Car horns question

Mllcg

yeah .... never underestimate the POWER of twin-horn. In my mum's Swift, I horn horn horn until pekcek cos even scooter cannot hear me. After changed to Stebel Magnum II, I still remember vividly - BMW 5 series cutting into my lane, gave a good press and that bugger quickly swerved back !! [laugh] So the safety aspect of having LOUD and AUDIBLE horns cannot be emphasized more.....

dun take for granted bro! those big truck or lorry still cannot hear your horn! Just the other day, a big truck or lorry reversed into my car at traffic light juntion! I hold on to my Stebel Magnum II horn for dear life but the lorry driver still keep reversing into my car behind! until I have to engage reverse gear to avoid the crash!

Edited by Fit44

I just changed horn bro! still $35! everywhere same price! they can't overcharged you!

this is the horn...

545879_2828781893648_1682122154_1854459_942887108_n.jpg

Horns which are sufficiently audible for another driver to take notice is very important.

My horn used to *whisper* until I changed to a stebel.

This change significantly paid off last week when a tipper lorry almost drove into my side if not for the loud audible horn which saw the driver swerved back to his lane. I must have been in his blind spot since he was probably looking at the rear mirror except his surrounding.

Therefore, I wouldn't quibble over such important equipment of a vehicle.

Have a nice day and drive safe folks! [wave]

Edited by Neutralsg

I just changed horn bro! still $35! everywhere same price! they can't overcharged you!

So still $35 at Autotrend? You changed there I presumed?

this is the horn...

Yes, this is the only snail horns Autotrend have. You can buy Hella(if u prefer) from outside and ask them to install too, should be $10.

The only issue I find with this Stebel horns is they are too thick. Hella ones are slimmer. If there's a space constraint, then got problem.

Edited by Fcw75

Yes I'm sure.. it's in the engine bay fuse box.. not cabin fuse box.

Maybe Singaporeans just kiasu la, prefer 1 more relay since it's supplied. [laugh]

Yes, Autotrend in Toa Payoh is one of the more reputable shops. Can't go wrong with them. But they can get v crowded on Sat. Best is go on weekdays or v early on Sat.

Another place to consider is Compass Auto at Upper Thomson Road. I haven't been there for long long time. But they had been pretty good when i used to patronise them in the past. Hopefully they are still keeping with their standards.

$35 is cheap la.... if the horns work perfectly, it can last as long as your car.

Mine already lasting 5 years.

One of the things is to avoid those petrol station car wash. They like to spray into front bumper directly. Your horns are fixed there and it will kaput due to the stupid water.

Thanks for the info, Mr Donut.

I just installed the horn at Autotrend this morning. Still $35.

Need to remove the front bumper to install the horns for my car. Installed with relay and fuse.

This is the horn from Autotrend.

IMAG0636.jpg

Maybe Singaporeans just kiasu la, prefer 1 more relay since it's supplied. [laugh]

Hmm.. I would think that old cars or some selective car models do not have built in horn relays, which explains why Stebel includes a relay for its horns.

Need to remove the front bumper to install the horns for my car. Installed with relay and fuse.

Shiok or not? [grin]

Loud or not? [laugh][laugh]

dont anyhow abuse and horn at any one hor......

Loud or not? [laugh][laugh]

dont anyhow abuse and horn at any one hor......

Louder than my stock horn can already.

Don't like to horn at others, unless....

I guess it doesn't hurt to install that relay since it comes with the horn. Cuz not all cars stock horn have relay. Unless you want to go and confirm whether yours have relay or not first before installing if not just install lo.

then remove lor

same here ... even if near miss, i also dun honk ... since i can still see and react, why honk ??

only use it to or "alert" another vehicle.

hi all,

driving a toyota wish 2010. notice a pair of disc horns just behind the grille. It should be using stock Denso disc horns.

My question is if it is a pair, it gotta come with relay already. Since this way, can I just simply change to a pair of Hella Disc horn. I meant Plug and Play style. Remove the old pair, change a new pair.....

Can advice me at

[email protected]

post-31726-0-72646600-1397901073_thumb.jpg

post-31726-0-47033600-1397901230.jpg

Edited by Kungfu