Tigerwoods Turbocharged May 26, 2012 Share May 26, 2012 I was told $8 is not a nice guy whoever work w him before...he always think he is 'holy' buddhist...oh pls. What does holey buddhist mean? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tigerwoods Turbocharged May 26, 2012 Share May 26, 2012 Yes, majority of Singaporeans still fear that if the wrong wolves and tigers get into power, that will be the end of our nation that took almost 50 years to build, to become the ONLY advanced economy in S.E. Asia. The silent majority vote will ensure the balance of power stays. Ya many still use voting ticket of the Old Guards and cast it into the new A team. some vote them because bo pian need lift as can't walk already Some vote because they cannot kill the goose that lay golden eggs for them. Some vote because their system ready benefited them Can't wait for tonight results... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nightkids 6th Gear May 26, 2012 Share May 26, 2012 so can see the live telecast for the result at CNA?? My Yam again huh?? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vtim 3rd Gear May 26, 2012 Share May 26, 2012 It is clearly a lack of long term vision whwen they implement the "two is enough" policy....... so now not enough people........ add baby bonus..... add child care leave...and all...still doesn't work... so "fast turn around solution"........import all the so called FT...and PRC.......... make us all KPKB....and suffer...... so who is at fault from the start...? if this is no "two is enough" policy... and now we pay for that...cos of that........ ???? Isn't a consequence and implement of their lack of long term vision of trend? why are we suffering now ? MIW will never admit that they are wrong, instead will find some other "solutions" (in my opinion, short term fixes) to counteract Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nightkids 6th Gear May 26, 2012 Share May 26, 2012 Results out liao? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
WTF 4th Gear May 26, 2012 Share May 26, 2012 Results out liao? Wonder if it mentioned today's 4D 1st prize boh...... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nightkids 6th Gear May 26, 2012 Share May 26, 2012 (edited) Wonder if it mentioned today's 4D 1st prize boh...... So means wat? Tout result will be out by 10pm?? How come TT post this?? Edited May 26, 2012 by Nightkids Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Albeniz Turbocharged May 26, 2012 Share May 26, 2012 (edited) Today is 26 May, waiting for the "already expected" result to be announced. pop-corn and coke ready at standby. "Huat ah!" Edited May 26, 2012 by Albeniz Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
WTF 4th Gear May 26, 2012 Share May 26, 2012 (edited) So means wat? Tout result will be out by 10pm?? How come TS post this?? Reported in the news yesterday that polling will close at 8pm and then the counting starts..... Edited May 26, 2012 by WTF Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Walkingtree 1st Gear May 26, 2012 Share May 26, 2012 Yes, majority of Singaporeans still fear that if the wrong wolves and tigers get into power, that will be the end of our nation that took almost 50 years to build, to become the ONLY advanced economy in S.E. Asia. The silent majority vote will ensure the balance of power stays. Its a risk that the nation has to take as a whole. That is the danger, and at the same time the promise, of democracy. And i wouldn't have it any other way as a citizen. Time will tell if this nation's citizens are really as enlightened and far-sighted as they claim, or are they no different from the selfish indivduals that voted for easy money as in the european democracies. Historical and contemporary politics already offer ample examples of nations fallen by the wayside when an entitlement mindset sets in after the hard work of earlier generations. The problems won't come in our generation because of the nation's savings. But when the savings are gone and the gahmen of the day have to resort to begging IMF/WB or other successful nations for loans, that's when all dignity and pride can go into the toilet bowl, and our children will have to take to the streets, cursing us for squandering the nations wealth and passing the austerity pill for them to swallow. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gonggonggunihoon Neutral Newbie May 26, 2012 Share May 26, 2012 may i know how do you communicate without generalization? when you say "alot of the older generation i know all doing alright....." are you not generalizing? relax... you have your view, i have mine. i have my motives, you have yours. that doesn't make my motives ulterior as i have made no attempt to conceal it. so relax. =) i agree with you, many of the older generation that i know are doing alright too. in fact, i do know quite a few who have more than 50million networth who are entering their retirement age. but maybe like another bro mentioned, that the generation that will be suffering isn't those that are retiring soon. it is those that will retire in the next 15-20 years. coz after funding for their parent's retirement, some of them will have difficulty with their own. and like what Mr Khaw said in 2009, that Singaporeans should consider retirement and nursing homes in malaysia. without a demand, or a demand by people who can't afford the facilities in singapore, he wouldn't have said such a thing. maybe its not prevalent, but its definitely affecting a portion of our fellow singaporeans. and i agree with you that there are two sides to a coin, that doesn't mean i cannot make my stand that one side has a much bigger issue than another =) Retire in Msia since we cant afford?You mean we were told to out-cast ourselves to die & rot on other peoples' land when we r old & useless to them?An extradiction?But I thought we are Singaporeans,families here too....... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
CKP 3rd Gear May 26, 2012 Share May 26, 2012 Yes, majority of Singaporeans still fear that if the wrong wolves and tigers get into power, that will be the end of our nation that took almost 50 years to build, to become the ONLY advanced economy in S.E. Asia. The reason for success has more to do with the fact that Singapore is the only non communist confucianist influenced society in S.E. Asia. than your claim that it was due to a political party. Countries strongly influenced by Confucianism include China, HK. Taiwan, Korea, Japan and Vietnam, and Singapore. tend to be the more successful and advanced economies.... if you have not noticed or refuse to admit. Apparently, China and Vietnam are the initial exceptions because of communism. Other than that, it is clear that Confucianism has played a greater role in shaping economies in the region than whichever political party is in power. In other words, the evidence is as long as the party is non-communist, such confuncianist countries already possess an added advantage in economic development over non-confucianist countries such Singapore's neighbours in S.E. Asia. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Timbuktu Clutched May 26, 2012 Share May 26, 2012 But when the savings are gone and the gahmen of the day have to resort to begging IMF/WB or other successful nations for loans, that's when all dignity and pride can go into the toilet bowl, and our children will have to take to the streets, cursing us for squandering the nations wealth and passing the austerity pill for them to swallow. That is the real, true fear amongst many of Singaporeans. Once start sliding down, there is no stopping. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
CKP 3rd Gear May 26, 2012 Share May 26, 2012 Its a risk that the nation has to take as a whole. That is the danger, and at the same time the promise, of democracy. And i wouldn't have it any other way as a citizen. Time will tell if this nation's citizens are really as enlightened and far-sighted as they claim, or are they no different from the selfish indivduals that voted for easy money as in the european democracies. Historical and contemporary politics already offer ample examples of nations fallen by the wayside when an entitlement mindset sets in after the hard work of earlier generations. The problems won't come in our generation because of the nation's savings. But when the savings are gone and the gahmen of the day have to resort to begging IMF/WB or other successful nations for loans, that's when all dignity and pride can go into the toilet bowl, and our children will have to take to the streets, cursing us for squandering the nations wealth and passing the austerity pill for them to swallow. There are several problems in your comment: 1) Excluded Middle (False Dichotomy, Faulty Dilemma, Bifurcation): assuming there are only two alternatives when in fact there are more. For example, assuming Atheism is the only alternative to Fundamentalism, or being a traitor is the only alternative to being a loud patriot. In your case, there is only a choice between the "status quo" or a "welfare/mentality mindset" which will lead to economic bust. 2) Reductive Fallacy (Oversimplification): For example, Einstein once said, everything should be made as simple as possible, but no simpler. Political slogans such as "Taxation is theft" fall in this category. In your case, "welfare/mentality mindset linked to economic bust" is more of a political slogan which grossly oversimplifies what "welfare" is for a truly meaningful disscussion. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Timbuktu Clutched May 26, 2012 Share May 26, 2012 Apparently, China and Vietnam are the initial exceptions because of communism. There is nothing apparent lah. Hand Singapore to the wrong government, communist or otherwise, we will end up no different. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Calvin79 2nd Gear May 26, 2012 Share May 26, 2012 There is nothing apparent lah. Hand Singapore to the wrong government, communist or otherwise, we will end up no different. Ya u make sense... This seems like what is happening because of being in the wrong hands...since 10 years back... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
KARTer 2nd Gear May 26, 2012 Share May 26, 2012 Ya u make sense... This seems like what is happening because of being in the wrong hands...since 10 years back... Precisely !! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
KARTer 2nd Gear May 26, 2012 Share May 26, 2012 For the idea of check and balance without a fundamental shift from the same schemes and policies to work, the people being brought in should be credible and knowledgeable in the first instance, not any dog, monkey or donkey (again not my words hor ), or somebody plucked out of nowhere just to fill a minority quota. Otherwise, instead of spare driver slapping main driver to keep main driver awake, the spare driver ends up slapping himself all the time to keep himself awake. And then must keep spare tyre for spare driver in case spare driver pong chek. Again, i refer back to my analogy of how things are panning out. "Guarding the front door from wolves, letting in tigers through the rear doors." Haven't reach the corridors of power already like that liao, reach already still got hope? Pxp has only angels? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...