I get about 9km/l if I drive with a heavy foot. On better days, I get 10km/l if I'm lucky. The Cruze turbo should be slightly better. I guess you can get about 11-12km/l based on my estimate. Not to mention more power from the engine too! 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Baal Supersonic December 15, 2014 Share December 15, 2014 (edited) Thanks. 11-12km/L sounds good with the given specs. PS : Pure city drive at 10km./Litre is ok also. This means no matter what is double digit. :) Edited December 15, 2014 by Baal 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bravo 2nd Gear December 15, 2014 Share December 15, 2014 Thanks. 11-12km/L sounds good with the given specs. PS : Pure city drive at 10km./Litre is ok also. This means no matter what is double digit. :) Also dun forget mine is the estate version. So if sedan shd be slightly better. The cruze is also heavily 'armoured'. So feels very safe and HEAVY. lol..... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bravo 2nd Gear December 15, 2014 Share December 15, 2014 (edited) Now got abit of time, I try to elaborate abit more about why u shd buy this car. *Unless u really hate this car shape and design, if not u should not read the following: PRICE: If u compare a 2012 toyota altis vs a 2012 chevrolet cruze sedan. So now if u walk into their respective showrooms. Comparing both above sedans, brand new. The price difference shdb say $10-15k right? (10k price difference I can change sports rims and keep difference in my pocket for rainy days ;) So for the purpose of resale in near future, shouldbe also fair to say the toyota may fetch a better price over a chevy? 1.4Turbo ENGINE specs: For this price range (where cat A n B not much difference) the best value of bhp and torque? Cruze 1.4T will win hands down. The Cruze also runs on 6 speed autobox and shouldbe quite engaging over a regular cvt? Altis 121bhp Cruze 138 bhp and way better torque. Equipment level: Altis: internal panels very spartan n plasticky. Local fitted headunit. Comes with Day running light. Alpine: Difference - Navitrak gps/touch screen and slightly better for internal panelling over altis. Also all 4 doors are keyless entry, rain sensors wipers, auto headlights/home light, auto fold side mirrors, traction controls. I heard that the Cruze sedan comes with remote rear boot release, but the estate doesnt comes with auto tailgate. Pls check. Showroom/workshop/Lounge Borneo: my experience is the Sales staff is well dressed and product proud. They can rehearse the specs off the product sheet well too. But if u ask any technical qns, they usually will get called off guard. lol Alpine: Sales staffs are dressed in Man U theme attire cos Chevrolet is now the main sponser for the EPL club. They usually are hungry for sales and quite accomodating. Product knowledge is quite good becos they only have few models on sale! lol Borneo workshop: not bad, can see from outside? Alpine workshop: Cannot see so cannot comment. But they greet you by the surname when u arrive. How they do it I duno? lol maybe cos its by appmt and they have cctv to recognise ur car plate. Also after servicing they will wash your car. Lounge experience at alpine is ok. They share with Opel and they serve Latte/milo etc via machine and also curry puffs in the morning. Not too sure with Borneo thou. Edited December 15, 2014 by Bravo Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
HP_Lee 5th Gear December 15, 2014 Share December 15, 2014 Hi Eaglestar, I own a 2013 facelifted Cruz 1.6. First servicing is just a simple battery test, a waste of time I think. The real servicing starts at 10000km for the first oil change. Each service will cost you between $200-400. I find it reasonable as its comparable to my previous Honda City, also serviced by agent. Quality of car is good and after a year and half of ownership, it still runs very well and no signs of insulation wearing out. Sound proofing is still excellent and engine feels more rev happy. I'm curious how the Fluence is like also. But I'm not confident with the build quality and durability of Renault cars though. So far, I think Chevy should be good as many of the older Optra are still running on the roads. I have had been off online awhile. By the way, mine Cruze 1.6 is a 100254km is still running well and quieter than my C180. In fact FC is better than my C180 too. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Baal Supersonic December 15, 2014 Share December 15, 2014 Thanks for the info. Another concern is say after the free servicing, how much do spares cost at WS outside? Eg, izit at the mid point between a toyota & Vw?Btw, they lauched : the Sonic Sedan : http://www.sgcarmart.com/new_cars/newcars_specs.php?CarCode=11602should have come with the 1.6NA that previously powered the Cruze instead of this 1.4NA, though the 6AT is nice. Now got abit of time, I try to elaborate abit more about why u shd buy this car. *Unless u really hate this car shape and design, if not u should not read the following: PRICE: If u compare a 2012 toyota altis vs a 2012 chevrolet cruze sedan. So now if u walk into their respective showrooms. Comparing both above sedans, brand new. The price difference shdb say $10-15k right? (10k price difference I can change sports rims and keep difference in my pocket for rainy days ;) So for the purpose of resale in near future, shouldbe also fair to say the toyota may fetch a better price over a chevy? 1.4Turbo ENGINE specs: For this price range (where cat A n B not much difference) the best value of bhp and torque? Cruze 1.4T will win hands down. The Cruze also runs on 6 speed autobox and shouldbe quite engaging over a regular cvt? Altis 121bhp Cruze 138 bhp and way better torque. Equipment level: Altis: internal panels very spartan n plasticky. Local fitted headunit. Comes with Day running light. Alpine: Difference - Navitrak gps/touch screen and slightly better for internal panelling over altis. Also all 4 doors are keyless entry, rain sensors wipers, auto headlights/home light, auto fold side mirrors, traction controls. I heard that the Cruze sedan comes with remote rear boot release, but the estate doesnt comes with auto tailgate. Pls check. Showroom/workshop/Lounge Borneo: my experience is the Sales staff is well dressed and product proud. They can rehearse the specs off the product sheet well too. But if u ask any technical qns, they usually will get called off guard. lol Alpine: Sales staffs are dressed in Man U theme attire cos Chevrolet is now the main sponser for the EPL club. They usually are hungry for sales and quite accomodating. Product knowledge is quite good becos they only have few models on sale! lol Borneo workshop: not bad, can see from outside? Alpine workshop: Cannot see so cannot comment. But they greet you by the surname when u arrive. How they do it I duno? lol maybe cos its by appmt and they have cctv to recognise ur car plate. Also after servicing they will wash your car. Lounge experience at alpine is ok. They share with Opel and they serve Latte/milo etc via machine and also curry puffs in the morning. Not too sure with Borneo thou. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bravo 2nd Gear December 16, 2014 Share December 16, 2014 Thanks for the info. Another concern is say after the free servicing, how much do spares cost at WS outside? Eg, izit at the mid point between a toyota & Vw? Btw, they lauched : the Sonic Sedan : http://www.sgcarmart.com/new_cars/newcars_specs.php?CarCode=11602 should have come with the 1.6NA that previously powered the Cruze instead of this 1.4NA, though the 6AT is nice. They brought in the 1.4 version becos of cat A. (alpine no cars in cat A, so bring in the sonic boomZ!) I think also cos they wana differentiate between their bread n butter cruze series. So sonic willbe for smaller family car buyers. Servicing for os workshop shdb abit more then traditional Jap cars. But if u save $10-15k in car price... u know u can service for a long long long time. ;) 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yapcc 2nd Gear December 16, 2014 Share December 16, 2014 Wah Bravo, knowing your Cruze turbo clocks in about 10km/l makes me feel better. Mine always gives about 9.5km/l on average and I always wondered if the Turbo will be much better. Anyway, the Turbo definitely has much more power than my 1.6l engine. I test drove it twice over two occasions and every test drive, I was encouraged by my Sales Engineer to push it harder. That's how cars should be sold I believe. I'm loving my Cruze and each time I drive it, I always wondered why on earth people will get Altis for a higher price and less driving fun. I love the weighty steering of the Cruze. I tried the turbo version and steering is definitely lighter as it's electric power steering instead of hydraulic. If asked about maintenance, I don't think it's worth servicing outside. Yes you might save a bit but they only service what you ask to do. I had bad experience with my previous car which was serviced outside. Ended up with lots of problem that could be avoided if I stick to the agent. Seems like the Sonic is quite bad. My Sales Engineer didn't even recommend me for test drive for that one. He said totally cannot be compared with Cruze. I can sort of agree as the 1.4l engine can hardly compare to its nearest competitor, the Vios and City (OK maybe can only fight in price). 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bravo 2nd Gear December 17, 2014 Share December 17, 2014 Wah Bravo, knowing your Cruze turbo clocks in about 10km/l makes me feel better. Mine always gives about 9.5km/l on average and I always wondered if the Turbo will be much better. Anyway, the Turbo definitely has much more power than my 1.6l engine. I test drove it twice over two occasions and every test drive, I was encouraged by my Sales Engineer to push it harder. That's how cars should be sold I believe. I'm loving my Cruze and each time I drive it, I always wondered why on earth people will get Altis for a higher price and less driving fun. I love the weighty steering of the Cruze. I tried the turbo version and steering is definitely lighter as it's electric power steering instead of hydraulic. If asked about maintenance, I don't think it's worth servicing outside. Yes you might save a bit but they only service what you ask to do. I had bad experience with my previous car which was serviced outside. Ended up with lots of problem that could be avoided if I stick to the agent. Seems like the Sonic is quite bad. My Sales Engineer didn't even recommend me for test drive for that one. He said totally cannot be compared with Cruze. I can sort of agree as the 1.4l engine can hardly compare to its nearest competitor, the Vios and City (OK maybe can only fight in price). Hi Yap, My mileage is so so becos I usually ply short routes/distance/day time driving. Last week i drove from east to west.. so base on my meters, i should get a good mileage in this tank. easily 12km/L. I hated the driving experience with toyota, cos the Sales like to talk till the brand is so good and powerful, but when i test drive they ask me to be easy on the pedal. Btw I test drove the wish and I can share with all potential buyers that the 1.4turbo chevy has more torque and even though its slightly heavier, it pulls way better then the toyota wish. Actually if i am not wrong, the Cruze is still on hydraulic steering. Cos i like the steering feel when i do turnings and handling on this car. ;) Regarding servicing outside workshop, unless u knw the workshop quality/honesty/pricing u maybe right to just stick to Alpine. For me now, its becos of warranty so aiya just stick to them until i get bored of them. I have no problems finding workshop outside to do chevrolet in future. Plenty of them cannot wait to service the car. For me, I really test drove many cars before i made this decision. No joke and the lists are as follows, Toyota wish, Toyota altis, Mazda 5, Ford focus estate, Hyundai i40 estate, Kia k5, k3, VW jetta, subaru xv, Chevy orlando, Chevy estate 2.0 diesel turbo, Opel Astra tourer, Opel Zafira tourer, Audi A4, Honda Stream 1.8 etc etc and some I didnt bother to test as the price range or features I dont really like or need. With the recent scams by PI dealers, I seriously urge buyers to buy with caution unless u really know who you buying from. Its always better to buy from authorised distributor with solid reference and financial standings. Also imho try not to buy a PI car that the local dealers dun carry as you never know when you have an accident you may never be able to purchase even a bumper. eg. if you buy from a PI mercs at least worse case scenario, you still able to purchase from the parts dept in C&C. Always happy sharing. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yapcc 2nd Gear December 17, 2014 Share December 17, 2014 Hi Bravo, With regards to the steering, your turbo version is definitely electric type, though I must admit the feel is still very good. Feels very different from my hydraulic type even after 2 test drives. Listen carefully to the whirring of the motor as you turn your steering wheel. That's the characteristic of electric power steering system. Unlike you, I only tested the new Vios and Elantra before making my decision. Vios was worse than my previous 2006 Honda City, so definitely out. The Elantra was quite attractive but the lack of road feel and tiny reverse put me off. Ultimately, my wife liked the Cruze for its comfort level and the unbeatable price. Your usage pattern is very similar to mine. My ride is usually for day use too and very short distances. Each drive is less than 10km, and sometimes, the engine would have just warmed up before I reach my destination. Its a glorified taxi for my wife and kids. ;) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hamburger Hypersonic December 17, 2014 Share December 17, 2014 Unlike you, I only tested the new Vios and Elantra before making my decision. Vios was worse than my previous 2006 Honda City, so definitely out. The Elantra was quite attractive but the lack of road feel and tiny reverse put me off. Ultimately, my wife liked the Cruze for its comfort level and the unbeatable price. errr...whats that??? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Watwheels Supersonic December 17, 2014 Share December 17, 2014 It's not fair to compare the Altis engine with Cruze engine, NA vs turbocharged. Cannot compare. The torque of the 1.4L turbo is 200Nm from below 2000rpm to 4000rpm. While the Altis is 154Nm at around 4000rpm. But the power to weight ratio will have a different say. The Altis is confirm lighter dan the Cruze. So when it comes to acceleration, 0-100km/hr I think both will have similar timings. I think the drive from both cars will tell you which is better or more fun to drive. ↡ Advertisement 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...