CKP 3rd Gear June 2, 2012 Share June 2, 2012 CKP, I do not wish to be engaged in a troll war. People who could not take criticisms can't go far in life. I wish you are not one of them. Good nite. "People who could not take criticisms can't go far in life. " You STILL cannot comprehend the difference in commenting/criticising on his (poor) choices/judgement (Go AHEAD, shoot all you in his poor choices in life) from comments/criticism on his (lack of) character. These are two different matters. You are mistaken to think I am making this difference up. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Donut Supercharged June 2, 2012 Share June 2, 2012 This is the problem when garment doesnt want to have minimum wage level; $4 per hour. It's a disgrace for other countries to know this. We claim to be world class. Is our salary world class too? Anyway this guy can consider cab driver. Read that the garment going to improve the number of cabs by having some integrated system. They need more relief drivers to use the idling cabs. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hussaini20 3rd Gear June 2, 2012 Share June 2, 2012 I'm actually happy that he's working part time despite his problems at getting a full time job. At least he still have the drive to work. At least, a source of income still flows in. He is not a lazy person.. A lazy one will just sit at home and rot all day. Neither is he a loser. A loser is one who gives up hope of even securing a PT job. Yes i do agree that he should re-train. But he is also not in a good financial position to take up courses. Bearing in mind that he has to stay frugal just to survive on a daily basis. Maybe he has not enough savings himself for rainy days. Yes, he should be blamed for not being frugal before but heck, most single guys dont give a hoot about savings.not everyone's perfect. To this guy, never stop believing in yourself. Work hard and with an open mind and heart, things will come your way soon. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Babyt 4th Gear June 2, 2012 Share June 2, 2012 got degree doesnt mean can teach. its wise not to take up teaching if u have no passion cos its not easy. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Seanboi 1st Gear June 2, 2012 Share June 2, 2012 He has a degree from NTU. He could try to become a tuition teacher or something. Even teaching at primary level should fetch him > $4/hr, right? Most parents prefer/request for female tutors. Alternatively he can apply to be a relief teacher at some schools. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Good-Carbuyer 1st Gear June 2, 2012 Share June 2, 2012 I am puzzled: how could degree-worshipping arrived here in such pityful manner? Equally puzzling some other subjects are very specialised and not recognised for degree graduation/certification. It is really supply and demand? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
RadX Moderator June 2, 2012 Share June 2, 2012 got degree doesnt mean can teach. its wise not to take up teaching if u have no passion cos its not easy. Very right. dun think that teaching is a dumping ground. Lots of ppl think u can get and teach as the last alternative. If you dun hv a passion for it, u wun last long. Worse is you are creating a negative impact on the lives you are in contact with. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nemo6089 1st Gear June 2, 2012 Share June 2, 2012 Get this Louis guy to pm me, I give him a $1800 ( with overtime can be around $2000 ) job anytime, but must be willing to do shift work. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
SimonTan 2nd Gear June 2, 2012 Share June 2, 2012 He may accept the $2000 job your offered. But but, knowing that he is actively looking for a higher pay job. How can a employer train and hope to retain this fellow for long? Surely one side must trust fully and the other accept his fate and work hard to prove his worth. I am not sure both sides are in tune in this local market anymore. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hondacub777 6th Gear June 2, 2012 Share June 2, 2012 Can someone tell him try working at Macs? At least they are paid $5 an hour with meals provided. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ysc3 Twincharged June 3, 2012 Share June 3, 2012 This is an unbelievable story. I cannot believe it. Even if he work as a taxi driver, can earn much more. He has simply given up on life and job, that might explain why he can even accept $4/hr job. To spite himself and self-blaming. He claimed he always in failure analysis in Various companies. I wonder is he a job hopper,or is there a personnel attitude problem that he has. The pun is he failed to analyse his own failure in jobs security and did not self inspect his own skills and capabilities. no pun intended, but today's ST had a report (a boy fell from condo) ... the father is a taxi driver and the condo is in Bukit Timah. So you are right, SOME cabbies do make a good living. that aside, the thing is that most ppl nowadays do not only want to land a job. they want to find something that they like. Everybody wants to do something they like, but life in reality is seldom reciprocal. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ysc3 Twincharged June 3, 2012 Share June 3, 2012 If u have a loser mentality, even if your head is full of knowledge, u will still a loser. Why must you let others to decide what you can get or achieve? Use yr bloody brain to think of ways to get it, stop wasting the time to complain abt problems, spend time to find the solutions. not really loser mentality here ... but in contrast, a winner mentality. apparently the writer cannot go below and start all over again(lose). die die must be in his present state or even better(win), so just sit and wait and blame the rest of the world lor .... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Albeniz Turbocharged June 3, 2012 Share June 3, 2012 With the failure analysis experience, he could try to become a vendor of the equipments that he has used before. However, agree that in the industry, connection with people is sometimes needed to secure a good position. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Freestylers09 5th Gear June 3, 2012 Share June 3, 2012 IT and engineering are different to a huge extend... looks like u are neither from these 2 fields and dun even bother to find out... juz like ppl will tink working in bank is always a banker and fetch high salary... i used to from IT industry sector and few friends in it.. for Engineering, which type i not sure he is in, i from M&E too unless u tell me he is deskhelp IT.other than that, all my frends are doing v fine in various IT industry likewise for Engineering ,from M&E to Shipping Engineering Unless Semi Con..but still this story doesnt convince me Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
1fast1 Supersonic June 3, 2012 Share June 3, 2012 (edited) Some will just rush to condemn people who are down as losers. It probably is a cultural and social conditioning here. This doesn't just ring of truth, it peals it out like church bells on Sunday morn. Many Singaporeans don't seem to be able to feel good about themselves unless it involves making others feel worse about themselves. It's hardly a trait unique to Sg, but it's so damn common here that it almost typifies the population. The thing I hate most about Singapore is the soul-crushing schadenfreude. It's why pathetic trolling "news" sites like STOMP still thrive. It's why mediawhore bitches like Xiaxue still turn a quick buck. And it's why we remain a 3rd world country in mentality. Edited June 3, 2012 by Turboflat4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Evillusion Supersonic June 3, 2012 Share June 3, 2012 Donno what to say! With the onslaught of foreign talent here there are still pple who can give negative comments. Shouldnt we be helping a fellow singaporean who is in a doldrum instead of attacking his character. At over 35 u chances of getting a job is rather difficult as one will vying with the younger workforce just out of the education system n raring to go. I hope thoe that came out with negative comments will never face the same circumstances. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Seaweed 1st Gear June 3, 2012 Share June 3, 2012 RADX ?????? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Felipe 3rd Gear June 3, 2012 Share June 3, 2012 got degree doesnt mean can teach. its wise not to take up teaching if u have no passion cos its not easy. N we say this guy cannot take hardship...ironic. He needs to make gd enuf money now, easy or not is not the issue anymore. Can teach first n meantime keep looking. In tough times, passion can always come later. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...