Tjkbeluga 5th Gear May 29, 2012 Share May 29, 2012 Why should a citizen of a country be deprived of his/her choice to remain in the country just because one ages and cost is high? I fail to comprehend such mentality and it is disturbing especially for those who are helpless and have to depend on the government to do what is naturally expected of a decent government. KBW didn't say ALL will be shipped to MY like a leper.... It's the matter of choice. No one can deny the cost of operation will be expensive in Singapore. Population is getting older, fewer offspring.... C'mon, there's no denying operation cost is high here right? Indeed, everything is $$$ coz we are democratic country which everything must be purchased in an open market. Sure, if today SG can be a highly socialistic country like the Scandinavia, then that's different story.... ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gabriel 1st Gear May 29, 2012 Share May 29, 2012 yup...but i think put female guards better...what if the male guards get conned instead Come to think of it, we will all age sooner or later, make it two or three at each places to meet the demands, but pls put guards to stop foreign females trying to get in and con the old folks inside, similar to what goes on at people's park today. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
KARTer 2nd Gear May 29, 2012 Share May 29, 2012 yup...but i think put female guards better...what if the male guards get conned instead you are thorough in making sure these female "con-men" have no chance to break in.... ... but what if male con-men come? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
KARTer 2nd Gear May 29, 2012 Share May 29, 2012 KBW didn't say ALL will be shipped to MY like a leper.... It's the matter of choice. No one can deny the cost of operation will be expensive in Singapore. Population is getting older, fewer offspring.... C'mon, there's no denying operation cost is high here right? Indeed, everything is $$$ coz we are democratic country which everything must be purchased in an open market. Sure, if today SG can be a highly socialistic country like the Scandinavia, then that's different story.... pxp can subsidise the land costs, if they want to, for building homes for the aged, this is how a caring govt can do.............. as the population ages, care for the aged becomes as important and necessary as healthcare for the people. Govt hospitals are subsidised, so can homes run by govt. Do they have the will to take care of the aged? Certain national functions/facilities are essential and deserve subsidised land, not land based on commercial prices eg public schools/hospitals, military camps etc. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ngck 3rd Gear May 29, 2012 Share May 29, 2012 pxp can subsidise the land costs, if they want to, for building homes for the aged, this is how a caring govt can do.............. as the population ages, care for the aged becomes as important and necessary as healthcare for the people. Govt hospitals are subsidised, so can homes run by govt. Do they have the will to take care of the aged? Certain national functions/facilities are essential and deserve subsidised land, not land based on commercial prices eg public schools/hospitals, military camps etc. read this http://www.asiaone.com/Health/News/Story/A...126-249260.html From $1 rental to $1.7million just because they got in new "landlord" which happens to be SLA the hospital have to resort to charity drive 1) Govt will give "subsidies" to make themselves look charitable. Can report as loss also. 2) the excess SLA will earn after the subsidies will come from the donations (indirect taxes in form of public donation) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Altum Neutral Newbie May 30, 2012 Share May 30, 2012 Actually, it boils down to Singapore being overpopulated. When we are a more manageable 3 million population, things like this never crop up as there is enough space to build in every estate. Even HDB flats then are bigger with more space in between. Now, with the need to use up even more space, even little plots of land in between flats are going to be used up and whatever respite taken away. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gabriel 1st Gear June 2, 2012 Share June 2, 2012 you are thorough in making sure these female "con-men" have no chance to break in.... ... but what if male con-men come? haha...u have a solution for me....oops lol http://fifthazure.tumblr.com/post/24189167...ons-you-dpm-teo Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
KARTer 2nd Gear June 2, 2012 Share June 2, 2012 haha...u have a solution for me....oops lol http://fifthazure.tumblr.com/post/24189167...ons-you-dpm-teo LOL.... Opps, sorry, peasants are actually not expected to provide solutions even they are asked by dear leaders to provide, the request is to be answered "sorry sir, we have no solutions, but we will vote for you and pay you world highest salary to decide whether there is any solution after all" ..... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gabriel 1st Gear June 2, 2012 Share June 2, 2012 u think we are in north korea meh..but come to think of it...the way we operate are similar to nk...and we are equally poor just like the peasants there... ...n we do have dear leaders and great leaders who are in power...forever..nabehz..wtf LOL.... Opps, sorry, peasants are actually not expected to provide solutions even they are asked by dear leaders to provide, the request is to be answered "sorry sir, we have no solutions, but we will vote for you and pay you world highest salary to decide whether there is any solution after all" ..... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wishcumstrue 6th Gear June 3, 2012 Share June 3, 2012 It is normal to react this way If this is what you call "normal", then I will be disappointed. Is this how we treat our senior citizens? The very people who made possible what Singapore is today? I myself have stay next to a old-folks home before and I must say it is a very quiet neighborhood. In fact, that is where I learn how lonely some of them can be. Do a quick visit once and I am sure some of those opponents who have a fresh perspective what Life truly means. These eldest hate to be seen to be dependent on others...courtesy of the tough by-gone era of Singapore. All they now need is some company during their golden days. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fondue Neutral Newbie June 3, 2012 Share June 3, 2012 (edited) That location no good .... too far from MRT Should built it along Bishan Rd and Bishan St 11, facing RI. 5 mins walk to MRT station with wheel chair access. Easy for Nursing Home residences to take MRT home or go Junction 8 jalan jalan on wheel chair !! This is call Active Ageing :) Edited June 3, 2012 by Fondue Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Purezazn Neutral Newbie June 3, 2012 Share June 3, 2012 i don't understand what's the issue with the nursing home right beside? it is not as if they are going to build a crematorium or something.. rather, they should be happy.. no tall building right there blocking their view and wind. Hi , I am one of the residents staying at the affected area , from the above view quoted from 'Solar' , i would like to ask you , do u stay at the affected area ? Cause if you do , i doubt you will say that anymore . There are several reasons why 'we' the residents here are unhappy with the building of the old folks home . First, should you know that our space here is already very cramped up, the surrounding HDBs are only 9-12 storeys high , building a 6-7 storey building here will definitely affect our view , less say the wind blowing in from the direction of the open field. If the old folks home is only 1-2 storeys , we will still be able to accept it. Secondly, why do the town council choose to pick a spot where space is limited, it does not benefit both the old folks home and the residents like us. The old folks staying there will not have a good view ( all HDBs around ) to look at and that goes for the residents as well ! There is a BIG , and i meant a BIG plot of land located near the Bishan St 13 , Blk 155 which is currently only used for a street soccer court .The HDBs there are also high rised , building a 7-8 storey building will not affect either of the parties so why can't they choose to build it there ?? Thirdly, they are building a old folks home , in time to come , wouldn't it affect the price of our houses ? Honestly, who would like to stay near a place where people are sick and dying ? If i sell my house to you at a same price as the other HDBs where the view and the airflow of the house is good , which one would you buy ? I'm not being superstitious about seeing 'dirty' things and stuff , but the thought of you knowing that the old people are going to die near the place where i stay is giving me goosebumps. These are my personal and honest opinions and objections on building the old folks home near us. Thank you for reading . Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
TandemAssassin 1st Gear June 3, 2012 Share June 3, 2012 Hi , I am one of the residents staying at the affected area , from the above view quoted from 'Solar' , i would like to ask you , do u stay at the affected area ? Cause if you do , i doubt you will say that anymore . There are several reasons why 'we' the residents here are unhappy with the building of the old folks home . First, should you know that our space here is already very cramped up, the surrounding HDBs are only 9-12 storeys high , building a 6-7 storey building here will definitely affect our view , less say the wind blowing in from the direction of the open field. If the old folks home is only 1-2 storeys , we will still be able to accept it. Secondly, why do the town council choose to pick a spot where space is limited, it does not benefit both the old folks home and the residents like us. The old folks staying there will not have a good view ( all HDBs around ) to look at and that goes for the residents as well ! There is a BIG , and i meant a BIG plot of land located near the Bishan St 13 , Blk 155 which is currently only used for a street soccer court .The HDBs there are also high rised , building a 7-8 storey building will not affect either of the parties so why can't they choose to build it there ?? Thirdly, they are building a old folks home , in time to come , wouldn't it affect the price of our houses ? Honestly, who would like to stay near a place where people are sick and dying ? If i sell my house to you at a same price as the other HDBs where the view and the airflow of the house is good , which one would you buy ? I'm not being superstitious about seeing 'dirty' things and stuff , but the thought of you knowing that the old people are going to die near the place where i stay is giving me goosebumps. These are my personal and honest opinions and objections on building the old folks home near us. Thank you for reading . It is a public area so obviously the government is entitled to build whatever they want to there. This is also the reason why it is important when house hunting to avoid areas with road reserves and empty plots of land nearby. You never know what is going to happen in those places. I do not live near an old folk's home but I live near multiple foreign worker dorms. I stay in a part of Jurong where after working hours where the park and common facilities are utilized by many of these foreign workers. Some would say our situation is even worse than yours but I accept that this is part and parcel of living in a HDB estate. You can't stop the public from using your common facilities, neither can you stop the government or the private companies from buying up land near you to develop amenities like dorms or old folks' homes. A plot of land across the road will be developed into one of the new hawker centres sometime in the future. But it could have gone either way. It could have ended up being a school, an old folk's home or a community centre as well. End of the day; you win some, you lose some. If they can find a suitable plot of land in my estate for the old folks' home, I welcome the government to build it in my estate instead. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Unltd 5th Gear June 3, 2012 Share June 3, 2012 Hi , I am one of the residents staying at the affected area , from the above view quoted from 'Solar' , i would like to ask you , do u stay at the affected area ? Cause if you do , i doubt you will say that anymore . There are several reasons why 'we' the residents here are unhappy with the building of the old folks home . First, should you know that our space here is already very cramped up, the surrounding HDBs are only 9-12 storeys high , building a 6-7 storey building here will definitely affect our view , less say the wind blowing in from the direction of the open field. If the old folks home is only 1-2 storeys , we will still be able to accept it. Secondly, why do the town council choose to pick a spot where space is limited, it does not benefit both the old folks home and the residents like us. The old folks staying there will not have a good view ( all HDBs around ) to look at and that goes for the residents as well ! There is a BIG , and i meant a BIG plot of land located near the Bishan St 13 , Blk 155 which is currently only used for a street soccer court .The HDBs there are also high rised , building a 7-8 storey building will not affect either of the parties so why can't they choose to build it there ?? Thirdly, they are building a old folks home , in time to come , wouldn't it affect the price of our houses ? Honestly, who would like to stay near a place where people are sick and dying ? If i sell my house to you at a same price as the other HDBs where the view and the airflow of the house is good , which one would you buy ? I'm not being superstitious about seeing 'dirty' things and stuff , but the thought of you knowing that the old people are going to die near the place where i stay is giving me goosebumps. These are my personal and honest opinions and objections on building the old folks home near us. Thank you for reading . I used to stay in a block beside cgh, when I look out of kitchen windows I see cgh, the old folks home and some home for the mentally impaired. These were all built after I shifted in, no issues leh, we didn't raise complains and s--t. In fact after these were built, rentals became really hot and property prices were affected, but not southwards, it went north. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nzy Twincharged June 3, 2012 Share June 3, 2012 (edited) Hi , I am one of the residents staying at the affected area , from the above view quoted from 'Solar' , i would like to ask you , do u stay at the affected area ? Cause if you do , i doubt you will say that anymore . There are several reasons why 'we' the residents here are unhappy with the building of the old folks home . First, should you know that our space here is already very cramped up, the surrounding HDBs are only 9-12 storeys high , building a 6-7 storey building here will definitely affect our view , less say the wind blowing in from the direction of the open field. If the old folks home is only 1-2 storeys , we will still be able to accept it. Secondly, why do the town council choose to pick a spot where space is limited, it does not benefit both the old folks home and the residents like us. The old folks staying there will not have a good view ( all HDBs around ) to look at and that goes for the residents as well ! There is a BIG , and i meant a BIG plot of land located near the Bishan St 13 , Blk 155 which is currently only used for a street soccer court .The HDBs there are also high rised , building a 7-8 storey building will not affect either of the parties so why can't they choose to build it there ?? Thirdly, they are building a old folks home , in time to come , wouldn't it affect the price of our houses ? Honestly, who would like to stay near a place where people are sick and dying ? If i sell my house to you at a same price as the other HDBs where the view and the airflow of the house is good , which one would you buy ? I'm not being superstitious about seeing 'dirty' things and stuff , but the thought of you knowing that the old people are going to die near the place where i stay is giving me goosebumps. These are my personal and honest opinions and objections on building the old folks home near us. Thank you for reading . Hi, I also stay in this area. As far as I know, they have chosen this plot of land for this purpose many years ago already. They have already decided that this plot is definitely for some sort of nursing home or old aged home. Its just that there wasn't a need for it yet. Then now one of the nursing home in Toa Payoh is going to renovate or something and need to shift somewhere else. So they just start building here since its the nearest designated area for a nursing home already. They did not use the plot of land near Blk 155 because there are other plans for it already. That plot is definitely much bigger and to them its probably a waste to build a nursing home there. There is also a home for the intellectually disabled near there already. Maybe they don't want to put it too close together. The plot of land chosen for the nursing home is too small to build anything else also. Even if now the residents are successful in getting them to stop building this nursing home there, eventually there'll be some other nursing home/home for the intellectually disabled/old aged home built there anyway since that has always been the plan for that plot. Why would knowing people living in that nursing home going to die give you goosebumps? Then in the future if your neighbors all grow old and fall sick and going to die how? You'll shift out? Bishan used to be a cemetery also anyway. Many dead people buried there before. Doesn't this give you goosebumps? Edited June 3, 2012 by Nzy Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Purezazn Neutral Newbie June 3, 2012 Share June 3, 2012 Why would knowing people living in that nursing home going to die give you goosebumps? Then in the future if your neighbors all grow old and fall sick and going to die how? You'll shift out? Bishan used to be a cemetery also anyway. Many dead people buried there before. Doesn't this give you goosebumps? I mean that if any of my neighbors pass away , that is unpredictable so i would not be so affected , but after i know that the old folks are going to spend the rest of their lives there until they die , kind of making it into a graveyard. Yes, i am aware that bishan used to be a cemetery , but that is the past , i cant change the past , but for the future , at least we still got a chance to change it . Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Unltd 5th Gear June 3, 2012 Share June 3, 2012 I mean that if any of my neighbors pass away , that is unpredictable so i would not be so affected , but after i know that the old folks are going to spend the rest of their lives there until they die , kind of making it into a graveyard. Yes, i am aware that bishan used to be a cemetery , but that is the past , i cant change the past , but for the future , at least we still got a chance to change it . Well, day by day you are dying to.... Everyday you are one day closer to death, you also spending the rest of your time n earth until you die, shun you? Anywhere there are ppl, there will be graves, unless their culture doesn't have it like cremation or dump into see. You got no chance to change the future, you will die, so will I and everyone around me.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nzy Twincharged June 3, 2012 Share June 3, 2012 (edited) I mean that if any of my neighbors pass away , that is unpredictable so i would not be so affected , but after i know that the old folks are going to spend the rest of their lives there until they die , kind of making it into a graveyard. Yes, i am aware that bishan used to be a cemetery , but that is the past , i cant change the past , but for the future , at least we still got a chance to change it . Anyway I think it'll be better if the residents can give better suggestions on how to make it affect them less rather than ask them not to build it there. Since its already confirmed that some sort of home will be there. No matter what the residents say, some sort of home will be built there. Its just a matter of time. Edited June 3, 2012 by Nzy ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...