Hephaestus Clutched June 3, 2012 Share June 3, 2012 Integration: A foreigner's take 04:45 AM Jun 04, 2012 FROM Acmad Toquero Macarimbang As a foreigner working here, I appreciate the efforts and simple gestures my Singaporean colleagues, new friends and the Malay family I live with have shown me. Even introducing me to nasi lemak helped to make me feel welcomed. I see Singapore as a non-confrontational society, where people tend to keep their angst within their communities. This is also the case in other large cities and countries with many immigrants. But there seems to be a missing link: Social relationships that need to be forged by each community. Everyone should interact with one another's communities at a personal level. I leave the discussion about Singapore's immigration policy to experts. As an individual and a non-Singaporean, I look to myself to build my relationship with locals in a manner that would maintain or bring more understanding between us. People from various parts of the world came here, many settling down, because we were attracted to what Singapore could offer. We should take care of these economic opportunities afforded to us. In my case, to express gratitude for being welcomed, I feel that I should show respect for my job, Singapore, its citizens and those who choose to make a new home here. I have Ten Commandments as my guide to becoming a good foreign worker here. I shall appreciate the work I do, for it is an opportunity to explore my professional and personal capacities in a foreign land. I shall ask and answer questions politely, not just to locals but to everyone in the street, the office, the hawker centres, at school and at home. I shall not talk too loudly on the train when speaking in my language over the telephone or with people of my race. I shall show respect to each culture and tradition and stay away from comments that hurt the feelings of any community. I shall respect Singaporean social norms. I shall study the local culture, food and gestures, so that I am neither alienated nor feel strange about the unique ways of doing things here. I shall not wait for my local colleagues and neighbours to greet and smile at me. I shall not conclude that a certain race or nationality is unacceptably different if I encounter a situation with one or few persons from a particular community. I shall try to learn simple greetings in Chinese, Malay, Tamil and other local languages. I shall join activities of national interest to interact with local culture, as a way of integrating and letting locals know that I care. Integration is the most visible way of showing how I value myself as a part of the Singapore community. I can attain this with the help of self-help groups, which understand the need for communities to cooperate in building healthy relationships. Singapore is a fine city, indeed. And I shall be deeply grateful for the opportunity to experience the diversity of cultures and peoples here. URL http://www.todayonline.com/Voices/EDC12060...foreigners-take Copyright 2012 MediaCorp Pte Ltd | All Rights Reserved ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
KARTer 2nd Gear June 4, 2012 Share June 4, 2012 When in Rome, ............... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Maxus-MIFA9 Supersonic June 4, 2012 Share June 4, 2012 On 6/4/2012 at 12:08 AM, KARTer said: When in Rome, ............... Do what the Roman do, having sex all day in a big public spa..... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
KARTer 2nd Gear June 4, 2012 Share June 4, 2012 On 6/4/2012 at 12:14 AM, Picnic06 said: Do what the Roman do, having sex all day in a big public spa..... Shhh....... Don't tell every body, else ,the spa will be too crowded, just a few will do..... Keep some space for the Romans ie the locals, like u and me, Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kspchew 2nd Gear June 4, 2012 Share June 4, 2012 On 6/4/2012 at 12:14 AM, Picnic06 said: Do what the Roman do, having sex all day in a big public spa..... and risk of kena STD and AIDS? Like the chinese saying 入乡随俗。 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Maxus-MIFA9 Supersonic June 4, 2012 Share June 4, 2012 On 6/4/2012 at 12:17 AM, KARTer said: Shhh....... Don't tell every body, else ,the spa will be too crowded, just a few will do..... Keep some space for the Romans ie the locals, like u and me, Just why ppl like to use Rome as an example.... Their role model are not that rosy after all.... Look at how many of their football clubs taking $$$$ & get points deducted... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
SimonTan 2nd Gear June 4, 2012 Share June 4, 2012 Funny how come so many Good FT letters lately. Telling citizens that they obey and accept NS and love to be at peace with Singapore. This particular letter not so simple....I got the feeling that there is a smidgen of Satirical pun in it. Well played. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
KARTer 2nd Gear June 4, 2012 Share June 4, 2012 On 6/4/2012 at 12:22 AM, Picnic06 said: Just why ppl like to use Rome as an example.... Their role model are not that rosy after all.... Look at how many of their football clubs taking $$$$ & get points deducted... Rome ancient city mah, during the same era, maybe ancient cities in china or Egypt didn't have public bath/spas, so left with Rome for people to quote. Btw, the point is follow the locals, in this context, bad or good maybe is not the point Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
JackRabbit 3rd Gear June 4, 2012 Share June 4, 2012 (edited) On 6/4/2012 at 12:22 AM, Picnic06 said: Just why ppl like to use Rome as an example.... because... once upon a time... all roads led to Rome. The road system of the Ancient Romans was one of the greatest engineering accomplishments of its time ... As Julius said... veni, vidi, vici http://library.thinkquest.org/13406/rr/ Edited June 4, 2012 by JackRabbit Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hephaestus Clutched June 4, 2012 Author Share June 4, 2012 On 6/4/2012 at 12:26 AM, SimonTan said: Funny how come so many Good FT letters lately. Telling citizens that they obey and accept NS and love to be at peace with Singapore. This particular letter not so simple....I got the feeling that there is a smidgen of Satirical pun in it. Well played. got exactly 10 "I shall" machiam like 10 commandments Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Maxus-MIFA9 Supersonic June 4, 2012 Share June 4, 2012 On 6/4/2012 at 1:00 AM, JackRabbit said: because... once upon a time... all roads led to Rome. The road system of the Ancient Romans was one of the greatest engineering accomplishments of its time ... As Julius said... veni, vidi, vici http://library.thinkquest.org/13406/rr/ Ha..ha..ha.. thats ancient ppl thinking that all roads lead to Rome Sure all roads will lead to Rome cos the king is there mar... and also its their capital... Ancient China got Chang-An, Russia got Moscow, US got Washington DC... etc... Just like our neighbour's MY, all highways lead you to KL... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Scion Turbocharged June 4, 2012 Share June 4, 2012 actually in almost all places, a foreigner just smiles and be polite, and the locals will be nice to him too no one likes yaya papaya Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hephaestus Clutched June 4, 2012 Author Share June 4, 2012 Maybe ICA should issue this 10 commandments booklet when foreigners apply for work permits/employment pass/permanent residency, and quiz them in English? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Maxus-MIFA9 Supersonic June 4, 2012 Share June 4, 2012 On 6/4/2012 at 12:26 AM, SimonTan said: Funny how come so many Good FT letters lately. Telling citizens that they obey and accept NS and love to be at peace with Singapore. Hmmm....... they had been reading our forums and gets.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Maroon5 5th Gear June 4, 2012 Share June 4, 2012 On 6/4/2012 at 12:22 AM, Picnic06 said: Just why ppl like to use Rome as an example.... Their role model are not that rosy after all.... Look at how many of their football clubs taking $$$$ & get points deducted... one more...all roads lead to rome....ego sia... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Maroon5 5th Gear June 4, 2012 Share June 4, 2012 On 6/4/2012 at 12:26 AM, SimonTan said: Funny how come so many Good FT letters lately. Telling citizens that they obey and accept NS and love to be at peace with Singapore. This particular letter not so simple....I got the feeling that there is a smidgen of Satirical pun in it. Well played. end of the day doesnt matter if this is calculated order from the top. if the FT is sincere in integrating w us, he wil b well received eventually and im sure we do not need sh*t million dollar programs to force integrate. unless one is interested to know who eventually wins these contracts. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Silver_blade Turbocharged June 4, 2012 Share June 4, 2012 The Roman had great influence over a large part of the world and of course their great civilasation ....so not surprise if people use Rome as an example. Like the Mongolian led by Genghis Khan...it is quite hard to believe they can conquered almost half the world on foot. Roman structure, artifacts and their descendants, etc could be found in as far east as China. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...