Acewin 4th Gear December 6, 2012 Share December 6, 2012 Yes correct 300 kena axed. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Duckduck Turbocharged December 6, 2012 Share December 6, 2012 I heard Global foundries retrenched 300 people last week thats not the only company retrenching... financial services alot recently... if this slowdown continues there will b many more next yr Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wind30 Turbocharged December 6, 2012 Share December 6, 2012 (edited) I heard the next quarter will be bad for electronics. Edited December 6, 2012 by Wind30 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Zogel Clutched December 6, 2012 Share December 6, 2012 thats not the only company retrenching... financial services alot recently... if this slowdown continues there will b many more next yr If we have save during the last few years, most of us can tide over the down turn... (even if we lose our jobs). Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tjkbeluga 5th Gear December 8, 2012 Share December 8, 2012 Just heard from ex-colleague yesterday, company fired the first shot liao.... 2 staff got retrenched.... One is in charge of RMA and another does internal network support.... Actually knfa not surprised too as they srm to be very eng most of the time..... The RMA guy actually got retrenched twice by this same company.... Dont think it'll ever happen again.... Though I'm confident I won't get it had I stayed, I can't help feeling relieved for making the move... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jasonjst 3rd Gear December 8, 2012 Share December 8, 2012 Just heard from ex-colleague yesterday, company fired the first shot liao.... 2 staff got retrenched.... One is in charge of RMA and another does internal network support.... Actually knfa not surprised too as they srm to be very eng most of the time..... The RMA guy actually got retrenched twice by this same company.... Dont think it'll ever happen again.... Though I'm confident I won't get it had I stayed, I can't help feeling relieved for making the move... So jialat meh ? TV everyday said cannot find workers , going to get a lot of housewife , ah kong , ah ma back to work leh Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tjkbeluga 5th Gear December 8, 2012 Share December 8, 2012 So jialat meh ? TV everyday said cannot find workers , going to get a lot of housewife , ah kong , ah ma back to work leh Where got such thing every industry us rosy one.... My excompany is into network security, specializing in microsoft solution...mid last year, ms decided to move away from network security biz to move into cloud solution. This affected their bread and butter products. They have tried to preemp this quite some time back but newly hired CTO came in early last year and came our with super lofty idea which while sound superb, is impossible to implement, given our current knowledge pool and manpower. He was fired after about 9 months. Then another took over which not long after I left.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sugar Neutral Newbie December 8, 2012 Share December 8, 2012 are there any retrenchment from banks? never hear any news.. any one knows? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hosaybo 6th Gear December 8, 2012 Share December 8, 2012 alot of the workers in demand are in the service line..... spa, sales etc not the higher level jobs. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jasonjst 3rd Gear December 8, 2012 Share December 8, 2012 Where got such thing every industry us rosy one.... My excompany is into network security, specializing in microsoft solution...mid last year, ms decided to move away from network security biz to move into cloud solution. This affected their bread and butter products. They have tried to preemp this quite some time back but newly hired CTO came in early last year and came our with super lofty idea which while sound superb, is impossible to implement, given our current knowledge pool and manpower. He was fired after about 9 months. Then another took over which not long after I left.... Sorry your type of industry too chim , Ah kong , Ah ma cannot help liao , maybe FTs from India can . Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
EricTeh Neutral Newbie December 8, 2012 Share December 8, 2012 if there is no retrenchment i am worried Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Babyt 4th Gear December 8, 2012 Share December 8, 2012 im waiting to be retrenched by WD but no news...damm. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Albeniz Turbocharged December 8, 2012 Author Share December 8, 2012 are there any retrenchment from banks? never hear any news.. any one knows? Citibank recently announced retrenchment of 11,000 employees worldwide. Is Singapore branch affected? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dj_spike 2nd Gear December 8, 2012 Share December 8, 2012 I am one of them who already tio. My former company hired people without ever considering the long term. Since I'm on contract, there goes. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
13177 Hypersonic December 8, 2012 Share December 8, 2012 Retrenchment is ok if got retrenchment payout. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Picanto 3rd Gear December 8, 2012 Share December 8, 2012 Citibank recently announced retrenchment of 11,000 employees worldwide. Is Singapore branch affected? no news so far for the singapre side. no news = good news? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tjkbeluga 5th Gear December 8, 2012 Share December 8, 2012 Retrenchment is ok if got retrenchment payout. My 2 excolleague who got retrenched din get anything.... :-( Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Edwinatie December 8, 2012 Share December 8, 2012 I recently just " tio" also, I also on contract term so they just pay me 2weeks as stated on contract. WTF. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...