Westkid 2nd Gear May 21, 2012 Share May 21, 2012 (edited) On 5/21/2012 at 2:28 AM, Picnic06 said: Is that you carrying the trumpet... 'Trumpet he carried,but not this ONE' Edited May 21, 2012 by Westkid ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cars08 1st Gear May 21, 2012 Share May 21, 2012 On 5/20/2012 at 3:48 AM, Jolie888 said: Yup, if WP wins, then it msy be another 20 yrs of hardship lor. For PAP, it would not change the ballot's stays quo since 2011. But if PAP wins, then the HG residents can only stand to gain. $100M upgrading budget, legal services priveded by Subhas Anandan, and merger into AMK GRC for economies of scale. Not bad what! Sometimes it is nt the materials of this world that take the lead...the spirit of hougang can never be bought over by mere $100m... wat PAP can do for hougang ppl is no longer impt but what Hougang ppl want to remain and in the history of Singapore, the ward that stand against all odds... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic May 21, 2012 Share May 21, 2012 On 5/20/2012 at 10:25 PM, Jolie888 said: I think after all your posts, in summary, we are all saying the same thing. WP is mediocre and can do nothing to change or improve things. PAP will likely remain in power for a long time more and control the SG govt. Now that's good for the majority 60.1%. Re tax payers' money and upgrading budgets, let the govt decide what to do with the monies. It's theirs, not ours. Give back to Caesar what belongs to Caesar. If WP ever wants to be a voice in parliament (not a whimper) it has to come up with a few good men. IMHO, the current motley crew just don't cut the butter. CKP had stressed on the power of repitition in political debates, no? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cars08 1st Gear May 21, 2012 Share May 21, 2012 On 5/21/2012 at 1:41 AM, Jolie888 said: Of course none of the opposition parties are even ready to take over the govt. And Singaporeans will NEVER allow for that to happen! They just don't have the requisite qualities - rally speeches notwithstanding! We can have a one-party rule in SG. It had worked for us before, and very well too. And it is IMHO that it will continue to work well for us. We all just have to 'enable' ourselves and our next generation, to be on top. Education would be the greatest class "leveler". Let no opportunity be turned down on any citizen, if capabilty can be demonstrated, to move up in life. And we do not need opposition parties to achieve that! U need to understand the importance of hvg opposition presence in Singapore as we mature...1 party policy although appears good it does not mean it will be forever in favor of the ppl...without growing another party to be there, we are putting all eggs in one basket...we need to give chance to another party to build its strength and be there when the time is here...it started as an alternative voice and growing from strength to strength over time.......attracting good candidates that have heart to serve...I call them the reset button to get to the basic.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
New_Atlantis 3rd Gear May 21, 2012 Share May 21, 2012 (edited) On 5/21/2012 at 1:41 AM, Jolie888 said: Of course none of the opposition parties are even ready to take over the govt. And Singaporeans will NEVER allow for that to happen! They just don't have the requisite qualities - rally speeches notwithstanding! We can have a one-party rule in SG. It had worked for us before, and very well too. And it is IMHO that it will continue to work well for us. We all just have to 'enable' ourselves and our next generation, to be on top. Education would be the greatest class "leveler". Let no opportunity be turned down on any citizen, if capabilty can be demonstrated, to move up in life. And we do not need opposition parties to achieve that! Yes one party is the best,... even better we should do away with the constitution... waste of time and money to hire scribes to write and write… not to mention the stupid restrictions of law and justice… in my utopian vision of Singapore, we should be ruled under a monarch…. Look at all the great civilisation in the past. Everything was going great until this stupid concept of democracy got leaked to the peasants, and caused revolution and strife … I’m with you brother.. .we should return to the old and tested way of running things… democracy has only been around for what?? 200 years?? there were kings and warlords’ for millennia’s, look at what slave labour can do. We have the great wall of China, the pyramids of Egypt, and many other wonders in the world… maybe even more if we didn’t waste the past 200 years playing around with democracy. No no.. education is dangerous.. how you think the idea about democracy got leaked out in the first place.. too much education and they start having funny ideas like.. why we must serve NS?? Why HDB so expensive?? Why COE so high???? WHY WE DON’T HAVE AN OPPOSITION IN PARLIAMENT?? [speechless] Edited May 21, 2012 by New_Atlantis Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dtan2626 Neutral Newbie May 21, 2012 Share May 21, 2012 (edited) Hi Forumers, I am not a Hougang residents so this by-election is not so much of my concern. However, I would like to share my experience with the PAP MPs. I had actually ask my PAP MP to assist me in appealing for a policy that the ministry had rejected me. He had helped me to write in on few occasions but was well rejected by the ministry. I had asked him to check with the ministries why they just change the policy as they like to and I as citizen is now affected. However to this date, I had not get any reply from the ministry ony telling me that I am uneligible. I wouldnt say that he had not done his part, but he could have done more as he is actually quite busy with many request from the people. Anyway, I feels that having an opp in the parliament can help the people to questions the PAP govt. Dun expect they can do miracle, but they can help check the policies made by PAP govt to be relevant to us. Just my point of view. Edited May 21, 2012 by Dtan2626 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wt_know Supersonic May 21, 2012 Share May 21, 2012 walao EX-MP also can speak in rally? On 5/20/2012 at 3:35 PM, Davidtch said: Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic May 21, 2012 Share May 21, 2012 On 5/21/2012 at 3:29 AM, Wt_know said: walao EX-MP also can speak in rally? Juz listen to the comments he made. U will [laugh] Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Roh96 6th Gear May 21, 2012 Share May 21, 2012 On 5/21/2012 at 3:29 AM, Wt_know said: walao EX-MP also can speak in rally? I am surprised to see ex-MP speaking in rally. Have they run out of speaker? They can't send all the heavy weight Ministers to rally behind DC, what if they in the end still lose this election. Then it will be very malu for them. So during walk about session was PM and DC, rally was DPM and DC. Next one could be the oldest man with DC. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Valx 2nd Gear May 21, 2012 Share May 21, 2012 On 5/20/2012 at 10:25 PM, Jolie888 said: I think after all your posts, in summary, we are all saying the same thing. WP is mediocre and can do nothing to change or improve things. PAP will likely remain in power for a long time more and control the SG govt. Now that's good for the majority 60.1%. Re tax payers' money and upgrading budgets, let the govt decide what to do with the monies. It's theirs, not ours. Give back to Caesar what belongs to Caesar. If WP ever wants to be a voice in parliament (not a whimper) it has to come up with a few good men. IMHO, the current motley crew just don't cut the butter. CKP had stressed on the power of repitition in political debates, no? So who are the good mans in PAP? did we vote them in or did they get in through GRC Do you consider Tin Pei Ling as good? MBT as good? So how you know he good or not good? Say yes is good? Define your good man. Even a good man in opposition will have it hands and legs tied. I still like what WP has said, they are there to be co drivers as to keep an eye and remind the drivers do a good job. If there is no co driver maybe u drive like ferrari which results in major disaster. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Seansene 1st Gear May 21, 2012 Share May 21, 2012 On 5/20/2012 at 5:29 AM, Jolie888 said: Nope. Christians will quote from the New Testament ... to give back to Caesar what belongs to him (the Roman empire)! It's not yours, or mine. Please do not quote the bible out of context, especially to people who may not know better. And even more seriously, do not give the impression that all Christians should be making the same erroneous claim. The question that Jesus answered was whether or not to pay taxes to a secular authority, it was a test to see whether he would advocate breaking the law for the sake of popularity. What we are talking about here completely different, it is about equitable distribution. Should a democratically-elected government be using public funds to benefit only constiuencies which have voted for the dominant party? Please note the separation of party, government and country. We know this as pork barrel politics, where "government programs whose economic or service benefits are concentrated in a particular area but whose costs are spread among all taxpayers" (Wikipedia). We can argue about the pros and cons, but DO NOT use a flawed application of religion to justify your views. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
RadX Moderator May 21, 2012 Share May 21, 2012 Thanks bro! Been a long time since u appeared. this dimwit got tht card cos of this. If it had implicated any other religion, i tell you it will be drinking coffee at ISA Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ronleech 2nd Gear May 21, 2012 Share May 21, 2012 Thot DC say he is on his own??? Why all PAP heavy weight turning up? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
LoverofCar 6th Gear May 21, 2012 Share May 21, 2012 On 5/21/2012 at 4:11 AM, Ronleech said: Thot DC say he is on his own??? Why all PAP heavy weight turning up? On his own? May be when he go toilet lah... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cars08 1st Gear May 21, 2012 Share May 21, 2012 On 5/21/2012 at 3:03 AM, New_Atlantis said: I Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
RadX Moderator May 21, 2012 Share May 21, 2012 On 5/21/2012 at 4:11 AM, Ronleech said: Thot DC say he is on his own??? Why all PAP heavy weight turning up? oh they go meetup lah, and happened to be der, so tok lor Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Seansene 1st Gear May 21, 2012 Share May 21, 2012 On 5/21/2012 at 4:08 AM, RadX said: If it had implicated any other religion, i tell you it will be drinking coffee at ISA Too true. You know me, I usually just lurk around these days, only come out for special reasons Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cars08 1st Gear May 21, 2012 Share May 21, 2012 I wonder what is your real intent in all your writings abt ur support for PAP...u seem to put them in a bad light.... u sure u r their supporter or u r trying to stir something here? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...