Enough of these anti-PRC nonsense, you think so?

AhJason

the real problem is like i see it

1. every culture got their own idiosyncracies like we chinese like to dig nostrils

2. if we singaporeans are doing well, would we bother with the PRCs

3. the influx is too quick too many

4. the quality of new citizens, shouldnt they help improve the country and not

anybody want to continue with the list

PS: I believe in any nationality there are the good and the bad

the problem is who you allow into your home

Lives are lost, the MIW have spoken, help is given to Cabby's family from all walks of life, even Shanmugam promised assistance; Chinese embassy even issued a statement to remind its citizens of their conduct.

You could say that Shanmugam is wayang and what's not. No matter what MIW do, there will always be cynics questioning their motives. But I don't think this is the main issue.

I think the issue is whether are these xenophobia/anti-PRC bashing way overboard or justified? thanks to social media, especially Temasek Times and Temasek Review which paint a very negative impression that Singapore is anti-PRC. Are we Singaporeans really that xenophobic? Temasek Review is seeking for US$50,000 donations again. So are we going to donate to them to help propagate xenophobia? :blink:

On retrospect, are all the PRC in Singapore you have encountered, pests? [blush]:ph34r: Hey, I think the McDonald counter staff, a PRC is polite and serves with a great smile! :wacko:

No doubt there are courteous, well-mannered, like-minded PRCs in our sunny island. Just that I do not know where to find them [:p]

Of course Jolie888 was right. How do you think he became so rich with his properties? Perpetually more immigrants = perpetual rise in property prices.

For a city like Singapore with limited land, the only way is UP

Yap.....next time our kids will have to buy HDB basement 16...cheapest....but they have to buy air from govt to their basement 16 hdb flat..... Singaporean live at basement, FT above ground....

Edited by Woolff

There's no smoke without fire so there must be a reason why so many are anti-PRC.

Your " so many" is how many? 1 or 2 real life friends? or based on articles you read from Temasek Times and Temasek Review? :)

Some feel that earn 1 million is enough, others feel that 10 million is still not enough for retirement. The range "so many" means differently to different people. ^_^

Edited by AhJason

There are so many rural areas with uneducated ppl in china. Some place still no electricity Just 1% not educated it is already how many times more than Sg? Of course not all prcs are angels. 1% want to be bad is still alot of ppl haha. And western countries are very fearful of china becoming a superpower of course has to use the media to paint and extreme bad picture. Why you think Facebook and YouTube ban in china. Alot of kumlan ppl believe what they read online.

if u put a lot of PRC or whatever nationality in the world, and slowly it increases to nearly half of the native population, the natives will get xenophobic. it's only normal for such things to happen. that's why no govt in the world allows this kind of immigration numbers except ours. and 60.1% are ok with it, remarkably i have to add.

aiya pot calling kettle black.... they can complain about PRCs but when go other country also do the same......

ask these people go tell them in the face straight..... how many dare to do it.....

i do :D

Of course Jolie888 was right. How do you think he became so rich with his properties? Perpetually more immigrants = perpetual rise in property prices.

For a city like Singapore with limited land, the only way is UP

i do not think this is the right solution. as some mentioned, in the future can your own children and their offsprings afford to stay in one? you may say cost of inflation but put it simply, i do not see a good wage increase to even counter the inflation. Look at the interest given by CPF at 2.5% is it able to even counter the cost of living?

And lets say more and more immigrants comes in, the growth we are expecting to be supernatural, prices will climb high and even higher at exponential rate BUT then when is the stopping point? Meaning there must be someone at the end of the queue whom will have to face the final effects.

It might be the immigrants, or might even be our own kids.

Look when the prices of properties escalated to a certain point and affordability cannot meet the price, prices slum and who is going to catch the falling knifes then?

If we are going to bring in immigrants so that our property prices can climb then the next person WHOM could be a true bred singaporean has a higher chance of going closer to bankruptcy because this trend cannot sustain.

Also dun forget when one sells high, he or she must buy also at high prices unless you are willing to rent, but as mentioned if the prices keep escalating then even if you wait for the cows come home also cannot even have a place of your own isnt it?

i do not think this is the right solution. as some mentioned, in the future can your own children and their offsprings afford to stay in one? you may say cost of inflation but put it simply, i do not see a good wage increase to even counter the inflation. Look at the interest given by CPF at 2.5% is it able to even counter the cost of living?

And lets say more and more immigrants comes in, the growth we are expecting to be supernatural, prices will climb high and even higher at exponential rate BUT then when is the stopping point? Meaning there must be someone at the end of the queue whom will have to face the final effects.

It might be the immigrants, or might even be our own kids.

Look when the prices of properties escalated to a certain point and affordability cannot meet the price, prices slum and who is going to catch the falling knifes then?

If we are going to bring in immigrants so that our property prices can climb then the next person WHOM could be a true bred singaporean has a higher chance of going closer to bankruptcy because this trend cannot sustain.

Also dun forget when one sells high, he or she must buy also at high prices unless you are willing to rent, but as mentioned if the prices keep escalating then even if you wait for the cows come home also cannot even have a place of your own isnt it?

Nobody said it is the right solution brother.

The most important thing is to know how to take advantage of it for your best benefit. You have to do it for yourself and your family because nobody else gonna do it for you.

Yes, 9 out of 10 PRC I met are pests. <_< Even my neighbour next door is a bloody pest. They are enemies with every family on the same level.

bro, you obviously dun go geylang often.... let me show you how friendly PRC gals can be, then you will not say that PRC are pest... [laugh][laugh]

I thinks those who are anti-PRC could have work or social contacts with the unpleasant kind.

While many of us are lucky to close one eye, or blind to these PRC around us.

So anyway....those who are anti FT will participate in many forums to view their experiences and unhappiness.

Those who like PRC and FT can chose to disagree or ignore such threads.

Forums always give an unbalance views of things as only those with axe to grind, will post nasty experiences. While those on the fence will just read and not contribute any good things, thus perpetrating the impression that many in the forum are anti FT, etc.

The 60.1% is a very good and indicative of how many Singaporeans are anti gov or anti FT.

So don't worry.......FT are still welcomed by the majority of Singaporeans.

There are locals who are no different from the PRC's portrayed. Locals are no saints either.

facebook_like_button_big-small.jpg

Lives are lost, the MIW have spoken, help is given to Cabby's family from all walks of life, even Shanmugam promised assistance; Chinese embassy even issued a statement to remind its citizens of their conduct.

You could say that Shanmugam is wayang and what's not. No matter what MIW do, there will always be cynics questioning their motives. But I don't think this is the main issue.

I think the issue is whether are these xenophobia/anti-PRC bashing way overboard or justified? thanks to social media, especially Temasek Times and Temasek Review which paint a very negative impression that Singapore is anti-PRC. Are we Singaporeans really that xenophobic? Temasek Review is seeking for US$50,000 donations again. So are we going to donate to them to help propagate xenophobia? :blink:

On retrospect, are all the PRC in Singapore you have encountered, pests? [blush]:ph34r: Hey, I think the McDonald counter staff, a PRC is polite and serves with a great smile! :wacko:

aiya pot calling kettle black.... they can complain about PRCs but when go other country also do the same......

ask these people go tell them in the face straight..... how many dare to do it.....

facebook_like_button_big-small.jpg

There are locals who are no different from the PRC's portrayed. Locals are no saints either.

You bring up a very good point.

Indeed there are. Please accept this as our new social norm.

More Good years.

....or the PRC working in KTVs.. [sly] [sly]

Jokes aside, i think there is definitely a valid reason to all these xenophobia.. and i am pretty sure we're not alone.. HK (and to a lesser extent, Taiwan), also don't like the mainland Chinese..

As analogy, If A and B don't get along well, fault may lie with either party or both. But if A don't get along well with B, C, D, E etc... Then the problem must be with A right?

I'm in HK now for work, the anti PRC here is far worst then s'pore [laugh]

HK citizen consider PRC as pest and there's also nick name for PRC working / tourists in HK [laugh]