Darryn Turbocharged May 22, 2012 Share May 22, 2012 On 5/22/2012 at 3:37 AM, Dark said: Sometime a bit of queue cutting does help to alleviate congestion like the one at TPE Upp Changi Rd exit. Imagine if all vehicles where to queue on the left-most lane, they will meet with vehicles exiting from Loyang Ave and cause some void space in front. This is where vehicles from the 2nd left lane can fill in the gaps. However, I do not condone those who cut in recklessly as if it is a given. For me I mostly move in when ample space is available but always prepared to give up if I can't do it safely and proceed to make a U-turn at Changi airport (won't die because of that). I can say 90% of the time, I am able to find a slot to move in which forms the basis of my theory above. Your reasonong flawed. By cutting queue you are making it harder for the Loyang peope to come out which causes more jam, and you are also making people more "KS" which makes it harder again for the Loyang to merge and you when slow down you also slow the traffic heading towards ECP. I used to queue there daily, never more than 10 minutes or so - or like you say, if dun wanna wait just go to airport and turn around ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bystander Neutral Newbie May 22, 2012 Share May 22, 2012 thanks for the heads up Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dark 5th Gear May 22, 2012 Share May 22, 2012 On 5/22/2012 at 4:15 AM, Darryn said: Your reasonong flawed. By cutting queue you are making it harder for the Loyang peope to come out which causes more jam, and you are also making people more "KS" which makes it harder again for the Loyang to merge and you when slow down you also slow the traffic heading towards ECP. I used to queue there daily, never more than 10 minutes or so - or like you say, if dun wanna wait just go to airport and turn around You are entitled to your opinion. Majority of traffic exiting from Loyang is heading towards Upp Changi and most of the time, the "clash" is between the minority who are filtering out (to ECP/airport) and the left-most lane traffic (probably due to road design). I would queue in the 2nd left lane and look for opportunity to filter in after the congested part but never block the traffic if the road in front of me is clear. There are some who would make desperate attempts to cut in including holding up traffic but not me. My observation is the more congestion there is at the early part, the more spaces there will be further up. Try it out and see if what I say is true. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
13177 Hypersonic May 22, 2012 Share May 22, 2012 On 5/22/2012 at 3:35 AM, Mustank said: got one time, i exit woodlands. behind me is one car. all lan lan queue up because one truck broke down on the exit. then one bus come in and force the car behind me to give way to him! I think those big vehicles, like buses. lorry and trailer. They dont scare of jumping queue, cause surely others motorists will give way to them. Esp when they force their way in, no one would be able not to give way to them. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
13177 Hypersonic May 22, 2012 Share May 22, 2012 On 5/22/2012 at 3:33 AM, Donut said: yeah, thats coz that camera is unable to capture plate numbers. if all vehicles are packed too close to each other, camera cannot see plate numbers. Imagine if the plate numbers are painted on the rooftop of vehicles? I think even the camera can see the car plate also no use, i doubt they will do anything. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Skyiet27 Clutched May 22, 2012 Share May 22, 2012 What time u saw got people filming there? I use that exit everyday but I never see leh I hv to admit I m one of the guilty ones True, some bro has mentioned that the yellow box ahead also messes up Vehicles from pie n tampines towards loysng chose to ignore that yellow box As we from tpe will be so jammed if all q on left most lane Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jeroming Neutral Newbie May 22, 2012 Share May 22, 2012 On 5/22/2012 at 5:23 AM, Skyiet27 said: What time u saw got people filming there? I use that exit everyday but I never see leh I hv to admit I m one of the guilty ones True, some bro has mentioned that the yellow box ahead also messes up Vehicles from pie n tampines towards loysng chose to ignore that yellow box As we from tpe will be so jammed if all q on left most lane agreed. i have done the same before after realising that queuing on the left takes significantly longer. the thing is, the right lane is almost always unfilled. they need to redesign the road. doesn't help that there are many heavy vehicles plying that area also. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jeroming Neutral Newbie May 22, 2012 Share May 22, 2012 On 5/22/2012 at 2:29 AM, Donut said: looks like its the road design that has flaws. LTA needs to redo that road again. Last time, the PIE to CTE (braddell) has major jam every single day without fail. Now, LTA decided to, LL, make a short flyover, then instantly, no more jams liao. Can't they do it much much earlier the moment the problem crops up and they heard the KPKB from drivers?? Took them so long to solve it. the braddell thing is really interesting. before the road design, everyone queue up in 2 lanes along the flyover (though technically it's a single lane) and fight to emerge from the lane. nowadays, after the road design, nobody really does that anymore. the row of poles to prevent drivers from crossing the chevron marking is certainly helpful. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Passion 5th Gear May 22, 2012 Share May 22, 2012 Fk them la, just build a damn fly over from TPE directly to PIE(Tuas). Confirm solve the issue of jam there. Majority of the car join in from Pasir Ris, using TPE to link to PIE and move to Paya Lebar area. They wouldn't want to take KPE because KPE traffic is worse. Majority also from Tampines coming in from Blk 300 plus and 400 plus. Because going to PIE(Tuas) is not available from Simei entrance and need to make a big u-turn, thus all swarm to TPE merge PIE. If one fly over/ tunnel is build to fly cars from tampines/loyang entrance to PIE(Tuas) near simei exit, then our problem solved. Normally at Simei exit not much car. Cars from TPE can drive in easily to Changi road East and car from tampines can also drive to PIE without a bottleneck. Is this solution simple? Need a multi million scholar? I think just spend multi million to ease congestion is better. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Aimnfire 4th Gear May 22, 2012 Share May 22, 2012 very good looks like 1 of my feedback go through every morning i curse and swear to those who cut queue and double white line while i'm stuck trying to turn right into tampines Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Darryn Turbocharged May 22, 2012 Share May 22, 2012 On 5/22/2012 at 4:37 AM, Dark said: You are entitled to your opinion. Majority of traffic exiting from Loyang is heading towards Upp Changi and most of the time, the "clash" is between the minority who are filtering out (to ECP/airport) and the left-most lane traffic (probably due to road design). I would queue in the 2nd left lane and look for opportunity to filter in after the congested part but never block the traffic if the road in front of me is clear. There are some who would make desperate attempts to cut in including holding up traffic but not me. My observation is the more congestion there is at the early part, the more spaces there will be further up. Try it out and see if what I say is true. Most of the time is correct - as some people slow moving of etc etc - problem is, if people follow your lead, very soon it becomes a free for all. The more people "break the rules" the more people follow, and then before long it becomes a total mess. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sphwee 1st Gear May 22, 2012 Author Share May 22, 2012 On 5/22/2012 at 5:23 AM, Skyiet27 said: What time u saw got people filming there? I use that exit everyday but I never see leh I hv to admit I m one of the guilty ones True, some bro has mentioned that the yellow box ahead also messes up Vehicles from pie n tampines towards loysng chose to ignore that yellow box As we from tpe will be so jammed if all q on left most lane This morning around 8:30. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ben5266 Supercharged May 22, 2012 Share May 22, 2012 Erect an ER.. I will be the first one to and . Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Skyiet27 Clutched May 22, 2012 Share May 22, 2012 I'm there everyday at 845 or ard 9 Yup this morning I did see a neighborhood QX parked below tpe But u nv noticed anyone filming leh Or they were doing that earlier Hahaha Normally those who wan to exit right to tampines will squeeze from the right la Arbo wait for all those clearing to loyang meh Haha Even if they r filming I believe it's to re assess the road design there Cos very stupid Till the turn left filter lane to loyang, Its a 2 lane Then e right lane is always not packed I will still use that right turning lane Sometimes Its hard for others who dun use this route to comment Like If others say elsewhere eg kje or where which I not familiar There's always a by right But cfm got alot of bros use by left if it's not dangerous to himself n others Likewise in loyang We r not those who called " cut into people's q" We r jus using the 2nd lane from the left Peace Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Idiooot Clutched May 22, 2012 Share May 22, 2012 eh but queue cutting will get action from authorities? i thought only if cut across double white then got issue? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
PaiKia-Lee 1st Gear May 22, 2012 Share May 22, 2012 Stupid post. I also saw students loitering around overhead bridges with cameras. They must be TP spies Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Beanoyip Turbocharged May 22, 2012 Share May 22, 2012 Good for those who make illegal turns from the wrong lane.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dark 5th Gear May 22, 2012 Share May 22, 2012 On 5/22/2012 at 6:25 AM, Darryn said: Most of the time is correct - as some people slow moving of etc etc - problem is, if people follow your lead, very soon it becomes a free for all. The more people "break the rules" the more people follow, and then before long it becomes a total mess. You could be right in general but the road design in this case allows for "queue-cutters" to make up for the inefficiency and fill up the voids in front instead of causing a tailback. The only gripe I have in this case is "bad" queue-cutters who die die must cut in even when it is not safe to do so or worse still, hold up traffic by stopping their vehicle. Like I said, I took risks but always prepared to give up if the conditions are not favourable. The road design really needs to be fixed in that location. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...