Jj5599 1st Gear May 21, 2012 Share May 21, 2012 On 5/18/2012 at 8:58 AM, Tally said: Just did a will through lawyer this year. Painless process, about $ 250. For peace of mind, The money is well spent I feel. They will deposit the will in some form of depository, so even if the law firm closes down, your will would still be valid. can share the contact bro? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yoongf 4th Gear May 21, 2012 Share May 21, 2012 On 5/18/2012 at 8:58 AM, Tally said: Just did a will through lawyer this year. Painless process, about $ 250. For peace of mind, The money is well spent I feel. They will deposit the will in some form of depository, so even if the law firm closes down, your will would still be valid. Is there such a service? As far as I know.. there is only a wills registry, like a public Table of Contents identifying where the will is kept. The actual will is still held by the lawfirm. http://app2.ipto.gov.sg/IPTOServices/Publi...84/Default.aspx Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Strat 6th Gear May 21, 2012 Share May 21, 2012 I have done up my will as well. It's not pantang or anything like that. Just that when you passed on, you want the family members that you left behind to have the minimum trouble getting the money from financial institutions. Without will, it can take up to 6 months to withdraw any money etc that is being left behind. Just my 2c.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kurty Supercharged May 21, 2012 Share May 21, 2012 On 5/18/2012 at 8:58 AM, Tally said: Just did a will through lawyer this year. Painless process, about $ 250. For peace of mind, The money is well spent I feel. They will deposit the will in some form of depository, so even if the law firm closes down, your will would still be valid. can pm me the contact too? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Donut Supercharged May 21, 2012 Share May 21, 2012 On 5/18/2012 at 3:39 AM, Jim said: 1) You do not need a lawyer for CPF nomination. Just go to any CPF branch and make the nomination already. Unless the rule change, I received my share of CPF money well before I turned 21. CPF board called for bank account number and it was credited directly. 2) If the will is uncomplicated, you dont really need a lawyer. You just need two witnesses who will not be beneficiaries. However, if you foresee someone challenging the will, then you better make sure it is bulletproof with an expert, though again, not necessarily a lawyer. Make sure you appoint an executor of the estate, someone you can trust to properly distribute the assets according to the will. If you are talking about millions, then the executor better be knowledgeable.... then again, there is no more estate tax now, so I guess there is less song and dance with IRAS now. 3) If any of your potential beneficiaries is or potentially a bankrupt, please make a will to exclude this person, or the money, including CPF, will go straight to this person's creditors. 4) Please think about some unpleasant scenarios. For example, if your will name your spouse as the sole beneficiary, and you both die at the same time, and you have no kids, the money may head towards your parents-in-law ONLY. Your own parents will be quite pissed. 5) If a beneficiary is under 21, the estate will be held in trust by the executor until he/she turns 21....again, a bit complicated. 6) This happened before: some guy left a certain share to NKF, including his house. NKF caught wind of it, demanding their share of the house and the widow didnt have the money to pay up, so NKF sued the widow to sell the house. Think carefully if you want to include a charity, on how certain decisions can cause hardship to your loved ones. sorry to OT abit. if a charity can actually sue someone just to get the share of money, this charity is not really a charity and avoid it totally. Thanks for all your pointers. i never knew some of these. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Beemer75 Neutral Newbie May 21, 2012 Share May 21, 2012 i think it depends on whos older. If the wife is older and both presumed perished at the same time (eg air crash) then the older one will be deemed to pass on first. Hence if the wife is older, all the assets (in the absence of a Will) will "go to" the husband. On 5/18/2012 at 7:56 AM, 15F said: My wife and I just done up our Will last week. But we went thru Manulife and they help us to "plan" what is the "necessary amount" if either of us passes on first. Of course, end of the day they will ask if you want to take up some insurance plan from them but you can always say no. They have their list of lawyers to help us with the Offical Will. i think the lawyer fee is around $450-550. Just to take note the diffences with Will and No Will. Actually you spend more money and time if you have NO Will because of "administrative fee" for the court, executor and etc... (too many things, i cannot rem) =) With Will, of course there is some amount of "administrative fee" but everything will be faster and easier. One thing to share also. I just got to know this too. If the couple passes on at the same time. (touch wood touch wood) bcos couple normally go holiday together ma By LAW, Male will consider the first one who passed away and follow by female. So all the male assets will go to the female. The female also no longer around right, so all the assets (male + female) will go to the female's family. But if the female's family is willing to share with the Male's side then no problem lah. If both family dun give way, then you will see HONG KONG drama.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Solar Turbocharged May 21, 2012 Share May 21, 2012 while i am okay to leave some for my in-laws.. but definitely not ALL my assets.. if both of us presumely passed on at the same time. this thread is an eye opener.. yes, bro... kindly pm me the contact as well.. got to ensure that it is distributed fairly.. thanks in advance! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Skyiet27 Clutched May 21, 2012 Share May 21, 2012 Wow bro if what u said is true Lucky me, my wife is older than me Lol Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
15F Neutral Newbie May 21, 2012 Share May 21, 2012 Yes, what Beemer75 said is true. If your wife age is older than you, than the guy will have all the assets if heehee, bcos majority the husband normally is older than wife. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...