Why Are Our Roads So Badly Worn Out??

Escksu

seriously, nothing wrong with our roads here.

Agreed with you Gerd [rolleyes]

Wait till they drive out of Singapore than they can compare already [laugh]

People who say our roads are bad should travel a little more.

Sure its not prefect, but roads cannot get a lot better than Singapore. I am not talking about our poorer neigbours or 3rd world countries, but Developed countries.

We have the luxury of being a small country & hence roads are easier to maintain & we can make every road lited & maintain. Of course, being in tropical region make things even simpler.

You only have to think about rain & make sure all the traffic lights work.

Roads are 99% wide & usually 2 lanes even in towns & neigbourhood, Hardly any serious bump, & water is most of the time flushed away to the side when it rains. Roads are well lited at night.

The quality of the road is not the mian problem in Singapore, its the road users (include driver, bikers, cyclists & predistrians).

The Roads can be improve at least 60% just by having our road users more in line with general levels of first world countries.

if the quality of the workmanship for laying the new tar remain the same, how come the condition of the road is so bad?

Is it because of the high volume of traffic that is passing this particular road?

If yes, why aren't the revalent authority doing something to it? Or are they waiting for something to happen like what it did to the mrt track?

the authority should walk the talk and start to review the maintenance period of every road and not sit in office doing the maintenance schedule based on the previous SOP which was based on much lower volume of traffic.

seriously, nothing wrong with our roads here.

seems like u dun drive out often... the road in sg now is comparatively chui as jb already... maybe some are still frog in a well... oh well, physical driving to more roads in sg in better dan anyting...

People who say our roads are bad should travel a little more.

Sure its not prefect, but roads cannot get a lot better than Singapore. I am not talking about our poorer neigbours or 3rd world countries, but Developed countries.

We have the luxury of being a small country & hence roads are easier to maintain & we can make every road lited & maintain. Of course, being in tropical region make things even simpler.

You only have to think about rain & make sure all the traffic lights work.

Roads are 99% wide & usually 2 lanes even in towns & neigbourhood, Hardly any serious bump, & water is most of the time flushed away to the side when it rains. Roads are well lited at night.

The quality of the road is not the mian problem in Singapore, its the road users (include driver, bikers, cyclists & predistrians).

The Roads can be improve at least 60% just by having our road users more in line with general levels of first world countries.

i believe most of us are comparing say 5-10yrs ago and now... aint everyting improving like technologies compare to last time? but how come quality of work is worse dan last time i.e tar-ring the road so unevenly now...

Me agree too, sg roads overall good, no big problem wat.

Tyre plays an important role, actually very important, I always shake my head when someone asked where to get cheap cheap tyres or even asked for 2nd hand tyres!! Can afford 100k+ car but only willing to pay 400bucks for 4 new tyres, sighzzz...

Lol, please dont compare with other places, same like our garment always like to compare with other countries who are worst than us. -_- Compared also must compare with places that is better than us. :D

if the quality of the workmanship for laying the new tar remain the same, how come the condition of the road is so bad?

Is it because of the high volume of traffic that is passing this particular road?

If yes, why aren't the revalent authority doing something to it? Or are they waiting for something to happen like what it did to the mrt track?

the authority should walk the talk and start to review the maintenance period of every road and not sit in office doing the maintenance schedule based on the previous SOP which was based on much lower volume of traffic.

So bad meh, or my standard is poor, or it changes dramatically since 1 year ago (since I have not driven since then).

I actually appreciate SG wide & bright roads better when drive oversea, but then I remember the road users.

seems like u dun drive out often... the road in sg now is comparatively chui as jb already... maybe some are still frog in a well... oh well, physical driving to more roads in sg in better dan anyting...

I drive everyday. Apart from ongoing construction areas, our roads are pretty damn smooth and good. They do repair potholes and pretty quickly too. It's called a road not a bowling lane, that's why your car has a suspension system.

the use of asphalt is not according to specifications and not to mention the lack of supervision+check+inspection when doing road construction..most of the times road constructions one can see only the foreign workers there..the sinkie supervisors all skiving and no where to be found(maybe sleeping in air-con room)..they only appear when work is "done" and to fetch the workers back to their dorms..appalling standard [shakehead]

I drive everyday. Apart from ongoing construction areas, our roads are pretty damn smooth and good. They do repair potholes and pretty quickly too. It's called a road not a bowling lane, that's why your car has a suspension system.

i do not wish to compare to other countries... but comparing to 5-10yrs ago... u see more portholes and uneven roads now (not toking abt construction, obviously).... duh

So bad meh, or my standard is poor, or it changes dramatically since 1 year ago (since I have not driven since then).

I actually appreciate SG wide & bright roads better when drive oversea, but then I remember the road users.

I must agree that our roads are very well lit as compared to some cities in other countries.

agreed, generally well lit.

but main complaint is the road bumpiness..

i frequent around sk & buangkok.

a few of the 2 or 3 land roads got dug out (i think for cabling) and then later patched.. and seemed THAT's IT. for more than a few months already.

the lane have a whole stretch of uneven bumps from a traffic junction to the next. very obvious u can see the uneven black color patch compared to other lanes.

many drivers have to resort to drive on other lanes to avoid the bumps.

btw, i have not modded my car's suspension/rim and on csc3 tyres.

Edited by Solar

Quality of cement, sands and other road materials is not up to standard, many malaysian trucks are eroding our roads too, U can see hundred of them delivering goods, supplys via the major highways, ( SLE, KJE, TPE AYE, PIE ) almost every corners of Sp.

Anyway, we are all tax-payer, let the Gahmen used the money and mend it up, I do not see any problem.

Guys, honestly, our roads are way better then roads in JB.. Cheers!

Why not compare the road with another country like Somalia or Afganistan to make PIE look like damn good.

On the other hand Somalia and Afgan car users don't pay insane road tax so their mud roads are probably still way better for them in this respect.

i do not wish to compare to other countries... but comparing to 5-10yrs ago... u see more portholes and uneven roads now (not toking abt construction, obviously).... duh

Agreed.

I had been driving more than 20yrs. 10yrs ago the road is definitely much better than now.

Even the newly contructed and expensive KPE tunnel are very very bumpy. The CTE just after the tunnel that had just widen recently is also very bumpy. While many portion of PIE road surface had became very rough and lack maintenance.

LTA collect so much money from COE and don't know all money go where. [rifle]