Good Workshop To Repair Clutch and Gearbox for Auto Trans

Hi all,

Looking forward to X'mas, hope all is well for everyone.

I'm new here, and just registered because my gearbox is very problematic (gear every time like get lock or, something disengage, got that sinking feeling) and chanced upon this thread.

Gotta say, it's an eye opener - didn't know repairing the gearbox so expensive. Very paiseh to admit this.

But I remember an ex schoolmate mentioning that he got his faulty gearbox fixed for a few hundred dollars some time back, and it was badly worn; think he mentioned something about insurance can cover partial cost.

(Sian 0.5) I don't have his contact number liao; he's more like a hi-bye friend.

I'm just wondering the same as many of us - if there's any other way to cut cost that we may be missing out on...

For example, can car insurance cover partial of the cost?

Or is there a fix with y-you know... second-hand p-parts, etc?

(Sorry if this is silly sounding, I just got into this understanding car thing recently)

Anyway, really glad to find this forum, lots of great stuff. Hope to contribute more in time to come.

I got mine repair about 2.6k from an amk shop. The market rate is around this price. How Long you will still be driving your car?

Hi Vicom, that you for replying. I posted in 4 threads while reading around and you are my first reply. lol, interaction finally...

My car left close to 5 years. Waliew... 2.6k damn ex (for me). This price is got insurance cover partial anot huh? Because I think my car insurance company told me that they don't cover this one.

Not sure if got anyway around it...

I think here cannot share links right... what's the name of the place?

My car was Mazda 5 previously and the gear spoils once it bought it. Now I drive Honda and it is damn solid no problem at all. I lost the contact. Let me try to ask.

What car are you driving?

Hi All,

Phew~ It's been quite an eventful weekend.

I spent 2 nights researching on faulty gearboxes and what is covered by our car insurance (while waiting in anticipation for my vehicle to get fixed at the workshop).

Wah lau, turns out not covered by insurance.

And here's the catch...

There are actually insurance coverage for car gearboxes nia.

So . targeted . ah!!

Anyway, was wondering if anyone can point me in the right direction about this anot? Arbo, really my OCD gonna make me research gearbox insurance overnight liao.

If u willing to do it in JB to save cost, Google KATC JB.

After conversion,the price can be more then half price saving.

Btw, depending on the fault and part the required to change, yes the cost can be simply from 200-300 to 2-3k

Hi All,

Phew~ It's been quite an eventful weekend.

I spent 2 nights researching on faulty gearboxes and what is covered by our car insurance (while waiting in anticipation for my vehicle to get fixed at the workshop).

Wah lau, turns out not covered by insurance.

And here's the catch...

There are actually insurance coverage for car gearboxes nia.

So . targeted . ah!!

Anyway, was wondering if anyone can point me in the right direction about this anot? Arbo, really my OCD gonna make me research gearbox insurance overnight liao.

Edited by Simpleonly

Hi all,

Looking forward to X'mas, hope all is well for everyone.

I'm new here, and just registered because my gearbox is very problematic (gear every time like get lock or, something disengage, got that sinking feeling) and chanced upon this thread.

Gotta say, it's an eye opener - didn't know repairing the gearbox so expensive. Very paiseh to admit this.

But I remember an ex schoolmate mentioning that he got his faulty gearbox fixed for a few hundred dollars some time back, and it was badly worn; think he mentioned something about insurance can cover partial cost.

(Sian 0.5) I don't have his contact number liao; he's more like a hi-bye friend.

I'm just wondering the same as many of us - if there's any other way to cut cost that we may be missing out on...

For example, can car insurance cover partial of the cost?

Or is there a fix with y-you know... second-hand p-parts, etc?

(Sorry if this is silly sounding, I just got into this understanding car thing recently)

Anyway, really glad to find this forum, lots of great stuff. Hope to contribute more in time to come.

What car is that? As a rule of thumb, try changing the ATF first

If u willing to do it in JB to save cost, Google KATC JB.

After conversion,the price can be more then half price saving.

Btw, depending on the fault and part the required to change, yes the cost can be simply from 200-300 to 2-3k

Captiva gearbox slip.

Quote in SG is 5.5k.

I did it in JB for 6.5k rm.

It's the other Gearbox specialist in JB other than KATC.

However, he took 13 days instead of a week due to PH.

Do you have the address ? Pm me ? Thanks

Agb Auto Gear Service

No. 1, Jalan Kempas 2/2, Kawasan Perindustrian Tamh Tamoi, Johor Bahru, 81200,

Hi Everyone,

My nine yr old Airwave gearbox finally died 2 mths ago after giving intermittent problems for over a year.  Its been a work horse and the family loves it although sadly we thought it may have to be retired.  Its a real dilemma but as COE hasn't dropped sufficiently, ultimately I made the decision to repair the gearbox.  Just like to share my experience.

Did searches on the web and identified a couple of places - can't remember the others but decided on KATC after giving a call and was lucky enough to reach KATC boss Raymond Khang whose handphone was given on one of the sites.  That swung it as most owners don't answer the enquiry line.  I liked the caring and knowledgeable response but at that point wasn't sure I could move the car.  So Raymond arranged for a tow truck to call me too.  Anyway, after praying, I was able to engage the gear and drive slowly the half hour journey to his workshop.  When the workshop tried to reposition the car it would not move again, so the gearbox had completely died.

Anyway to cut a long story short, Raymond gave me a good price and did the complete overhaul of my gearbox in record time of just over 2 days because I needed it for work (he estimated it would take a week but very kindly put a priority on my car).  I was surprised that the car could even move when I went to collect it but it was an excellent job.  The gear changes were silky smooth and was better than it had been for a very long time.  But soon I felt some vibrations and fuel consumption wasn't as good as before and I went back.  They patiently checked it and found that the engine mounting had disintegrated from old age.  Again they did this repair in record time and treated me like royalty to boot, giving me lifts to the bus stop etc. to make the multiple visits and leaving the car at KATC less painful.  Again, I was given priority and the repair was done very quickly.

I waited 2  months and a trip to KL later to write this testimony.  I have to say KATC is a great place to do up your gearbox.  The workshop is big, well organised and with tonnes of spareparts.  Probably the reason why they could do overhaul in a matter of days.  The mechanics are well trained and knowledgeable because the result speaks for itself.  One gearbox workshop even told me that there was no way to rebuild an airwave gearbox and told me that I had to buy a new one at great cost.  Well, KATC has the knowledge and capacity to not only rebuild it but to do it in record time - forget about JB, we have the best here.  The car feels fast and is faster than before.  I drove 3 guys when I was in Malaysia and one of them asked if it was a 2.4L car as they don't have the Airwave there. As you know, its only a 1.5L.  Never knew that a well tuned gearbox could liberate so much performance from the engine.  Its also more fuel efficient than before.  On top of that Raymond has an excellent, professional and polite crew there.  His brother Eddy is just as nice and professional and so is Randy another staff.  They were patient and investigated each problem I described and heard.  I guess with the gearbox in tip top condition, I started to hear other problems that the aging car had - they tightened my exhaust pipe for free and I have since also changed the aircon fan.  I guess I have to renew the COE now that its in such good shape.  Raymond also extended my warranty all the way to the end of my COE but I'm confident that the gearbox will last much longer than 9 mths!  

KATC - thanks for giving my old faithful back to me, better than ever before when it almost ended up in the scrap!

Hi all need ur advise/suggestion..i have this problem with my gearbox(manual gear)..i can't shift to my 1st gear when moving off..have to use 2nd gear..anyway i driving Chevrolet Spark..left 1 more year to go..thnx all

Edited by MohdSalim72

tis is the gear box specialist at Sin Ming Rite???

now im stuck... my chevy cruze gb is causing me issues again.. May 13 juz change a recon gear box after it failed in Selangor Malaysia. total Alpine charge me was $6.7k with 6 months warranty... now it juz followed the Britney Spears song "oops i did it again'.. but now slightly diff.. wen start car can drive as per normal... but wen after mutiple stops then it wont change at gear 3.. stuck at gear 2.. imagine if at jam..??? stuck at TPE KPE few times..after 2 cigarrettes later.. en can drivve as usual again... also if i drive on expressway once exit.. at traffic light sure i stuck.. cant shift at gear 3 again... called eclipse say my transmission control module maybe gt issue... quote me all plus overhaul $6k.. but slight nego he say workshop price $5.6k.. wanna cry oso hap... vulgar too many times.. so now... ani recommendations for a gb workshop... was thinking jb... but in jb there is no 1.6 chevy onli 1.8.. so bro's ani help... thanks in advance for your inputs...

Hi so after your check issit really the gearbox damage? or do you happen to know which part is damage inside the gearbox?

I happen to have the same problem like yours however my  drive is Opel Combo. 

The random struck gear is causing quite a headache during heavy traffic,

Hope someone able to advise.

Hi so after your check issit really the gearbox damage? or do you happen to know which part is damage inside the gearbox?

I happen to have the same problem like yours however my  drive is Opel Combo. 

The random struck gear is causing quite a headache during heavy traffic,

Hope someone able to advise.

Have you tried to change ATF first?

My 12 years old Honda auto transmission started to gave me problems few months ago.  Symptoms are

1. gear shift from 1st to 2nd gear became jerky.
  2. in the morning, shifting from neutral to 1st gear take longer time than usual.

I sent the car to Khang Auto Transmission at Johor, Tampoi and got it back after 4 working days.  Now all works fine.

My 12 years old Honda auto transmission started to gave me problems few months ago.  Symptoms are

1. gear shift from 1st to 2nd gear became jerky.
  2. in the morning, shifting from neutral to 1st gear take longer time than usual.

I sent the car to Khang Auto Transmission at Johor, Tampoi and got it back after 4 working days.  Now all works fine.

urs is civic, Odyssey?

may i ask how much was the charges? thank u for helping