Vulcann 6th Gear May 31, 2012 Share May 31, 2012 This young man is in the news for all the right reasons compared to his fellow naval officer in Australia two days ago. LTA Sam Tan certainly does us proud to be the first foreigner to top the US Naval Academy, the navy equivalent of it's more famous sister service's elite USMA or Westpoint. Our future Chief of Navy or even cabinet minister perhaps? From ST: http://www.straitstimes.com/BreakingNews/S...ory_805304.html Singaporean is first foreigner to be tops at US naval academy Published on May 31, 2012 ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chrispie 5th Gear May 31, 2012 Share May 31, 2012 But i think the other naval officer cadet gets more exposure (pun intended) leh........... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vulcann 6th Gear May 31, 2012 Author Share May 31, 2012 But i think the other naval officer cadet gets more exposure (pun intended) leh........... Captain Chrispie, you sure you want this type of "exposure"? [laugh] Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Karu 6th Gear May 31, 2012 Share May 31, 2012 Future minister of transport?? Add & cut coes, fix the MRT & maybe buy more buses & taxis??? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Scb11980 1st Gear May 31, 2012 Share May 31, 2012 singaporeans are very good at specific task but when comes to lateral thinking our education does not help in ARMY, NAVY if you obey, carry out the orders with flying colours you will come out top Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Maxus-MIFA9 Supersonic May 31, 2012 Share May 31, 2012 One at East while the other at West.... One outstanding and the other 'out' standing.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vulcann 6th Gear May 31, 2012 Author Share May 31, 2012 Future minister of transport?? Add & cut coes, fix the MRT & maybe buy more buses & taxis??? He may be our saviour and may abolish all the anarchic or ridiculous policies by then leh? The Force is great I sense in this young one. Padawan he is now and a great leader he may be in the future.... [laugh] Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mockngbrd Supersonic May 31, 2012 Share May 31, 2012 chao FT . Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sk65 1st Gear May 31, 2012 Share May 31, 2012 One at East while the other at West.... One outstanding and the other 'out' standing.... hahah the the timing of the news is just ......... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sk65 1st Gear May 31, 2012 Share May 31, 2012 chao FT . which aspect of his name suggest he is a FT? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vulcann 6th Gear May 31, 2012 Author Share May 31, 2012 chao FT . From the viewpoint of the Yankees? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sk65 1st Gear May 31, 2012 Share May 31, 2012 From the viewpoint of the Yankees? arrr... then it makes sense. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vulcann 6th Gear May 31, 2012 Author Share May 31, 2012 arrr... then it makes sense. Probably some regret that a foreigner tops their elite academy I guess... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Royho1979 Clutched May 31, 2012 Share May 31, 2012 Whats the use? He'll be another booksmart soldier who will never see an armed sortie for the rest of his career. His career highlight like Tan Chuan Jin or Chan Chun Seng will prob be leading the NDP. Its like a guy who topped his medcial school but will never see a patient in his life. so sad... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sk65 1st Gear May 31, 2012 Share May 31, 2012 Whats the use? He'll be another booksmart soldier who will never see an armed sortie for the rest of his career. His career highlight like Tan Chuan Jin or Chan Chun Seng will prob be leading the NDP. Its like a guy who topped his medcial school but will never see a patient in his life. so sad... if its you to decide the next minister, how do you based your selection criteria on ? book-stupid ah-beng looking kena charged b4 for inappropriate exposure ??? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Adrianli Hypersonic May 31, 2012 Share May 31, 2012 (edited) Future minister of transport?? Add & cut coes, fix the MRT & maybe buy more buses & taxis??? Not everyone go to transport leh. Look out for this one : http://www.pub.gov.sg/about/Pages/OrganisationChart.aspx The nicest Admiral I come across. Another one here : http://www.mpa.gov.sg/sites/global_navigat...rd_members.page Edited May 31, 2012 by Adrianli Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vulcann 6th Gear May 31, 2012 Author Share May 31, 2012 Not everyone go to transport leh. Look out for this one : http://www.pub.gov.sg/about/Pages/OrganisationChart.aspx The nicest Admiral I come across. Another one here : http://www.mpa.gov.sg/sites/global_navigat...rd_members.page Had my fair share of naval officers I respect during my service days. IMO those naval officers I encountered were down to earth and friendlier, most of whom did not pull rank which was Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Relagsingh 4th Gear May 31, 2012 Share May 31, 2012 singaporeans are very good at specific task but when comes to lateral thinking our education does not help in ARMY, NAVY if you obey, carry out the orders with flying colours you will come out top not necessary. but u'll definitely survive. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...