Itsec 2nd Gear August 25, 2013 Share August 25, 2013 (edited) On 8/25/2013 at 2:45 PM, Ingenius said: Is the rationale for not allowing cpf members to withdraw the full amount of their cpf accounts upon running 55 sound ? What is the real reason for it ? To safe guard against people wasting their retirement funds on xmm or against it depleted and becomes a liability ? Would like to hear your opinion. put it short -> if u cant work and have no $$, you become a liability to gov... Edited August 25, 2013 by Itsec ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yewheng Twincharged August 25, 2013 Share August 25, 2013 On 8/25/2013 at 2:48 PM, Itsec said: put it short -> if u cant work and have no $$, you become a liability to gov... Not only to government, but liability to the society. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wt_know Supersonic August 25, 2013 Share August 25, 2013 since you can't take care of your s.hit ... i will have to force you to ... yeah ... no 1 killer to wipe out old man cpf is batam minah and xiao long nu ... no choice minimum sum is here to stay just look at the fully loaded batam shuttles on weekend and take a trip down to chinatown hawker centre and kopitiam ... hehe On 8/25/2013 at 2:45 PM, Ingenius said: Is the rationale for not allowing cpf members to withdraw the full amount of their cpf accounts upon running 55 sound ? What is the real reason for it ? To safe guard against people wasting their retirement funds on xmm or against it depleted and becomes a liability ? Would like to hear your opinion. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kangadrool Supersonic August 25, 2013 Share August 25, 2013 If reading your CPF statements every month can make you feel rich, cashing them out lumpsum will freak most people out. Most people just can't handle sudden deluge of money. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ingenius Turbocharged August 25, 2013 Share August 25, 2013 (edited) On 8/25/2013 at 2:52 PM, Wt_know said: since you can't take care of your s.hit ... i will have to force you to ... yeah ... no 1 killer to wipe out old man cpf is batam minah and xiao long nu ... no choice minimum sum is here to stay just look at the fully loaded batam shuttles on weekend and take a trip down to chinatown hawker centre and kopitiam ... hehe Shouldn't retiree be given the benefit of doubt that they can rationalise their spending ? A few black sheep rocking the boat should not justify over turning the boat right ? I find this reason to be hard to accept. Edited August 25, 2013 by Ingenius Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wt_know Supersonic August 25, 2013 Share August 25, 2013 yeah ... now with RWS and MBS ... can't even last a few nights then when sick no money see doctor ... all cry papa cry mama that govt must do more for the old folks ... then the young need to pay higher taxes On 8/25/2013 at 2:55 PM, Kangadrool said: If reading your CPF statements every month can make you feel rich, cashing them out lumpsum will freak most people out. Most people just can't handle sudden deluge of money. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wt_know Supersonic August 25, 2013 Share August 25, 2013 (edited) it's called "safety net" even just 10 old man lost their entire life savings to minah and xmm out of 100 or 1000 there is a case to build the safety net ... anyway, this is just one of the many reasons la i think the more prominent reason is people cannot handle the big sum of money without a short span of period use up the money then old already ... no work ... must get social welfare this and that singapore cannot run a social welfare country else will end up like greece, spain, italy, etc hence, you work when you can ... save up (force to) ... and it's your money that hold you thru till you 6feet under ... no welfare for you unless there is a regulation or process that stop people who cash out their cpf completely and will not be eligible to get social welfare (ie: no money to put food on the table) but that is pretty much non humanity On 8/25/2013 at 2:55 PM, Ingenius said: Shouldn't retiree be given the benefit of doubt that they can rationalise their spending ? A few black sheep should not justify over turning the boat right ? I find this reason to be hard to accept. Edited August 25, 2013 by Wt_know Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kangadrool Supersonic August 25, 2013 Share August 25, 2013 (edited) On 8/25/2013 at 2:55 PM, Ingenius said: Shouldn't retiree be given the benefit of doubt that they can rationalise their spending ? A few black sheep should not justify over turning the boat right ? I find this reason to be hard to accept. Well......., you contribute bit by bit every month, so gahment give you bit by bit when u reached the magical age. Isn't it fair? You should just "treat" CPF money as social taxes and wrote them off. That's why people here just plonk every cents into property which give them a safer feeling. For real retirement funds, save it up yourself separately. Don't even trust those investment-linked insurance policies. Edited August 25, 2013 by Kangadrool Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wt_know Supersonic August 25, 2013 Share August 25, 2013 (edited) yeah ... it's you take care of you not govt take care of you else end up like greece for sure govt take care of you means rob peter to pay paul ... eventually there is only 2 peter but 10 paul ... sibei jialat On 8/25/2013 at 2:59 PM, Kangadrool said: Well......., you contribute bit by bit every month, so gahment give you bit by bit when u reached the magical age. Isn't it fair? You should just "treat" CPF money as social taxes and wrote them off. That's why people here just plonk every cents into property which give them a safer feeling. For real retirement funds, save it up yourself separately. Don't even trust those investment-linked insurance policies. Edited August 25, 2013 by Wt_know Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wt_know Supersonic August 25, 2013 Share August 25, 2013 (edited) the bigger issue is people treat cpf is "retirement" fund but hardly many would have a huge retirement fund after deducting the home loan mortgage, minimum sum, etc your real retirement fund is the money that you save up if you want to maintain a happy and fun lifestyle like got car, got nice house, 1 year go overseas 2x, etc once you 100% depends on your cpf means you either have to downgrade (sell your home) or rent out rooms ... and worst case is your children also eyeing your cpf fund for their EC or PC how much would one left after paying $1,000,000 for a flat (even $600k-$700k unit would cost $1M+ after 25 years loan interest) plus minimum sum which is growing how much left in OA huh at 55? imagine buy a flat at 30 with 25 years loan ... choon choon 55 years age Edited August 25, 2013 by Wt_know Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ingenius Turbocharged August 25, 2013 Share August 25, 2013 (edited) but shouldn't what is yours be yours to keep, regardless of what almighty reason ? otherwise it is a deprivation of rights. I am thinking along that line. Edited August 25, 2013 by Ingenius Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wt_know Supersonic August 25, 2013 Share August 25, 2013 (edited) yes ... unless you sign that once you cash out you will never ask govt for money even you have to die of hunger because you cash out all the money and you lose it even though you have good intention doing business but it fail if govt help you mean govt take money from me ... then is it fair to me? deprive my rights? On 8/25/2013 at 3:18 PM, Ingenius said: but shouldn't what is yours be yours to keep, regardless of what almighty reason ? otherwise it is a deprivation of rights. I am thinking from that angle. Edited August 25, 2013 by Wt_know Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ingenius Turbocharged August 25, 2013 Share August 25, 2013 On 8/25/2013 at 3:20 PM, Wt_know said: yes ... unless you sign that once you cash out you will never ask govt for money even you have to die of hunger because you cash out all the money and you lose it even though you have good intention doing business but it fail if govt help you mean govt take money from me ... then is it fair to me? deprive my rights? there is already social safety net in place now whereby taxation is being used, so this premise is already self-defeated. no ? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kangadrool Supersonic August 25, 2013 Share August 25, 2013 On 8/25/2013 at 3:27 PM, Ingenius said: there is already social safety net in place now whereby taxation is being used, so this premise is already self-defeated. no ? Taxation is used to fund further economic expansion, not social expenditures. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wt_know Supersonic August 25, 2013 Share August 25, 2013 (edited) i think you totally get it wrong the "social safety" is to help the less fortunate and disadvantage ... the ah mah who collect carton boxes at rubbish bin and eat leftover food you "got hand got leg and got brain" ... no matter what you should do your best and never ever ask for a dime you pay tax, i pay tax and many other pay taxes is to help the people who cannot survive on their own On 8/25/2013 at 3:27 PM, Ingenius said: there is already social safety net in place now whereby taxation is being used, so this premise is already self-defeated. no ? Edited August 25, 2013 by Wt_know Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Watwheels Supersonic August 25, 2013 Share August 25, 2013 The real reason is to prevent the 55yo you from selling tissue paper at hawker centers and disturb ppl who are enjoying their meals. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sdxx 1st Gear August 25, 2013 Share August 25, 2013 In any case in the event we pass on, the money go to next of kin and if kin less, go to some kind of fund and not govt's coffer. Every month can receive some money better than nothing but I don't understand the medisave, lock up so much money for f? Want to use also so many complex criteria and even if you have your own medical insurance with full cover, still must leave behind minimum sum! Fed up man. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ingenius Turbocharged August 25, 2013 Share August 25, 2013 Is the general population so daft that the gahment cannot even trust the people to take care of their own money ? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...