13177 Hypersonic May 21, 2012 Share May 21, 2012 I hate auto on lights. Many drivers think I am flashing them when the auto light turn on momentarily while going thru short length underpass or tunnels. I hate auto headlights when the driver park his car, and the driver didnt realise that the headlights is shining directly at the car parked opposite, esp when the other car just parked his car into the lot. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Edwardthy 1st Gear May 21, 2012 Share May 21, 2012 everyone knows aldy dodo bird...until i also kena flag down..ppl think taxi...knn i thought you last time drove porshe? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
RadX Moderator May 21, 2012 Author Share May 21, 2012 i thought you last time drove porshe? u really really behind time....need to come here more...changed since 2010 lah...to BMW....lah...aiyoyo...... drive opc no mean u come oni at night hor we wun charge u $20 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Turbonetics 2nd Gear May 21, 2012 Share May 21, 2012 me not only one. In UK some of the forums i checked, users not used to the auto default on light feature too..haha... actually very easy to get used to it. just set to Position 0 and let the car do the rest. anyway,can adjust the headlight 1 high 1 low like taxi driver? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nightkids 6th Gear May 21, 2012 Share May 21, 2012 I hate auto on lights. Many drivers think I am flashing them when the auto light turn on momentarily while going thru short length underpass or tunnels. Correct correct.....many a times, i wonder why the car behind me flash me.....na beh.....then realised is the auto headlight.... btw, find out recently many cars like to put high beam when driving......the stupid glare reflected on me by the rear view mirror......or is it my ride too low.... ?? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Escksu Clutched May 22, 2012 Share May 22, 2012 More and more of these night drivers who got special night vision it seems. Never on headlights I feel manufacturers should have in the cars the autolights as a premanent fixture. MEaning, no on/off switch. When it detects a certain level of darkness, the lights come on automatically. Case in point. Mercedes has no on switch for the lights. I cannot switch off the lights as the only option I have it so turn on the lights on a bright day. Else, get in the car, the lights come on automatically. This would really be a boon. However, still feel some wisecrack, 'want to save bulbs' idiot will go workshop disable...knn Your thoughts? What if sensor spoil and lights won't come on? Thats it? don't need to drive? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jeroming Neutral Newbie May 22, 2012 Share May 22, 2012 (edited) Correct correct.....many a times, i wonder why the car behind me flash me.....na beh.....then realised is the auto headlight.... btw, find out recently many cars like to put high beam when driving......the stupid glare reflected on me by the rear view mirror......or is it my ride too low.... ?? i agree. increasing number of cars with lights that are too bright. actually makes driving more dangerous cos for cars in front they can't assess their blind spots and adjacent lanes. i often attempt to filter away from these cars. so to all drivers, please check your headlights, can? if u did it on purpose cos you think it's cool, please reconsider cos i tell you, it puts you at higher risk, and you endanger other drivers too. Edited May 22, 2012 by Jeroming Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
RadX Moderator May 22, 2012 Author Share May 22, 2012 What if sensor spoil and lights won't come on? Thats it? don't need to drive? if you read, i aldy menbtioned, there is swtich to switch on, but no off. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Aeromania 1st Gear May 22, 2012 Share May 22, 2012 Just go side by side tell the driver his headlight not on lor Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Aeromania 1st Gear May 22, 2012 Share May 22, 2012 Just go side by side tell the driver his headlight not on lor Anyway i think those highbeam all the way ones are more annoying. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
5936 1st Gear May 22, 2012 Share May 22, 2012 Just like those with blacvue powermajic, on board CPU will auto off when low volt age is detected. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
5936 1st Gear May 22, 2012 Share May 22, 2012 Which workshops actually have the headlamp alignment machines? As getting a fail for headlight will not affect vehicle inspection results, there is no market for this service. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kurtselva 2nd Gear May 22, 2012 Share May 22, 2012 (edited) I think many ppl today "forget" to on headlights because of the auto on feature.. Share my experience: My car have auto headlight on feature and once went somewhere to pick up my dad. While waiting I off the headlight cos infront got a gate entrance guarded by security and he keep looking at my car suspiciously..Think because other cars usually enter the gate and he needed to open the gate so with me waiting there, he was confused I think ..so I happily switch off headlights.. Then after dad came I just went off without realising the headlights were off because my car the odometer lights were actually on..Then on expressway the car infront of me put hazard light..Thought that guy car got some prob .. Reached home and after I park I everytime manually off the headlight and then only realised the headlight was off!! Lucky the travelling distance was relatively short and nothing bad happened (touchwood) So I think many cars coming with auto headlight feature even after manually switching off, the odometer light still on..so many drivers think the headlight is on..maybe manufacturers should ensure that when headlights are off manually, all interior lights are also off.then drivers will definitely know the headlights not on Edited May 22, 2012 by Kurtselva Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lammy84 Neutral Newbie May 22, 2012 Share May 22, 2012 been having auto headlights on my ford focus for a year, can no longer imagine a world without it. whats up with those cheapo japs being stingy on a couple light sensors and chips to control the headlamps? Seriously, even the new FL models of alot of jap SUVs and sedans are still using FOUR speed slush boxes... its damn annoying. L:ooking at alot of current models, i can only determine that the japs love their CVT junk and 4 speed slush box while the world is already moving to 6 speed/dual clutch tech. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kelpie 2nd Gear May 22, 2012 Share May 22, 2012 that is the thing, no have the position 1 - AUTO....haha...but BMW still got. Merc forced it's way in. guess it is a feature they feel necessary. Position 0 - neutral, means auto lights. DRL always on though Actually not just German, French car equivalent already got such "always auto" headlight feature too at least 5~6 years ago. That includes the directional headlights and lane departure warning system. Now I owned one old Frenchie & a new VW so i can tell you that. Regards, Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Edwardthy 1st Gear May 23, 2012 Share May 23, 2012 u really really behind time....need to come here more...changed since 2010 lah...to BMW....lah...aiyoyo...... drive opc no mean u come oni at night hor we wun charge u $20 sorry hor boss i no more opc liao. Already converted to black plate now. Please do not start red plate thread bashing Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
RadX Moderator May 23, 2012 Author Share May 23, 2012 sorry hor boss i no more opc liao. Already converted to black plate now. Please do not start red plate thread bashing since when? but same car? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Donut Supercharged May 23, 2012 Share May 23, 2012 i have the same thoughts as you. and i ever ask ppl where i can fix the auto function for my headlights to auto on. All i got was loads of comments like "Why waste bulb life-span?", "no use one la", "why waste $?" etc etc....... and until now, i still dunno where to fix it. Can any one tell me? and how much it costs? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...