ST: 1 in 6 are millionaires

conclusion from the thread and the replies here :

If you come to mycarforum.com so much, you probably wont be that 1 of the 6.

Me included. boo hoooooooooooooooo ~~~~

Yeah, booo hoooo hoooo... [bigcry]

As a property agent I see many of my colleagues driving BMW and MERCEDES and millionaires, I guess to be millionaire you should do a sales job.

Household means husband and wife.....and perhaps plus father n mother combined!

If the CPF money inclusive, then it seems reasonable.

If not, then I am truely impressed with the wealth of Singaporeans.

Really nice to know the gov has helped the citizens to achieve this.

Driving a BMW or Merc does not mean you are a millionaire. It means you are owning negative equity.

yeah lor, driving merc / bmw even if fully paid also does not mean you are millionaire

Edited by Throttle2

Nowadays, I don't buy Straits Times.

Maybe the Classified Ad section is the only portion left worthy of reading.

Too much propaganda. 154.

KNN.............base on value of the place we go back and sleep at night..........the value of the four wheels............the CPF that can never withdraw........and some savings..................i think 1 in 5 are millionaires lah.............. [laugh] [laugh] [laugh]

You maybe right. But this number includes the new FTs also, who are HNW. [laugh]

This is propaganda at its best. They tells us 1 in 6 households are millionaires but failed to tell us that at least 1 in 6 households are living on household income of not exceedng S$2k/mth. So there..

thats why i never care about such stats.

all i do is observe the supermarket queue, the busstop, the MRT, the hawker center, the malls, the students, the workers, the maids, the teachers, the officer workers etc.... they tell a better picture.

1 in 6 gets wealthier while the other 5 gets stagnant or worst reduction in wealth. Income gap only widens.

In this day and age, if a working household cannot even muster $500K in accumulated wealth over 20 years of working life, seriously, they ought to shoot themselves.

2 working adults x 20 years x $3.5K a month x 12 months a year = $1.68M

It's no big deal.

In this day and age, if a working household cannot even muster $500K in accumulated wealth over 20 years of working life, seriously, they ought to shoot themselves.

2 working adults x 20 years x $3.5K a month x 12 months a year = $1.68M

It's no big deal.

Yah, but the 1:6 household will rake in:

20 years x $500,000 (and more) = >>$10M!

And these are not even the top 10%.

Prolly just the upper middle class.

I am not sure, I think bank don't loan property agents much because they deem income as inconsistent, so maybe it's fully paid up in cash. Maybe for them its to haolian that they have arrived, too many people think they own the roads because they drive a BMW or Merc.

does it include new citizen like jet li and gong li who are filty rich but do not live in spore

and the new PR facebook saverin? assuming all 3 got a property (household) in spore.

if yes, there you got 3 to 18 ordinary people already [laugh]