Rav4x4 1st Gear June 3, 2012 Share June 3, 2012 Yap I can't afford this type of car at all. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rubbermat Clutched June 3, 2012 Share June 3, 2012 Yap I can't afford this type of car at all. Hardly have enough monthly. How can afford a volvo. But frankly speaking, my volvo is very big, keyless entry. Just need a card to go up & down. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Timbuktu Clutched June 3, 2012 Share June 3, 2012 S60 reliabilty 3.5 is POORER than C-Class 4.5. Overall S60 rated LOWER score than C-Class. 8.4 vs 8.8. Now most of us wouldn't want to own an unreliable car, would we? http://usnews.rankingsandreviews.com/cars-...60/Reliability/ http://usnews.rankingsandreviews.com/cars-...s-Benz_C-Class/ Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Timbuktu Clutched June 3, 2012 Share June 3, 2012 (edited) Other experts' rating for S60 reliability lagging far behind C-Class 7.8 vs 9.8 very significant hor. http://autos.msn.com/research/vip/Reliabil...0&trimid=-1 http://autos.msn.com/research/vip/default....p;model=C-Class Edited June 3, 2012 by Timbuktu Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Timbuktu Clutched June 3, 2012 Share June 3, 2012 Auto Express Reliabilty charts: C-Class ranked 18th S60 ranked low 49th 21 cars, all more reliable than the S60, separates them! Pathetically unreliable leh! http://www.autoexpress.co.uk/carreviews/dr...eliability.html Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Eyke Supercharged June 3, 2012 Share June 3, 2012 Auto Express Reliabilty charts: C-Class ranked 18th S60 ranked low 49th that was 2010, so doesn't apply to the new model now Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Timbuktu Clutched June 3, 2012 Share June 3, 2012 (edited) 2012 JD Power Reliabilty ratings, as reported by Edmunds: Overall reliability: C-class 4.0 vs S60 3.0 ... Merc wins overall Body & Interior Quality (Mechanical): C-Class 5.0 vs S60 3.0 ... Merc wins Powertrain Quality (Design): C-Class 4.5 vs S60 3.5 ... Merc wins http://www.edmunds.com/mercedes-benz/c-cla....html?sub=sedan http://www.edmunds.com/volvo/s60/2012/reliability.html Edited June 3, 2012 by Timbuktu Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Timbuktu Clutched June 3, 2012 Share June 3, 2012 These are 2012 ratings. S60 reliabilty 3.5 is POORER than C-Class 4.5. Overall S60 rated LOWER score than C-Class. 8.4 vs 8.8. Now most of us wouldn't want to own an unreliable car, would we? http://usnews.rankingsandreviews.com/cars-...60/Reliability/ http://usnews.rankingsandreviews.com/cars-...s-Benz_C-Class/ Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Timbuktu Clutched June 3, 2012 Share June 3, 2012 These are 2012 ratings too. Other experts' rating for S60 reliability lagging far behind C-Class 7.8 vs 9.8 very significant hor. http://autos.msn.com/research/vip/Reliabil...0&trimid=-1 http://autos.msn.com/research/vip/default....p;model=C-Class Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kangz 3rd Gear June 3, 2012 Share June 3, 2012 Why bother about that joker? If you tell him the Volvo is better at A, he will tell you the Merc is better at B. When he has nothing else to say, he will say the 3 pointed star on the steering wheel alone trumps everything. The comparison of reliability is even more absurb. Using his powderful logic, the Japanese cars are way better than his C Class because they are far more reliable. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Timbuktu Clutched June 3, 2012 Share June 3, 2012 Regardless. The bottom line is: the C-Class is so much more reliable than the S60 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Micarforum 1st Gear June 3, 2012 Share June 3, 2012 erm, actually i got almost the same price as amazon. just 1k more. so yar. quite happy with it and most impt is free servicing and maintenance for 3 years/ 60k km. i think have keyless entry. cos the se was telling me if battery die, passenger side is the only side can open by key and is all buttons on the front doors. yar lor. if i really want, i can custom a bodykit outside. and not so ex. i am in agreement with your statements. no matter what, the s60 feels safer then the c class. its just a personal feel and not backed up by any stats or whatsoever. the c class feel very vulnerable when i test drove and sat on it. one thing i like about the s60 is that the car will hold on a hill even after u have disengaged the footbrake. very good! will post pics when i get the car. anyway, can any bros recemmoned anywhere to do paint protection detail. i wanna do it once i get my car str from the ad. the mistake i did with my other cars was that i did not do it at once and feel heart paint when the paint was chipped. keyless drive is not found on T4 if we go by the specs list on http://www.volvocars.com/sg/all-cars/volvo...1d-db5f70b45a5d Can you please verify this with your SE? i know sure have the keyless car start, just press the start button, but when you need to unlock / lock the doors of the car, will need to press the button on the remote rite? oh haha, didn't know it will hold on hill without engaging the footbrake. anyway, the "handbrake" is a button on the right, not a lever on the left or a pedal, not as good as merc's auto handbrake, but still more elegant than using lever/pedals to "handbrake". since it will auto release when you step on accelerator. just need to be careful when you drive back other ppl's cars with handbrake, else may forget to release it when you drive off. The best value for money with long warranty i have found was CS-II glass coating, 3 years warranty, 1 free maintenance (which essentially means a complete re-do of the glass coating) within the 3 years, if the gloss level drop below 10% or something, they will redo for you too (i think). the glass coating supposed to be harder, thus more resistant against scratches. maintenance by yourself is simple, just use plain water to wash and wipe dry can already, but i go back to them for car wash, so that everything is under their car. they got a branch at ubi and 1 at toh guan, great service. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pyramid_sg Clutched June 3, 2012 Share June 3, 2012 TS. Congratulations on your new ride. Care to show us some pictures? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Proton_neutron 1st Gear June 3, 2012 Share June 3, 2012 Like I mentioned, S60 can fit me in the rear (surprisingly as accommodative as the S80), while the C-class can't. Plus the high door sills and small rear door aperture of the C-CLASS, makes getting in and out a chore. S60 is a much more practical car. Of course, the general mindset is that Volvo don't have as good a brand appeal as the Germans, but thinking about passenger safety and practicality, the Swedish are still the best at it =D Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Micarforum 1st Gear June 3, 2012 Share June 3, 2012 (edited) Regardless. The bottom line is: the C-Class is so much more reliable than the S60 I guess it all boils down to our priority in features that we value more. For someone who values the driving experience, how engaging the driving/steering feels, the luxury of the design/brand/prestige, reliability, i agree that merc/bmw/audi is the way to go, volvo is simply not there yet, if ever. In the aspect of reliability, i have to say merc probably is better, coz c class hasn't been recalled *yet*, my s60 has been recalled shortly after purchase in apr due to http://wheels.blogs.nytimes.com/2012/03/02...loyment-system/ , it's just a simply 30min wait in the showroom with coffee, pastries, and the service is professional/top-notch at wearnes. Porche and BMW have their fair share of recalls recently too, and many other brands, if you download the whole database of recalls in USA, almost every brand has some form of recall at 1 time or another, they are mainly taken precautionary measures. I remember that BMW's battery issue which resulted in many BMWs recalled was splashed quite big on newspapers a few months back: http://www.cbsnews.com/8301-505164_162-574...-battery-cable/ For performance, i heard from some car enthusiasts actually buy S60 for its design/looks + performance, which i was rather surprised. On paper, s60 T4 has 180bhp/240NM, C180K has 156bhp/230NM, i guess it's about the same lah... RWD or FWD, i dunno how much it affects the overall feel, i am not a car enthusiasts, i just want a B&B car that's safe and comfortable, which none of the korean/jap cars could offer me. Safety and cabin comfort (front seats) are my main concerns, so without a doubt, S60 was the way to go. To me, safety is not just about the "feel" or reputation, it has to be based on figures (crash test ratings), and the company's commitment. Volvo's commitment to safety is akin to Apple's commitment to design/simplicity. For merc, i read about their commitment to safety on their website etc... but come to the new more vigorous/stringent crash test by NHTSA, the results simply don't gel with what they promise about safety. As for comfort, just sit inside the car and drive around, and judge for yourself. Some people may find Aeron chairs overhyped/overpriced, but some people swear by it. For rear seats, s60's legroom is ample, just that the "shoulder room" is tight due to the coupe design of the sides of the car, which is slanting inwards and upwards like an "A" shape. the "butt room" is also tighter because they are using bucket seat design (more ergonomical), not those normal bench seats (which are flat from left to right all the way). For me, usually only 2 people in the car, so rear comfort level not that crucial, and i simply can't get over the fact that the front passenger's safety rating is a mere 2/5 star rating under NHTSA. For cabin design, the beechwood bucket seats with high headrest is quite nice looking to me, and 1 glaring thing about c class cabin design that i cannot overlook is the lock for the doors, it's those 1 vertical stick at the window there, where you need to press down and pull up type. i dun even see it in toyota crown taxi anymore, yet i see it in merc, maybe there's a reason, but it's really an eyesore. For s60, it's modern Scandinavian design, simplicity and functionality is key. The central console is slanted towards the driver, so is the screen, so that it's more ease of use for the driver. All these little ergonomic designs really won me over. When a person buys a volvo compared to merc/bmw/audi, it speaks alot about the person's character. Just go tell your friends you bought a volvo, the reaction will be like: eew... uncle car... why don't buy merc/bmw/audi instead, around same price range... omg, r u serious? so obiang... haha... if you can look beyond these, then should be ok lah, volvo drivers are usually understated, of a certain age (but i do find s60 attracting younger crowds), low profile type. u may even get a smile/nod or two when u see fellow volvo drivers on the road, just because it's quite rare compared to c180 :) I guess that presents a slightly fairer view for both sides :) Edited June 3, 2012 by Micarforum Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Redplanet Clutched June 3, 2012 Share June 3, 2012 Nice write-up. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Timbuktu Clutched June 3, 2012 Share June 3, 2012 Now that's a much more balanced and fairer view, with plus and minuses weighed on both sides. I can accept that ... vs the (perceived) brand bashing earlier on. I own >3 cars, all different marques. I do not own shares in Daimler AG. So I have no vested interest to 'defend' the Merc. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Proton_neutron 1st Gear June 3, 2012 Share June 3, 2012 Yup. Different market targeted for both C-Class and S60. Plus S60 is a much rarer sight. Better to drive a car that's not too commonly seen in. haha. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...