Vega Turbocharged May 30, 2012 Share May 30, 2012 Come on Ah Lui, show that you have the political willpower and a moral backbone. Re-regulate the car loans! Pay-as-you-bid! Luxury car category ie. High OMV cars! Move Taxis out of Cat A! Heck, from July 2013, in line with Emissions-based surcharge, raise COE lifespan to 20 years! Whip ComfortDelgro in shape, force them to use electric or hybrid vehicles only! Come on Ah Lui, a government cannot achieve the well-being of its citizens while bedding down with parties with commercial interests ie. the car dealers and the banks and the lazy fat cats in ComfortDelgro. Ah Lui is just delaying the inevitable. They already admitted the error in calculating the coe quota........unless they flip again........ ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
SGCMDamian Neutral Newbie May 30, 2012 Share May 30, 2012 If they really implement the 'minimum ownership period' suggestion, then those who bought lemon car will be stuck with it. 2nd hand car dealership only sell older cars. Like that I can only buy Toyota liao More reliable? NO .... another money spinning policy. If you want to sell car less than 5 years - cannot stop you. PAY !!! PAY !!! PAY !!! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Elmo 4th Gear May 30, 2012 Share May 30, 2012 NO .... another money spinning policy. If you want to sell car less than 5 years - cannot stop you. PAY !!! PAY !!! PAY !!! Oh yeah hor. Didn't think of that. Just pay admin fee to settle. Pay $$ sure can get things done :) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Aeras-95 Neutral Newbie May 30, 2012 Share May 30, 2012 So Lta will buy back my $2 coe car at present value of coe? Is a toyota wish omv $20+ a luxury? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Princey_anne 1st Gear May 30, 2012 Share May 30, 2012 Income bracket? Get your retired parents to buy car for you then. Silly idea Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Princey_anne 1st Gear May 30, 2012 Share May 30, 2012 (edited) So Lta will buy back my $2 coe car at present value of coe? Is a toyota wish omv $20+ a luxury? Sure buy back all Coe and sell at average price so no winner or losers. Stick to the plan it will create more issues. If by income bracket all middle income will be suffering again, if by omv value all the cheap cars will go up due to demand and also equal higher Coe. Top end car maybe the Coe will be cheaper Edited May 30, 2012 by Princey_anne Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mllcg 3rd Gear May 30, 2012 Share May 30, 2012 just allow COEs to be held on for life can already. buy once and only once. fix the growth rate a X where X is determined by LTA. 0 scraps=0 new COEs except the allowable growth Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vulcann 6th Gear May 30, 2012 Author Share May 30, 2012 So come August premiums will again shoot thru the roof and thereafter? Really really tough on bros who die die have to tai chia then & get new set of wheels... May be time to look for second, third or even fourth-hand vehicles liao. From CNA: http://www.channelnewsasia.com/stories/sin...1204468/1/.html LTA to make more gradual cut in vehicle growth rate By Hetty Musfirah | Posted: 30 May 2012 1615 hrs Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
COEuniquelySG Neutral Newbie May 30, 2012 Share May 30, 2012 hah, so this is the solution? No review of COE system but just slow down the supply reduction? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
GrandCruiser Clutched May 30, 2012 Share May 30, 2012 What else to expect? Like your nick says, COE Uniquely Singapore! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
COEuniquelySG Neutral Newbie May 30, 2012 Share May 30, 2012 What else to expect? Like your nick says, COE Uniquely Singapore! this kind of solution no need 1 month to think... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Edwardthy 1st Gear May 30, 2012 Share May 30, 2012 Simple: if one need a car, one would use the car. Anyone travel less than 20k per yr don't need a car. I travel 30k now & expected to hit 40k when i start my new job next month. my question to you is: are you LTA? Are you the government? Why must you set this rule? If i got money and if i travel less than 10K per year, i cant buy car? Why must i listen to you? Who are you? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Princey_anne 1st Gear May 30, 2012 Share May 30, 2012 Simple: if one need a car, one would use the car. Anyone travel less than 20k per yr don't need a car. I travel 30k now & expected to hit 40k when i start my new job next month. In the case all the Coe should go to the taxis Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
RadX Moderator May 30, 2012 Share May 30, 2012 my question to you is: are you LTA? Are you the government? Why must you set this rule? If i got money and if i travel less than 10K per year, i cant buy car? Why must i listen to you? Who are you? eh dun fight dun fight...u good boy...... i also say, i travel 11k oni....but i can afford wot Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Leggt Clutched May 30, 2012 Share May 30, 2012 Scrap the COE system. Just control the type of cars coming to our shore. Allow cars with OMV at 100k, if traffic still congested, raise the OMV level just like the COE. At least, I am paying for the car, not a piece of freaking paper. I wanna see our street filled with Bugatti, Aston Martins, Zondas. I believe at least half of the car owners can well afford one without the burden of COE, looking at those Mercs, BMWs running around the city currently. Accidents... I will account this to the driving centres, they have failed to educate and set a benchmark to issue licences. How many drivers on the road can really do a decent parallel parking? Come on, I see instructors as eventual killers because they are not aware of the responsibility tasked to them in the first place. Raise the passing benchmark please. Cars are getting more powerful and they have not changed their testing patterns for the past 20 years. Drunk driving? How hard is it to make sure no drunkards get to start a car? It's just a matter of priority. If there is enough emphasis placed on an issue, the traffic police management will sort out something, rite? There is so much intangible benefits tagged along with this change. A city full of nice cars, good factor as a tourist attraction. We can even export these cars out to other countries when we decide to change our rides. This will book us a place on the world map, more people from other part of the world will be curious about us. Filling the coffer for the state, we still have our road taxes and ERPs rite? Also, there is GST charged on the OMV. So isn't it enough dough for the state treasury per car since both fixed and running fundings are covered? Disclaimer:- Sorry if it is not feasible, it took me an hour to come up with this, instead of a full team and one month. Of course, we still have the current crop of car owners who paid COE through their nose to deal with, so it's just a dream. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Edwardthy 1st Gear May 30, 2012 Share May 30, 2012 eh dun fight dun fight...u good boy...... i also say, i travel 11k oni....but i can afford wot Thank you Sir. For you i will stop my probing. But I do not agree with this guy. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hurryup Clutched May 30, 2012 Share May 30, 2012 the best way to solve the problem is everyone guai guai just bid the COE at $2. dont kei kiang go bid at $80,000 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Aeras-95 Neutral Newbie May 30, 2012 Share May 30, 2012 Think coe will increase next week w the announcement. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...