EURO Championship Discussion

QQDreamer

Jap Kor 2002 was not too shabby if not for a certain divine bucktooth and the flapping pony tail.

You got a point. I remembered sections of the press billed that match as an ideal final. The winner of that match did go on to lift up the cup and England was once again, the nearly men.

Edited by Toothiewabbit

I support your reasoning!

Since Greece gonna bankrupt soon,

they will try to win it to get the prize money.

Anyway Greece has won the Euros before right?

Greece won the Euro in 2004 under a German coach by playing the German style of football (my opinion).

2004 iirc. Unlike the world cup, Euro finals have seen their share of surprise winners such as this and Denmark in 92.

I watched the Euro Final of 1992 and the goalie was cool..... :D

I also remembered the Landrup brothers then.

Jap Kor 2002 was not too shabby if not for a certain divine bucktooth and the flapping pony tail.

yep....you are one knowledgable fan.

that year england was one of the most balanced. but the fluke ronaldinho goal didn't help matters. and brazil went on to lift the crown anyway so england isn't that bad that year.

I watched the Euro Final of 1992 and the goalie was cool..... :D

I also remembered the Landrup brothers then.

hehe, why suddenly so subtle about the goalie who is also from your favorite Man U?

i personally think he was the biggest reason why they won that euro, although he had good support from laudrup

i'm supporting Germany...

young, hungry and strong!

Gk - Neuer (Bayern)

LB - Schmelzer (Dortmund)

RB - Lahm (Bayern)

CB - Badstuber (Bayern)

CB - Hummels (Dortmund)

LW - Ozil (Real Madrid)

RW - Muller (Bayern)

CM - Khedia (Real Madrid)

CM - Schweinsteiger (Bayern)

FW - Gomez (Bayern)

FW - Podolski (Arsenal)

Secret weapon - Gotze (Dortmund)

Greece won the Euro in 2004 under a German coach by playing the German style of football (my opinion).

i still find that win kind of miracle. in that such an average team could win just by playing defensive football.

but they had luck on their side as well. i remember the semi final against czech republic, they were using all sorts of rough house tactics to stop the czechs and the referee was imho, too lenient against such rough house tactics.

yep....you are one knowledgable fan.

that year england was one of the most balanced. but the fluke ronaldinho goal didn't help matters. and brazil went on to lift the crown anyway so england isn't that bad that year.

Thank you. The match that stopped Singapore. Friday 3pm. [laugh]

hehe, why suddenly so subtle about the goalie who is also from your favorite Man U?

i personally think he was the biggest reason why they won that euro, although he had good support from laudrup

He is not so popular among the non MU fans. Here a lot of liverpool folks and ABU people. :D

Thank you. The match that stopped Singapore. Friday 3pm. [laugh]

i know also. i wager a small bet on that game and almost enjoy a high payout.

also i watch that game during late lunch break at factory canteen!

He is not so popular among the non MU fans. Here a lot of liverpool folks and ABU people. :D

haha actually hor, even though ABU fans a lot, the players are individuals ma....

i for one, is ABU fan, but i like him a lot. no goalkeeper thus far has such a commanding presence as him on top of the usual shot stopping skills.

cech also has very good ball stopping skills but still lose out in the commandign presence. the only one that comes as close in terms of commanding presence is oliver kahn but still in terms of achievement wise, he loses out to schmeichel. in fact i remember most of the strikers, when one-on-one against schmeichel, always cowered and shot meekly.

and the commanding presence works wonders to the confidence of the defence and other team mates to go up and support the attack.

Edited by Acemundo

Mainly because he played for citeh. Anyone but citeh would be fine. But he was one hell of a goalkie. Best so far in the last 2 decades.

i dont understand why..

they got

1) terry

2) Lampard

3) Gerrard

4) Young

5) Rooney

6) Walcott.

and still cannot win anything...

Compare with Germany:

1)Neur

2)Hummels

3)Bastien

4)Lahm

5)Smitzer

6)Reus

7)Gotze

8)Poldoski

or with Spain minus the injured Villa:

1)Casillas

2)Ramos

4)Xavi

5)Iniesta

6)Fabregas

7)Silva

8)Mata

i highly doubt England can even beat the current Polish Squad too...which might be a dark horse since they got a few players playing for Dortmund and at the top of the game...

i dont understand why..

they got

1) terry

2) Lampard

3) Gerrard

4) Young

5) Rooney

6) Walcott.

and still cannot win anything...

seriously, out of the players you mentioned, which one is truly world class?

only Rooney is close... three are over the hill and two are really B-kar

now that Puyol is out of Euro2012, Spain's right back is their weakest link now (assuming Ramos is playing in his favourite position of center back)

otherwise, Busquet may be a makeshift center back:

Gk - Casillas

LB - Alba

RB - Ramos

CB - Pique

CB - Busquet

LW - Mata

RW - Iniesta

CM - Xavi

CM - Alonso

FW - Torres

FW - Llorente

scary to think that Fabregas, Silva, Navas, Pedro sitting on the bench as supersubs

now that Puyol is out of Euro2012, Spain's right back is their weakest link now (assuming Ramos is playing in his favourite position of center back)

otherwise, Busquet may be a makeshift center back:

Gk - Casillas

LB - Alba

RB - Ramos

CB - Pique

CB - Busquet

LW - Mata

RW - Iniesta

CM - Xavi

CM - Alonso

FW - Torres

FW - Llorente

scary to think that Fabregas, Silva, Navas, Pedro sitting on the bench as supersubs

I think Silva might take torres place in the starting line up...

likely spain plays 433...

Llorente flanked by iniesta and Mata or Silva...

looking at how cautious RH is, his lineup is probably:

Gk - Hart

LB - Cole

RB - Richards

CB - Terry

CB - Lescott

LW - Young

RW - Walcott

CM - Gerrard (captain)

CM - Barry/Parker

FW - Rooney (suspended for 1st game)

FW - Carroll

dun think he has the guts to play youngsters in Welbeck, Sturridge, Jones, Ox

I think Silva might take torres place in the starting line up...

likely spain plays 433...

Llorente flanked by iniesta and Mata or Silva...

Torres buay song Chelsea after being left out of first 11 in CL final...

in this case, will he unhappy too and quit Spain after Euro? :D