KARTer 2nd Gear May 27, 2012 Share May 27, 2012 Last one hit by pedestrain? no, no, last one hit by blind man crossing the junction....... or at least hit by his walking stick ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
KARTer 2nd Gear May 27, 2012 Share May 27, 2012 I wonder what amount of tests on getting the driving lesson could prevent this from happening... tests are pretty much useless when it comes to prevention of beating red lights... seriously heavy fines+penalties, maybe even jail, may get some results: suspend license for at least a year plus big fine to start with, otherwise we may see my losses of innocent lives. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
KARTer 2nd Gear May 27, 2012 Share May 27, 2012 Long term coffee-addicted with too much of it? they need to keep awake with kopi until next ferrari hits another taxi, cannot miss the next one in fact, their ears must maintain in the sharpest state to hear the engine roars 1km upstream the junction!! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jeroming Neutral Newbie May 27, 2012 Share May 27, 2012 official press release. very stern. you've been warned. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kungming 1st Gear May 27, 2012 Share May 27, 2012 official press release. very stern. you've been warned. How impressive. Let's see how they deal with this 30yo chap driving a lexus. Hope he is elite then we shall see. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Leezhenxian Neutral Newbie May 27, 2012 Share May 27, 2012 rip Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Carbine- Clutched May 27, 2012 Share May 27, 2012 cos when drunk, vision impaired, will think that the red light is at the junction ahead, few days ago i passed by there when i was drunk in taxi Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sdf5725 1st Gear May 27, 2012 Share May 27, 2012 u'r going to incur the wraith of lexus zealots. esp those who will argue that lexus has LFA leh! faster than most ferraris. no lah. i am stating the fact that the brand of the car that cause accident only lah. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ruykava Neutral Newbie May 27, 2012 Share May 27, 2012 If I recall correctly, the traffic light at the bus stop just before the junction requires pedestrians to press the button to activate change to red light/green man. During such hours when there are few or no pedestrians, light would be green most of the time. Happened to me before that with 2 sets of traffic lights placed close together, I noticed the first set (which was green), and nearly missed the second set altogether. actually that's true. i was driving on this road on saturday, the traffic lights are very close together and ONLY the one at this particular junction does not have an overhead light. so i can imagine late at night when you're tired/ drunk/ speeding, it's quite likely it doesn't register in your head that you are about to enter a junction. In the Lexus case it DOES seem like he might have attempted to brake (can just make out the brake lights are shining at 0:18 of the video (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=020HvAsTOgs) but of course he might have braked after hitting the cab. Anyway, lucky for this taxi driver and passenger! That was a nice spin the cab went through Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jman888 Moderator May 27, 2012 Share May 27, 2012 actually that's true. i was driving on this road on saturday, the traffic lights are very close together and ONLY the one at this particular junction does not have an overhead light. so i can imagine late at night when you're tired/ drunk/ speeding, it's quite likely it doesn't register in your head that you are about to enter a junction. In the Lexus case it DOES seem like he might have attempted to brake (can just make out the brake lights are shining at 0:18 of the video (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=020HvAsTOgs) but of course he might have braked after hitting the cab. Anyway, lucky for this taxi driver and passenger! That was a nice spin the cab went through no one will be behind the wheel if he/she is in that condition. more traffic mean driver should be more alert Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Good-Carbuyer 1st Gear May 27, 2012 Share May 27, 2012 No , can't really do much about incompetency as witnessed daily , but complacency on that stretch we can try to solve first lor. The traffic lights's timing(the one before that junction) should be re-tuned to have more reds than green to slow down cars at night I meant . This way they would not be caught by surprise if they had already travel too fast past it as I think the distance btwn the two sets of traffic light are quite close . In wee hours you know lah.......all rushing back ... just my opinion .... nothing more . Let us hope such logic is believeable to the Authority Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Good-Carbuyer 1st Gear May 27, 2012 Share May 27, 2012 no, no, last one hit by blind man crossing the junction....... or at least hit by his walking stick +1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Christan Turbocharged May 27, 2012 Share May 27, 2012 One got away without answering for the deaths he caused, this one cannot siam & has to answer for his misdeeds. By end of the week should know who the 'zero' is. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Twinturbo Neutral Newbie May 27, 2012 Share May 27, 2012 official press release. very stern. you've been warned. Please show by punishing this Lexus driver. If only end up fining few thousand dollars, what's the big deal seriously. So if the guy is rich he can whack a few more traffic lights? Action on this Lexus first then talk. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jeroming Neutral Newbie May 27, 2012 Share May 27, 2012 Please show by punishing this Lexus driver. If only end up fining few thousand dollars, what's the big deal seriously. So if the guy is rich he can whack a few more traffic lights? Action on this Lexus first then talk. agreed. i hope the judge hoot him jia lat to send a strong signal to all. 以儆效尤 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Heng51 2nd Gear May 27, 2012 Share May 27, 2012 Let's hope this drunk driver be severely dealt with... He could have killed someone with his actions. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
LoverofCar 6th Gear May 27, 2012 Share May 27, 2012 He drive a lexus... it too quiet to know it traveling so fast... judge will let him off with fine... and 1year suspension... period... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Darryn Turbocharged May 28, 2012 Share May 28, 2012 official press release. very stern. you've been warned. Wah - orgi good - Doing enforcement operation just down the road. Drink Driving is sooo stupid. The problem is Singapore is still that people don't expect to be caught - the penalties are enough, but enforcement needs to be stepped up! ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...