Auto boot close function-useful?

Jamessoh

Hi there,

I am considering buying a car with a motorised boot close function.

haven't used one before. could i check how useful it is...especially if raining or hands full situation carrying lots of things.

or is it just a niceity thing.

anyone could share?

with auto close, can you manual close and not spoil it? like my toilet bowl, auto drop seat, take so long. sometimes urgent if want push it down may risk spoiling it. [laugh]

Auto close boot function is useful, esp for hatchback cars. So that the person closing the boot no need to slam the boot hard. But hardly many people notice such function on the car and they still manually close the boot with their hand. :D

Personally. I feel that these are very bo Liao stuff. Including suction doors.

As compared to auto retractable hard tops.

Ok, let me contribute since i drive a car with an auto boot close function.

The major advantage is really the ease and the grace with which one can close the boot.

while closing the boot doesnt take too much effort, this function can particular be appreciated when your hands are full. Even when your hands are free, it's just cool to press a button.

For me, at the end, it is a preferred, although not necessary.

same here. my dad's got a car with an auto close boot function. it's definitely gentler than slamming the boot shut. personally, i used to think it was a useless feature, till i realized i can even operate the boot from within the car. so i can close the trunk without getting out of the car as well ...

How much effort does it takes to close a boot ?

Not much effort to close the boot, but some people like to close the boot very hard until the whole car feel like earthquake, and some people dont like people slam hard to close their car boot. :D

press button good, wun leave fingerprint on car.

now even better, bmw got auto boot opening just by doing a kicking motion under the rear bumper. of cos dun be an idiot and actually kick the car.

I think it is quite useful feature to have, esp when both hands are full with shopping bags/ groceries.

Are there aftermarket installers for this out there?

Sounds like something practical and fuss-free. Only hv boot remote release but nt auto close function. Just that will it b able to detect an object in e way, eg if a person's hand nt taken away and e driver din knw n activitates e close function, any sensor to detect?

Suction door works like when one closes a door, even though nt used strength to close all e way, e suction will 'catch' e door and firmly closes it gently....I hv nt tried one but making a guess...pardon me if assumption is wrong.

Safe ride

Hi there,

I am considering buying a car with a motorised boot close function.

haven't used one before. could i check how useful it is...especially if raining or hands full situation carrying lots of things.

or is it just a niceity thing.

anyone could share?

So if not useful, would u still buy it?

4th Gear

Auto boot good......'cos sometimes I go petrol kiosk I pulled the wrong lever.......beri paiseh man.... [lipsrsealed][laugh]

yes i have auto boot and suction doors as well.

very nice and easy to use.

expensive when motor wears out its lifespan and needs to be replaced.

that's the way it is.