CNA: Give Low-Wage Workers Pay Rise Of At Least $50: NWC

Vulcann

  On 5/24/2012 at 3:45 AM, Joseph22 said:

increasing wages of lower rank worker is fundamentally flaw.

you increase them to say 1.5K. freshly grad diploma holder will expect their pay to be say 2K. then Fresh Grad expect their pay to be around 3K. then those work few years liao see liao not happy, diploma experience asking for 3K experience Grad asking for 5K... so on and so far...

then you see prices start going up because overhead cost increase and bosses not happy, then bosses increase selling cost... then inflation push up.... inflation % high .. ppl KPKB then start from increase low wages pay again........

a better solution is needed to solve this inflation problem.

you begrudge the $50 increment recommendation for a $1000 a month worker?

Edited by Bystander

On 5/24/2012 at 3:41 AM, 13177 said:

You think the employer so good to give more than the recommended amount? I think most employers will give the min recommended amount. <_<

Thats mean my employer berri good leh.

He told us he want to give us $200 increase :o

If I may add, things have gotten bad for the low wage group and it will only get worst. The main stream media can spin in whatever way they want but inflation is here to stay and it can only get worst. And only there's really nothing much MAS can do about it. Appreciate SGD? My foot! Look at what where the SGD is with respect to the USD, compared to 1 month ago when MAS first announced that inflation is at 5%+. Back then, MAS said they going to appreciate SGD to fight inflation. Nah....see where is SGD now.

If cannot increase pay of low wage workers then how?

You got a better solution?

$50 is at least 5% for those wage @ $1k..and goes up to more than 5% for those wage with $1k and less..anyway its just a recommendation..not all companies will adopt it

3rd Gear

you increase them to say 1.5K. freshly grad diploma holder will expect their pay to be say 2K. then Fresh Grad expect their pay to be around 3K. then those work few years liao see liao not happy, diploma experience asking for 3K experience Grad asking for 5K... so on and so far...

1. Some of the pay scale you listed is already the status quo for some sectors.

2. The wage gap between those who receive tertiary education and those low wage workers is significantly smaller for other countries.

Your scenario is far fetched from reality, especially in the context of narrowing the wage gap.

[cool]

Edited by CKP

  On 5/24/2012 at 3:55 AM, Timbuktu said:

Thats mean my employer berri good leh.

He told us he want to give us $200 increase :o

Your employer give you $200 increase in every increment or once every 10 years?! [:p]

3rd Gear

then you see prices start going up because overhead cost increase and bosses not happy, then bosses increase selling cost... then inflation push up.... inflation % high .. ppl KPKB then start from increase low wages pay again........

The critics of increasing wages for workers, such as Lim Swee Sway. point to increase in unemployement as the danger.

This is in direct opposite to your scenario of cost push inflation from a price-wage spiral.

Both price wage spiral (your fear) and increase in unemployment (Lim Swee Sway's fear)

cannot increase or dominate at the same time.

In the context of a global situation of a general glut of labour, Lim Swee Say is right

that increases in unemployment is more likely to occur.

[cool]

On 5/24/2012 at 4:06 AM, 13177 said:

Your employer give you $200 increase in every increment or once every 10 years?! [:p]

Means build into monthly pay, not one off thingy.

  On 5/24/2012 at 4:18 AM, Timbuktu said:

Means build into monthly pay, not one off thingy.

I know la, so if your employer give you $200 every year increment, then good lo. [:p] If you stay with the company for 3 years, your pay will increased $600 more!

Edited by 13177

sometimes, i wonder how those top ppl feel when they suggests 50 extra a mth for the low income, when they makes 50k a month...

  On 5/24/2012 at 3:53 AM, Bystander said:

you begrudge the $50 increment recommendation for a $1000 a month worker?

[confused]

I am just saying, we need a better solution rather than just raising the pay of the worker.

  On 5/24/2012 at 3:58 AM, Timbuktu said:

If cannot increase pay of low wage workers then how?

You got a better solution?

i got better solution i wont be ranting liao. [laugh]

  On 5/24/2012 at 4:04 AM, CKP said:

1. Some of the pay scale you listed is already the status quo for some sectors.

2. The wage gap between those who receive tertiary education and those low wage workers is significantly smaller for other countries.

Your scenario is far fetched from reality, especially in the context of narrowing the wage gap.

[cool]

yeah you are talking about income gap. i am not talking about income gap. i am talking about helping those in lower wages. two different issue.

  On 5/24/2012 at 4:10 AM, CKP said:

The critics of increasing wages for workers, such as Lim Swee Sway. point to increase in unemployement as the danger.

This is in direct opposite to your scenario of cost push inflation from a price-wage spiral.

Both price wage spiral (your fear) and increase in unemployment (Lim Swee Sway's fear)

cannot increase or dominate at the same time.

In the context of a global situation of a general glut of labour, Lim Swee Say is right

that increases in unemployment is more likely to occur.

[cool]

In case you are wondering, i didnt critize increasing their pay. i think its good for them.

but i am wondering if this is the only alternative we can do to fight inflation. the truth behind our inflation is because someone up there (not refering to MIW but they can be included if you want.) want their company to earn more money. increasing lower wages pay if it hurt their profit margin, they will likely justify their action by increasing their price. especially if their stuff have no subsitution.

Edited by Joseph22

  On 5/24/2012 at 4:35 AM, Chrispie said:

sometimes, i wonder how those top ppl feel when they suggests 50 extra a mth for the low income, when they makes 50k a month...

problem is, bosses likely view this 50 extra to low income as 50 loss to them. that is captilism at work. [:(]

Edited by Joseph22