Wishcumstrue 6th Gear May 19, 2012 Share May 19, 2012 obviously this case his prick is bigger than you or mine Well in this case, it is only those who choose to magnify this tragic accident into a national one. It is NOT. If fact, if am a PRC national, I certainly would question why some people insist in picking on my nationality rather than focusing on the actual culprit itself. Instead, we hear previous unclaimed rumour targeting specific group and only later we found some of those rumors are untrue. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bystander50 5th Gear May 19, 2012 Share May 19, 2012 154th................ The P*P gov is damm obsessed with everything being world's first, hub here hub there, guiness world record blah blah blah. I wonder why they never aim at being world's first in press freedom. Cannot be first but at least in top 10. The can of worms are slowly opening ... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bystander50 5th Gear May 19, 2012 Share May 19, 2012 Actually what do you expect the mainstream media to report? To continue to fan the anti-prc sentiments to the point where citizens starts smacking any PRCs they see on the road? Or to the point of civil war between citizens and prcs living in Singapore? Yes, it was a PRC driver's recklessness that result in such a tragic accident. Recklessness can happen to anyone, singaporean or foreigners. There are Singaporeans who sped in Malaysia and caused accidents as well. It would be extremely naive to keep harping on the nationality of the Ferrari driver. It is not the nationality that caused the accident. It is an individual's recklessness that is. Stop all these nationality thumping please. PRCs have no regards to laws and human life, especially the rich and upper class. If you are a local and a driver, would you drive at that kind of speeds at the said location and time? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bystander50 5th Gear May 19, 2012 Share May 19, 2012 there are issues that the accident surfaced should taxi have airbags? should taxi companies buy insurance for their drivers? should foreigners pass practical lessons on the road, or just passing basic theory suffice? For Malaysians I think it is still acceptable for a normal BTT conversion. For China, being left-hand drive where everything is the opposite from our roads, they should re-take the entire instructor driving package. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Without_a_car Clutched May 19, 2012 Author Share May 19, 2012 Well in this case, it is only those who choose to magnify this tragic accident into a national one. It is NOT. If fact, if am a PRC national, I certainly would question why some people insist in picking on my nationality rather than focusing on the actual culprit itself. Instead, we hear previous unclaimed rumour targeting specific group and only later we found some of those rumors are untrue. call me a prick if you want I think it's a national tragedy... A hardworking Singaporean making a living as a night shift taxi driver had his life prematurely ended by a PRC driving his ferrai 2fast 2furious. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Without_a_car Clutched May 19, 2012 Author Share May 19, 2012 Regardless of country, there is little or no way for local police and insurance companies to validate their safe driving history. Therefore, it is fair that all foreign license holders go through a practical test and start with 0% NCD or higher premium. This is also practiced in many other developed or developing countries. This is for people who are applying for conversion because they intend to drive here for the long term. Ch8 reported only 1% of foreign drivers go for practical hands on training before taking to Singapore roads. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bystander50 5th Gear May 19, 2012 Share May 19, 2012 Precisely.... Found it distasteful when ppl were hounding Ma Chi family for an apology... Come on... The family had someone who died too... Give ppl some time and they now have since apologized for his actions... Sometimes really wonder who r the ppl stirring all these kind of s--t which is uncalled for totally... This incident obviously is an accident where no one in the right mind wanted to happen... Let the dead rest in peace now will be the best way... We are not Jesus, after being slapped on the left, can still asked to be slapped on the right. It's a natural reaction, you bumped into somebody on the streets, you'll offer an apology. Now that there are 2 deaths caused by the driver, shouldn't there be more than just an apology? During press time, what's so difficult to offer an apology even when one is grieving? Come on, it's just a sentence. If the whole matter isn't blown up so big, do you think an apology will ever come from them? If the PRC trash's family is so quick to jump to their own defense and make accusations of netizen's "poisonous tongue", why can't an apology come out from the same time? The gov is throwing in $$$ to integrate these foreigners into our community, sad to say, it is not working. They are not well accepted by the local people judging from all the postings and intolerances for incidents created by them. Is the government aware of this? I'm very sure they are and they know, but they are not doing anything. This is already a good warning sign and raised the temperature towards boiling point. If they still refused to do anything more to drasically reduce the number of foreigners, there'll be more to come. Already all our infrastructures are fully taxed to support such a large population. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bystander50 5th Gear May 19, 2012 Share May 19, 2012 Regardless of country, there is little or no way for local police and insurance companies to validate their safe driving history. Therefore, it is fair that all foreign license holders go through a practical test and start with 0% NCD or higher premium. This is also practiced in many other developed or developing countries. This is for people who are applying for conversion because they intend to drive here for the long term. I believe it's fair that they go through the driving tests here as it applies our local standards on all potential drivers, be it local or foreigners. Besides what you mentioned, there are other further components to examine. Being "experiencced" drivers in their home country, they'll drive carefully during their driving tests and once getting the license, they'll carry on with their reckless driving habits. Many local drivers are no different, slow down near speed cameras and speed up after that. I admit doing it too. So, something have to be done to ensure strict enforcements on foreign drivers. Besides, if they had a fatal accident here and got banned from driving in SG, they can still keep their home driving license. One way is to make it stricter in terms of demerit points for these drivers, probably they get only 50% of what we have. That is during their probation period, after they clocked 6 points, their license will be revoked. Don't see anything wrong with this implementation if they are careful drivers. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Without_a_car Clutched May 19, 2012 Author Share May 19, 2012 Many local drivers also need to go back for practical hands on refresher when I see people don't slow down near schools or residential neighbourhood like they forget their BTT. But people won't do unless it is required. Put TP at schools? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Without_a_car Clutched May 19, 2012 Author Share May 19, 2012 Just last night driving on PIE, I was just recalling how it used to be so frequently patrolled by WRX or park at the road shoulders every other night but nowadays seems they don't patrol as much anymore ? Did any bros still see them ? cut cost mah... beefing up the enforcement services can create more jobs for Singaporeans Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yuan 6th Gear May 19, 2012 Share May 19, 2012 Agree with your statement.. I've driven in Australia and you don't hear any honking on the road and everybody gives way to others and smile and wave.. I was flabbergasted initially but quickly realised this is their social norm and I appreciate it.. Makes driving so less stressful and pleasant.. I guess this how they behave well over there; compared to china drivers in china, they are heaven and hell apart.. P.S. in case anyone thinks Pinkerton syndrome is in over drive here, I can only advise you to go over to the more developed western countries and experience it yourself... There is a stark difference between driving in China and some other Western countries like US, Canada and Australia etc. Speaking from personal experience too. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yuan 6th Gear May 19, 2012 Share May 19, 2012 Not true.. Nationality does have a part in their behaviours.. Those from less developed countries behave in the same way they do back home.. Banglas drive the trucks here recklessly like all of them do in bangladesh n they only need to pass the basic theory here then will hv licence to drive here.. What's there to reeducate them that we drive in a more civil manner here than they do in Bangladesh or India or china? It is not easy to unlearn behaviours accumulated many years back home and then relearn another set of habits in another foreign land.. This is something not addressed by the authorities here and which is causing the social friction in SG.. Did I hear you thinking " the govt is asking us to help the foreigners to fit in?".. I dun buy that as this is my home and the foreigners better know how to behave in my house, otherwise they are not welcome n can f off to where they come from... This applies to their behaviour too.. If you've been to their countries and travelled on their roads daily, you can vomit blood.. They disregard the traffic lights and road directions and dash across the roads , basically doing what they like regardless of the traffic rules.. Ma chi though rich still behaves like a country bumpkin in his behaviour n social graces here Singaporean n Malaysian drivers, being locals , already know our social norms and behave accordingly and well.. Foreigners have a long way to fit in and behave well.. What's the above got to do with this Ferrari Lang ga taxi case? Plenty... Their foreigner behaviour caused it n their blatant disregard for our rules n norms; behaving just like they do back in china.. Reckless.. I agree. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yuan 6th Gear May 19, 2012 Share May 19, 2012 I beg your pardon, nationality DOES affect how people drive. Have you seen clips of PRC drivers sheer disregard to traffic laws when driving in their own country? I have quite a few close calls myself when crossing roads in China. Traffic lights don't seem to bother these drivers. As long as the road is clear (sometimes even when there are pedestrian crossing the road), they'll just go. They don't give a damn to traffic rules in general. Compare that to their closest neighbour, HKers. And you'll see a markedly difference there. I was given the understanding by the locals there that their cars are more valuable than human lives. Even the folks were crossing the roads with much caution. I was disgusted and find this totally unacceptable. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bystander50 5th Gear May 19, 2012 Share May 19, 2012 Just last night driving on PIE, I was just recalling how it used to be so frequently patrolled by WRX or park at the road shoulders every other night but nowadays seems they don't patrol as much anymore ? Did any bros still see them ? The good old days when the Volvos and BMWs would park at road shoulders waiting for their next target. From what I see, they are trying to use psylogical effects to scare drivers so that hopefully every driver would behave and self-regulate their behaviours on the roads by claiming they have this new equipment or using unmarked cars. But in reality, what has all these high tech equipments and unmarked cars done? Did they help in improving road behaviour? Nowadays it's so easy to see commercial vehicles speeding or on Lane 1 of expressways - something these drivers wouldn't dare to do in the good old days of the Volvo and BMW patrol cars. All of them will keep to their leftmost lane and dare not even cruise on the middle lane. Speeding offences down? Is it true? Sad to say it doesn't even reflect what is really happening on the ground. I can only think TP is not working hard enough to nab offenders, that is why speeding offences are down. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gizmore Supercharged May 19, 2012 Share May 19, 2012 Not true.. Nationality does have a part in their behaviours.. Those from less developed countries behave in the same way they do back home.. Banglas drive the trucks here recklessly like all of them do in bangladesh n they only need to pass the basic theory here then will hv licence to drive here.. What's there to reeducate them that we drive in a more civil manner here than they do in Bangladesh or India or china? It is not easy to unlearn behaviours accumulated many years back home and then relearn another set of habits in another foreign land.. This is something not addressed by the authorities here and which is causing the social friction in SG.. Did I hear you thinking " the govt is asking us to help the foreigners to fit in?".. I dun buy that as this is my home and the foreigners better know how to behave in my house, otherwise they are not welcome n can f off to where they come from... This applies to their behaviour too.. If you've been to their countries and travelled on their roads daily, you can vomit blood.. They disregard the traffic lights and road directions and dash across the roads , basically doing what they like regardless of the traffic rules.. Ma chi though rich still behaves like a country bumpkin in his behaviour n social graces here Singaporean n Malaysian drivers, being locals , already know our social norms and behave accordingly and well.. Foreigners have a long way to fit in and behave well.. What's the above got to do with this Ferrari Lang ga taxi case? Plenty... Their foreigner behaviour caused it n their blatant disregard for our rules n norms; behaving just like they do back in china.. Reckless.. Ok ok, fine fine. So you want citizens to start beating every single PRCs on the road? You want curfew to be impose on the streets at night? So you want every report to continue to fuel this anti-PRC sentiments? You want to hate every single PRC? For every one reckless PRCs, there is a matching Singapore. How many times have we see videos of Singaporean driving reckless being caught on tape? Come'on lah. Don't be myopic can? This anti-prc is completely senseless. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Without_a_car Clutched May 19, 2012 Author Share May 19, 2012 Ok ok, fine fine. So you want citizens to start beating every single PRCs on the road? You want curfew to be impose on the streets at night? So you want every report to continue to fuel this anti-PRC sentiments? You want to hate every single PRC? For every one reckless PRCs, there is a matching Singapore. How many times have we see videos of Singaporean driving reckless being caught on tape? Come'on lah. Don't be myopic can? This anti-prc is completely senseless. no need so troublesome, ICA cancel work permits, employment pass, single PRs, entire PR families with no Singaporeans in that order can liao... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gizmore Supercharged May 19, 2012 Share May 19, 2012 all i know is the number of accidents seem to come from PRCs. i've no idea why. it's not like ang mo dun drive or anything. maybe it's just their style of driving. and when we allow more to come, we should expect more accidents. one solution is to make all PRCs take driving test in SG again. So what you want? Deport all PRC bus driver back to China? No license should be issued to PRCs ?? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Without_a_car Clutched May 19, 2012 Author Share May 19, 2012 So what you want? Deport all PRC bus driver back to China? No license should be issued to PRCs ?? that might actually reduce 1 million people on this island... not a bad idea ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...